We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Nepal.”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home in Nepal.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at friend's home for two weeks and I have actually felt like being at a friend's place. The staff is really nice and always ready to help. The rooms are new and neat and can be cleaned everyday. Any day I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for managed time to write review of Friends home. It was a our great pleasure to have you in Friends home, it’s a great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are learning and doing better and better day-by-day. As always our goal is clients satisfaction. we hope to welcome you again in Friends home. We heartily thank you for stayed with us and again for the review.
Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    152
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
120
334
247
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed at the Friend's Home both at the beginning and end of my trip. The rooms were comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly, and there was an abundance of hot water. I appreciated that they had filtered drinking water with which to re-fill your water bottles since Nepal does not have an effective way to manage the waste created by all the plastic bottles. During my first stay there, there was a lot of noise during the day due to construction going on in the area. This was a little frustrating as I was sick and very jet-lagged, but this was not under the hotel's control. During the second stay,I was told that they would be installing double glazed windows throughout the hotel in April of this year which will greatly reduce the outside noise during the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hometoglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for managed time to write review of Friends home. It was a our great pleasure to have you in Friends home, it’s a great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are learning and doing better and better day-by-day. As always our goal is clients satisfaction. we hope to welcome you again in Friends home. We heartily thank you for stayed with us and again for the review.
Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for an excellent hotel for one day upon our return to Kathmandu. We stayed at the club Himalayan,and Soaltee,and was equally as nice a room, with pleasant helpful staff. The in house restaurant was superb with Nepali, Chinese and European cuisine, with extremely reasonable prices! They also serve beer, and wine. They have free wi-fi and they have a full buffet breakfast. They suggested places to visit, where the shops are and, key sites to visit. I wish we had a chance to stay longer! We will definitely be back, Mitch
Haycock

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charleshaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for manages time to written review of Friends home. It was such a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very delighted to know you had nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends in the future. We will be doing our best always for all our valuable guest’s stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Day by day we are learning and improving, our goal to be real friends home in Kthmandu. Once again thank you for the review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel offers very good service and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Walking distance to all shops in Thamel. Very good experience! We had dinner in the Hotel which was very good value for money. We stayed in room 403 which was in the corner and quite large. Wi-fi was always available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariusj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for manages time to written review of Friends home. It was such a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very delighted to know you had nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends in the future. We will be doing our best always for all our valuable guest’s stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Day by day we are learning and improving, our goal to be real friends home in Kthmandu. Once again thank you for the review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Thumbs up for this hotel!
Not only its strategic location, excellent service, great buffet breakfast, the plus point is the free flow of hot coffee or tea to welcome us each time we come back after our day out!
We will surely come back and highly recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinalee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for manages time to written review of Friends home. It was such a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very delighted to know you had nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends in the future. We will be doing our best always for all our valuable guest’s stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Day by day we are learning and improving, our goal to be real friends home in Kthmandu. Once again thank you for the review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Pleasantly surprised at twin bed x2 room size, cleanliness, quietness, and buffet. Window with screens or A/C. Polite and helpful staff. Central location as I was able to access lots of sites by foot. Definitely recommended and a good place to book!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for manages time to written review of Friends home. It was such a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very delighted to know you had nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends in the future. We will be doing our best always for all our valuable guest’s stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Day by day we are learning and improving, our goal to be real friends home in Kthmandu. Once again thank you for the review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We made a visit to Nepal from the 14th to 21st March 2014 in a small group of 8 as we were all close friends and often goes out on trips together. Of the eight days we were there we spent 4 days in Kathmandu and stayed at Hotel Friends Home and never regretted for making that choice. What impressed us most was the friendly and dedicated staffs who always made us feel at home throughout our stay there. Their little gestures like a smile and a greeting early in the morning goes a long way to brighten our day and giving that energy surge required for the sight-seeing and shopping spree. Though the décor in the hotel is modest yet it gives that homely ambiance and the overall cleanliness in the premise does not leave much space for complaints. The other plus factor is the free flow of coffee or tea in the lobby area throughout the day which is most welcoming especially for coffee lovers like us! The management has also gone that extra mile in providing free face masks to protect us from the dust when we were outdoors. A brilliant show of concern! We would definitely come back here should we be making another visit to Kathmandu in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are brighter and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for manages time to written review of Friends home. It was such a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very delighted to know you had nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends in the future. We will be doing our best always for all our valuable guest’s stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Day by day we are learning and improving, our goal to be real friends home in Kthmandu. Once again thank you for the review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing