We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #3 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Myself and 4 friends stayed here for a few nights before headings to Pokhara and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself was clean and very nice and the staff were friendly and incredibly helpful! The staff at the reception helped us organise flights, transport and day trips for our time in Nepal and were very happy to give us tips and help organise for us to visit the best tourist attractions whilst we are in Kathmandu. There is a lovely restaurant where you can eat on the roof top amongst the garden or on the bottom floor (the butter chicken is incredible!). We will definitely return to hotel friends home next time we visit Nepal!

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator in the hotel so if you aren't good with stairs I suggest trying to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea_rose_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Chelesa
How great to have your review of Friends home. It was a really great pleasure to have you with us. We are grateful to meet you. Really happy to know you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too. we hope to welcome you again. Thank you. Prabha sapkota and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    154
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
339
252
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Right from the beginning, the staff helped us out, from booking flights to can hire and sight seeing. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but the main highlight truly were the staff. Even bumping into them on in the frantic streets of Thamel, they would stop and have a chat, making you feel more than just another paying customer.
Would highly recommend to other travellers, especially for the first few nights in Nepal, as they can help with a lot of planning for the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: Higher levels require a lot more stair climbing, but also get you closer to the rooftop garden for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear client
How great to have your review of Friends home. It was a really great pleasure to have you with us. We are grateful to meet you. Really happy to know you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too. we hope to welcome you again. Thank you. Prabha sapkota and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

First of all the staff are WONDERFUL. The manager is great he set up a weekend trip to Chitwan and Pokhara for us and is willing to go out of his way to make sure you get everything you want out of your trip to Nepal. Everybody is so helpful and friendly they make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. The hotel itself is very clean, our room was comfortable and the a/c is so refreshing after a long day in the heat of the city. Rooms have western toilets and hot showers. The hallways echo so it can get a bit noisy around bedtime depending on how many people (and who) stay on your floor. The food is pretty good although I really only ate breakfast here. The rooftop was my favorite, it has a lovely garden and a great view of the city. Wifi is good and you hardly notice the blackouts due to their backup generator. I would 100% recommend staying at Hotel Friends Home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Katie

How great to have your review of Friends home. It was a really great pleasure to have you with us. We are grateful to meet you. Really happy to know you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too. we hope to welcome you again. Thank you. Prabha sapkota and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My daughter and I traveled from the USA to Kathmandu for a 3 week stay in July 2013. I reccomend this hotel highly.

You are greeted with a fresh drink. Check in was easy and we were greeted wtih a smile.

The rooms are simple but efficient. Good AC which was a huge bonus as it was monssn season the the humidity could get brutal.

There was a basically TV but it had a wide variety of channels when needed.

Bathroom included a Western style toilet. another big plus. Plenty of hot water.

Breakfast is included and again it is simple but satisfying.

Quiet compared to other hotels in the area.

The biggest advantage of the hotel is the staff which is outstanding. They made us feel like a part of the family. Well, family that did not know their way around! The stafff walked us to a number of nearby locations, gaves us tons of great hints, asked us how we were, offered us tea or coffee upon our return. I wish more hotels in the US had this level of committment to customer service.

From an offer of an umbrella on a rainy day to suggestions for the day's activtities, this hotel will make you feel safe, comfortable and well positioned to explore the city.

Room Tip: higher levels are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Olathe
How great to have your review of Friends home. It was a really great pleasure to have you with us. We are grateful to meet you. Really happy to know you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too. we hope to welcome you again. Thank you. Prabha sapkota and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. The very best of this new and cute hotel is the charming staff. They tried to help us in everything we needed. The rooms are clean and warm and are very well equiped. On the other hand, the restaurant offers excellent food at good prices with an attentive staff. Good location. Great value and highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maytrixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mayt

How great to have your review of Friends home. It was a really great pleasure to have you with us. We are grateful to meet you. Really happy to know you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients in the future too. we hope to welcome you again. Thank you. Prabha sapkota and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice hotel in the center of Thamel, you can go walking everywhere. The rooms are clean, simple and comfortable. The best is the staff, very friendly, always trying to please and help you with everything you need. Good prices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear clients
Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you in Friends home, we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. we hope to welcome you again. once again thank you for stayed with us. Thank you. Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this hotel when our driver just dumped us in the middle of Thamel. It was the greatest thing to have happened to us. The staff immediately made us feel at home. The rooms are large and immaculate with hot water, air-con and cable TV. Rooftop garden is gorgeous, breakfast is delicious and the staff help you out with absolutely anything you need to know about your stay in Nepal! We're coming back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agsie_boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Agsie
We have no word to thank you for your great review of our property. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. That was a great pleasure for all friends home team to meet you. We will always be doing our best for all our clients in the future. We assure for safe and peaceful stay with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Thank you Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 202 in Kathmandu
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 202 in Kathmandu
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 202 in Kathmandu
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#6 of 202 in Kathmandu
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing