We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Friends Home
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
$34
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nepalaya(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$16
$14
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
$77
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveler rating
1,152
171
33
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
171
33
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watertea and coffeerooms are cleanbreakfast was excellentthe hotel staffno elevatorrooftop gardenquiet streetfriendly hotelhotel restaurantside streetfantastic staythamel areaquiet at nightairport pickupwonderful hotelthe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,148 - 1,153 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. The food was fantastic and the staff were very friendly. This hotel is situated right in the heart of thamel, so close for shopping and sightseeing. The breakfast is amazing and all of the food is cooked fresh to a high standard. Rooms are immaculate and comfy, with all modern appliances, big bathrooms and big rooms. There is wi fi On every floor and tv's in the room. We would highly recommend this hotel and the price is reasonable too. We stayed here with our 2 children who thoroughly enjoyed the stay and were very welcomed. We cannot fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollie44448888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear valuable clients
Thank you for your valuable review of our hotel. We really happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Thank a lot.
Prabha Sapkota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were in and out of Kathmandu a few times during our recent trip. We stayed in three different hotels, and this was definitely the best of the three. I think it would be considered mid-range in terms of the prices we saw. The hotel is brand new (had been open for only 20 days when we stayed), and so clean. The cleanliness alone would have sold me on the hotel, but the staff were also SO friendly. They actually say to you "please, feel like you are staying at a friend's house." Other bonuses: 1. The food is really good (We actually came back just for lunch the day we were leaving and they greeted me by name) 2. The beds are comfortable 3. They have a nice rooftop deck that feels like you are away from the craziness of Themal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiegandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear valuable clients

Thank you for your valuable review of Hotel. It was a great pleasure to have you at our hotel. We really thank you for stayed with us. we are very pleased to know you had nice stay with us. we hope to welcome you again in the future. once again thanks and good luck for you.
best regards!
Prabha Sapkota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, nice bathrooms, helpful staff, excellent location which is reasonably quiet but close to the hustle bustle of Thamel street hawkers etc, delicious and cheap food. Need I say more? Stay here for a comfy and cosy stay in Thamel. An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natej123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear valuable clients

Thank you for your valuable review of Hotel. It was a great pleasure to have you at our hotel. We really thank you for stayed with us. we are very pleased to know you had nice stay with us. we hope to welcome you again in the future. once again thanks and good luck for you.
best regards!
Prabha Sapkota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This new hotel was absolutely fantastic location excellent just off the main street what a find.Beautiful big rooms lovely bathrooms with the fluffiest white towels and beautiful comfy beds. I must make special mention of a couple of the staff Gorkul the night waiter and Ankit at the hotel front desk were absolutely fantastic there service to us was faultless, as were all the staff, the chefs in the kitchen so obliging, it was so nice also to speak with the owners wife so helpful and kind. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and the people there, they made our stay so enjoyable. We also used the tour operator they have there and his service was equally as good.I wish all of you the very best for a successful future

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PukekoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Madam
Thank you for your valuable review. was our pleasure to have you at our hotel, we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. we again hope to welcome you.
have nice time in Nepal
Prabha sapkota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Value, Cleanliness, Location, Staff, EVERYTHING is outstanding at this place! I absolutely loved my stay here! Free wifi in the lobby and first floor and they seemed to have put in another wireless modem on the 3rd floor the day we left also so maybe now it can be accessed higher up too.
Beds are heaven! Luxury!! So soft, comfy and 5 star quality!
The food is amazing! Soooo tasty and cheap. Breakfast was included in the price too! The staff are so friendly, kind and helpful. Especially Unkit (reception) and Gokul (waiter).
The place has been all newly renovated, bathrooms spotless. Spacious room, excellent quiet location, 2 mins walk from busy Thamel streets.
I can't rate this place highly enough!
Stay here and you will not be let down! Great value, best place we've stayed in Asia!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Madam
Thank you for your great review. we are very please to know that you had nice stay with us. we assure you that we will always try our best to provide for clients enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. we really hope to welcome you again. have wonderful time in Asia.
Prabha Sapkota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews