We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and great room.”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #1 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Staff are so helpful and kind. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The deluxe rooms are nice and spacious. The hotel is in great location, away from all the chaos but it's close to all the shops and central. Highly recommend staying here, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Friends Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Friends Home is set a little away from the main streets of Thamel but near enough for a short walk, so you can get away from all the noise (!). All the staff were extremely friendly and happy to help, putting our needs first and going the extra mile. The morning server/waiter definitely deserves a raise! Overall a very enjoyable stay, would certainly recommend and great value too. Great, clean rooms also - with air con!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickles132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Held well hotel with a good location in the centre of Thamel. Hotel and room clean. Room ok but not big. Staff ok but the travel guide who proposes us some activities was too commercial. He didn't reflect what we wanted and tried to sell us expensive activities. You can have free bottle of water every day. Hot water in bathroom and electricity during the morning and the evening. Breakfast good (hot and cold). There is a roof terrace where you can relax but there is no bar as said in their website. You can buy some drinks at reception but there is not a big choice... We know that Kathmandu is a noisy city but in this hotel, it was a big problem. The windows was really not soundproofed and there were a very noisy site just outside so it was impossible to sleep. For the price we paid, we do not accept this defect. We went in other hotel three times cheaper where the windows were really better and soundproofed. They can catch you at airport but it's not included in the price you pay. So, in conclusion, a good hotel but really too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank FabriceandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Fabriceand Julie

Thank you for your review. We feel really sorry to know that you had bad stay with us, we surprise to know that how you had noise in the room because we do have double glazing sounds proof system. We did provide you our best service unfortunately we was not able to make you happy, really sorry, we will try our best to provide more and more better service to our guest, hope next time if you will chose us again we will try to make you happy. Regarding the price it’s not really expansive compare to the service you got such as a tax, service charge, airport pick up, breakfast, free tea coffee, free WI FI, free drinking water etc

We again say sorry and improve our service day by day.

Rajendra Sapkota and team of the Friends home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed with my wife and daughter for several days. Staff was very helpful. Good location in the Thamel area. Hotel is vary clean, highly recommended. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Rooms with a/c made the stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rodolfo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very clean, quiet, comfortable rooms, ensuite with AC and Wifi.

Perfect location in Thamel very central and easy to find in the labyrinth of Kathmandu.
Lovely roof top terrace bar to relax in.

Breakfast was lovely and service superb, second day already had memorised how we liked our coffee, staff really pleasant and friendly.

Taxi service to / from the airport was a blessing as the roads are hectic.

Would thoroughly recommend and definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my first visit to Kathmandu, so wanted to feel competely comfortable in the hotel. Hotel Friends Home was the perfect choice. It's in the tourist area, so the location is perfect. Plus the staff made every effort to be helpful to all guests. They really wanted us to enjoy our stay in Kathmandu. The rooms were clean, the air conditioning worked great, and there was plenty of hot water all day. Mr Pramod and everyone else we're great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatArl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your review of Friends home. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home, our entire team very much delighted to know that you had nice stay with us. As always our goal is our guest satisfaction, comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Friends home is your real Nepali Friends home, we are doing by learning trying to improve our services. We very much hope to welcome you again and have your recommendation as well. We thank you for stayed with us and wrote such a great review of our property.
Prabha, pramod and team of the Friends home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I usually used to stay other place too but due to room unavailability I decided to stay at hotel friends home which was colated in the main hub of tourist market. My room was clean and comfortable, staff were helpful,shower work perfectly and staff were always ready to deliver service. Meals were delicious and resonable in cost. It is a hotel with true hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your review of Friends home. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home, our entire team very much delighted to know that you had nice stay with us. As always our goal is our guest satisfaction, comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Friends home is your real Nepali Friends home, we are doing by learning trying to improve our services. We very much hope to welcome you again and have your recommendation as well. We thank you for stayed with us and wrote such a great review of our property.
Prabha, pramod and team of the Friends home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kathmandu
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 205 in Kathmandu
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 205 in Kathmandu
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 205 in Kathmandu
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#38 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 205 in Kathmandu
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $26 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing