We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel really felt like 'friends home'.”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #3 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This hotel really felt like 'friends home'.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The staff here could not have been more helpful. They found me a taxi in the street at 5 am so I could go to the Monkey Temple at dawn and offered free masala tea any time I felt like putting my feet up. However it is so close to central Thamel that there was not much of that when you stay here. It is also very close to the Garden of Dreams which has a beautiful, peaceful cafe and the Kings Palace Museum. The all inclusive breakfast was great...lots of fresh fruit and steamed vegetables, which as a vegetarian I really appreciated. I stayed twice at this hotel while in Kathmandu. The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. A nice place. Judy

Room Tip: Say you want a large room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for stayed in Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be doing our best for our client’s peaceful, enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, once again thank you for your great review.
Prabha, Pramod and Rajendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    155
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
345
255
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Awesoome experience....and economic rates...one must try friends home..the lication was awesooome....the staffs were friendly...and the most important thing was food...I loved the breakfast...nd dinnr and lunch was also gud



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Deepanjan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for stayed in Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be doing our best for our client’s peaceful, enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, once again thank you for your great review.
Prabha, Pramod and Rajendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point lonsdale
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. Close to Thamel but as it is off the busier streets, it is quieter. The staff we always really helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Great breakfast And nice meals available. We stayed here on three different occasions during our time in Nepal,using it as base. The hotel were happy to store bags whilst we trekked and were flexible in sorting a date for a room when we returned from the trek. We would thoroughly recommend Hotel Friends Home!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for stayed in Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be doing our best for our client’s peaceful, enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, once again thank you for your great review.
Prabha, Pramod and Rajendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked this hotel for 1 night as we were stopping over at Kathmandu on our way to Pokhara and another 2 nights coming back from Pokhara.

The location of the hotel was good as it is in Thamel, with lots of restaurants and shopping just walking distance away.

The room on the 1st night was good but when we came back to the hotel after our trip to Pokhara, we were given a really small double room as there were all booked up. This is despite me having booked the rooms in advance about 2 months back. And the the small room was noisy was it was next to some construction area. After some complaining, the manager agreed to lower the room rate for the small room.

In my email booking, the person who replied me (i guess could be the owner) agreed on a discount as we were travelling in a group and booked 4 rooms in total. But when arrived, the manager was reluctant to give it and only after I told him to check with the owner or whoever that replied my email that it was given.

The other service staffs at the hotel and the hotel restaurant were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Amos
Thank you for your review. I highly apologies for mistake by us, after I received you review I have checked with my team and realize that was our mistake. We promise you, we will not do such a mistake again. We would like to thank you for your review. We are learning and improving our service so that review provides us to improve. Prabha, Pramod and Rajendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel, it was very central in a very interesting area of Thamel kathmandu, the rooms are very comfortable and with very good beds and bed linen, nice flat screen TV, good WiFi, air conditioning nice lighting, nice modern bathroom, but most of all the friendly staff, with all day free coffee or tea, and a lovely breakfast was included, they can arrange anything you want, and collect you from the Airport,
i would recommend this hotel very well and will stay there again on my next visit, Thamel and Kathmandu is a very safe city and is not noisy so i had a great sleep each night I did feel at Home

Room Tip: First floor was fine for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for stayed in Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be doing our best for our client’s peaceful, enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, once again thank you for your great review.
Prabha, Pramod and Rajendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff - clean rooms!
Booked a trek through the hotel to EBC - and the service was brilliant.
TV takes USB - so can watch your own movies ! Great post trek !
Good location - centre of thamel.
Offer airport pickup which was great after a long day of traveling from Australia!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jessjadebarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for stayed in Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be doing our best for our client’s peaceful, enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, once again thank you for your great review.
Prabha, Pramod and Rajendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the great staff at Hotel Friends Home. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff were super friendly. The hotel is one of the best in Kathmandu. It is only 2 years old with so very clean, very nice bathrooms with hot water, good wifi and in the Thamal area. Everything we needed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for stayed in Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be doing our best for our client’s peaceful, enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, once again thank you for your great review.
Prabha, Pramod and Rajendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 203 in Kathmandu
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 203 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 203 in Kathmandu
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing