We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay and friendly people”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #3 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel to stay and friendly people”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have trekked in Kathmandu EBC and stayed there for 3 days.The hotel room and hotel environment was so friendly and the natural scenery from the hotel veranda was so nice that catch your mind.Also the food of the hotel was awesome and i enjoyed my meals in a great pleasure.I will stay there in my next journey surely.

Room Tip: As i was single room in the hotel thats why i can suggest you for the single room.Every single room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was a great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know you had nice stay with us. We will always try our stay for our client’s memorable and comfortable stay in Friends home. We hope to welcome you again. Once again thank you for choosing us to stay in Kathmandu.

Prabha and team of Friends home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    154
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
339
252
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place makes no qualms about being a budget hotel, but completely outdoes everyone else in their bracket. I doubt you can find a place this clean, well managed, and well located at a similar price anywhere in Kathmandu. The staff and their management are attentive and willing to go the extra mile, and can help you avoid shady tour agents and book stuff directly. The rooms are super basic but everything is pretty much new and works well - plenty of hot water, and the TV worked better than the one at the hotel we paid twice as much for (I'm looking at you, Manaslu). The location is right off of one of Thamel's main drags and not far from lots of restaurant options. There are certainly nicer hotels in the city but you'll find nothing anywhere close in price compared to the value you get here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side of the hotel from the loud clubs up the street (basically, opposite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was a great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know you had nice stay with us. We will always try our stay for our client’s memorable and comfortable stay in Friends home. We hope to welcome you again. Once again thank you for choosing us to stay in Kathmandu.

Prabha and team of Friends home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I took this hotel after looking nice review on tripadvisor when i arrive here Really i liked this hotel.The staff were so friendly.I appreciate the hotel's manager Mr.Pramod for his valuable support.the roof top is great relax after the croud kathmandu and eating there but they have just little menu but chip and delicious its ok.waiting my food in top they have wi fi in roof top also its great .boffet breakfast is also good not much verity but enough and fresh .i am very happy with this hotel if i back nepal i come this hotel and friends in friends home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayham_aboalheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valuable guest
How great to see your such a nice review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. Our main goal is our guest stay peaceful and comfortable. we always try to do our best for that. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home and we wait to serve you again. We would like to thank you for your review.
Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am just back after two weeks in Kathmandu and I want to add my favourable opinion on the Hotel Friends Home. The location is very convenient and the hotel extremely clean and confortable. The rooms have nice furniture, wifi, television with any kind of programs, hot water, they are a real nest where to recover from noise, pollution etc.
The staff is exceptional too, all of them. As a woman travelling alone I have greatly appreciated their availability and support. The lady I met was so kind and also the remaining personnel. They do their utmost to look after the hotel which is new and therefore perfectly functioning.
A particular mention to Rajesh who has been so kind and helpful during my entire stay. Should I return to Kathmandu, I have to doubt where to stay and I would recommend it to everybody. The power cuts so frequent in Kathmandu do not affect the hotel since they have a generator in case of need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jappd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valuable guest
How great to see your such a nice review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. Our main goal is our guest stay peaceful and comfortable. we always try to do our best for that. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home and we wait to serve you again. We would like to thank you for your review.
Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We are a couple who trusted tripadvisor for a 5 night stay- and we are extremely glad we did!

Staff- professional, available, helpful, attentive to your needs.

Food- good breakfast and high quality dinner/snack menu (cheap!)

Room- clean, comfortable, large bathrooms, good night sleep.

Wifi- free- available in rooms and in lobby.

Location- the heart of Thamel- and close to the Kantipath bus/tempo routes.

We will definitely be back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Valuable clients
Thank you very much for your time to write review of Friends home. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best to make all our clients stay comfortable and a real Friends home in Nepal. We hope to welcome you again. Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have to admit that when my friends mentioned this hotel's name, it crossed my mind that it might not be the best idea to stay in a place with an ambiguous name. It was ranked as the best place to stay in Kathmandu in TripAdvisor at the time though, so I gave in and agreed to book it. Now that I've stayed two nights in it, I can definitely say that I do not regret listening to the rankings. I only hope that this review will help it stay on top.

Location-wise, it has its ups and downs. It's located in the Thamel district, which is the tourist district as I've been told, so that's a plus. However, the last stretch of road leading up to it is unpaved. Upon seeing this, I was a bit worried that we may have chosen poorly. As soon as I stepped inside though, all my worries seemed to melt away. Don't let any aspect of the exterior fool you; this hotel is lovely.

The rooms are squeaky clean with bathrooms that are pristine. The water heater system in the building is excellent as well. I believe I took a 30-minute hot shower there once. The beds are very comfortable and are sure to make you want to sleep in until way past breakfast. The only problem we had with the room is we couldn't quite figure out how to work the air-conditioning unit. I'm sure you can ask the hotel staff to help you with that one though.

Speaking of hotel staff, this hotel has a very accommodating set. They make you feel very much at home at the hotel. Like staying over at a friend's home. Boom! There's the reason behind the name. They can help you arrange tours around Kathmandu (and probably elsewhere though we didn't try asking) if you're the kind of group who goes places without concrete plans - like us.

The breakfast they serve is okay. The choices are pretty slim but those pork sausages will keep you coming back for more. Don't forget to ask for egg cooked just the way you want it; they offer that too.

Overall, this hotel is excellent and it is of no doubt to me both why this hotel is ranked number 1 and that it should remain on top.

Room Tip: There's really not going to be a problem here. The only differences in their rooms are the numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybeeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Valuable clients
Thank you very much for your time to write review of Friends home. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best to make all our clients stay comfortable and a real Friends home in Nepal. We hope to welcome you again. Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed two nights with them on my way to Chitwan and back last week with family

No hestations to rate them 5 stars all over

Simple, clean,spaciousand very comfortable rooms- No fancy jazz but everything works

Genuine smiles and care. Just mention it and it gets resolved.I have stayed in many hotels in different parts of the world .Most of them could learn from this simple people what customer delight is all about

I am definitley going back and am recomending this place to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Varma-Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Valuable clients
Thank you very much for your time to write review of Friends home. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best to make all our clients stay comfortable and a real Friends home in Nepal. We hope to welcome you again. Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 202 in Kathmandu
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 202 in Kathmandu
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 202 in Kathmandu
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#6 of 202 in Kathmandu
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing