We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive - If You Book Online”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #3 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive - If You Book Online”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We liked everything about the hotel, especially the people. The place was on a relatively quiet street. We booked online before our trip, and the cost of the room was $60. We decided that on the way back from Pokhara, we should stay at another place. We walked into a hotel around the corner and booked a room that was comparable for half the price! Both hotels have hot water, clean, and great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear valuable clients
Thank you so much for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best for all the clients stay memorable and enjoyable in Friends home. we heartily like to thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    152
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
120
334
247
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

When I booked Hotel's Friend Home through agoda.com, I made a mistake by booking a single room for my friend and I. Upon realizing my mistake, hotel staff were helpful and understanding. We paid a nominal sum to top-up the differences. Each day we are greeted by the friendly staff and they are always ready to assist our requests. Hotel rooms are new and clean, hot water available for 24/7; Hotel is tucked away in a quiet corner, you don't get the hustle and bustle like you do on the main street. I will strongly recommend anyone who is coming to Kathmandu to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at a lower floor if you will like to avoid climbing up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terencx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home, we thank you very much for stayed and wrote a great review of Friends home. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too; we hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Our goal is our client’s satisfaction, peaceful and memorable stay in Kathmandu, we will do trying our best for that. Once again thank you so much for your review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Have had three bookings at this hotel in three different rooms. On arriving the first time at nearly midnight I was pleasantly surprised at how helpful the staff were in getting us settled for the night. The room for the price range was spacious, very clean and had hot water. The following morning we met some more of the staff and all were great even remembering how we like our coffee which is free all day. (Not bad coffee either)
We wanted to arrange some trips and a trek and this hotel has a great travel desk, same owner I think, which made organizing everything easy. Unfortunately our plans came unstuck due to weather as the flights we had booked were cancelled. This was no problem to the hotel they rearranged our schedule and gave us a full refund for the part of travel we couldn't use. We did a short trek before returning to the hotel and the guide and porter they used were first class as were the drivers they use.
The menu in the restaurant is adequate but there was no problem ordering ordering something else which we have done a few times. The food was always well prepared and enjoyable.
Having just completed five weeks of travel in India and Nepal staying in 16 different hotels I can honestly say this has been the best value for money and would confidently recommend the hotel to others

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietraveller926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home, we thank you very much for stayed and wrote a great review of Friends home. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too; we hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Our goal is our client’s satisfaction, peaceful and memorable stay in Kathmandu, we will do trying our best for that. Once again thank you so much for your review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

i had had excellent stay at friends' home.. the rooms were clean, the staff very good and helpful...as per the room rates, it is the best place to stay in thamel. The USP of the hotel is its clean and hygenic room and lovely helpful staffs. we had left behind our baggage in hurry while checking out and Mr Promod had personally come to the airport to handover the same.. I would like to thank him for his gesture....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunitathapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home, we thank you very much for stayed and wrote a great review of Friends home. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too; we hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Our goal is our client’s satisfaction, peaceful and memorable stay in Kathmandu, we will do trying our best for that. Once again thank you so much for your review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLISH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean with an interior to rival any of the more expensive establishments. Breakfast simple but with enough choice for all visitors and served by a very attentive waiter. At the price and location you would be silly to stay else where.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank THINKWHILEUDRINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home, we thank you very much for stayed and wrote a great review of Friends home. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too; we hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Our goal is our client’s satisfaction, peaceful and memorable stay in Kathmandu, we will do trying our best for that. Once again thank you so much for your review.

Prabha, Pramod and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My friends and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and booked additional nights for when we returned to Kathmandu after our travels across this beautiful country. It is perfectly located on the edge of Thamel within easy walking distance to the Garden of Dreams and Durbar Square. The rooms are clean, nicely presented and there is always hot water! However the biggest plus is the really friendly and helpful staff who all speak good English. When we arrived the manager stressed they were aiming to make the hotel a home from home and that is exactly what they achieved over both our stays with them. The free WiFi and complimentary tea/coffee in the pleasant lobby added to this feel. Breakfast was excellent as was the food served in the small restaurant in the lobby area. The staff helped organise taxis and our cross country travels. All in all we had a great time here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear valuable clients
How nice to know that you had nice stay with us. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We will always do our best for our clients; our main goal is client’s satisfaction, comfortable stay and we are your friends in Kathmandu, we want to be your local connection in Kathmandu. We hope to welcome you once again in Friends home and thank you very much for your great review.
Prabha and team of friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel ticks all the boxes, good location, nice, clean (!) rooms, hot water (!!), no power outages (!!!). Then on top of that you get excellent service from the manager and his team - everybody's very comforting and there's a great, friendly atmosphere. I had only booked one night before going out trecking, but quickly decided to come back after my trek for 2 more nights. It was no problem leaving my stuff in the luggage room and some valuables in the safe while I was gone. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiTobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best to make all our clients stay enjoyable and comfortable in Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Once again thank you for your choosing friends home and review. Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing