We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the don´t have it I don't exist”
Review of Thamel

Thamel
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
3-Hour Thamel Sightseeing Tour by Rickshaw in Kathmandu
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Kathmandu to Ason Markets
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Kathmandu City Tour by Rickshaw
Ranked #9 of 178 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If the don´t have it I don't exist”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although i probably is a copy, you will find everything you ever need. Amazing place, do not fear the small shops, and the "special price fore you" go inside and they will let you shop

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacobsen_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,663
    1,429
    648
    141
    60
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Touristy, but great fun”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Bustling with noise and activity, Thamel is a haven for tourists visiting Kathmandu. Hotels, restaurants, cafes, bars, supermarkets, stalls, shopping and more shopping – it caters to all tourist and trekking needs.

The location is great for exploring older parts of Kathmandu - it’s a good idea to do that and visit parts of Kathmandu which fewer foreigners frequent, because otherwise the impression would be that Kathmandu is just one big chaotic, crowded, noisy tourist trap, and it’s not at all.

Great vibe (especially at night) and great character.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleSCapeTownSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tshirts, sleeping bags, shawls and sweaters , latest DVDs”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Thamel has just about everything ...including some great places to eat... Gems, fancy sequinned long skirts for the ladies, cashmere sweaters ...used books, new books..you can spend hours just wandering around...lots to see !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kathmandu:Thamel/Pokhra/Nagarkot”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If Ur visiting Kathmandu,U have to experience the energy of Thamel.The shops r so many,so close and so stocked with souvenirs.All the pubs and bars are also in the same area.U musnt miss the pop quiZ that happens every Thursday(m forgetting the name of the pub but thats public knowledge so no worries there)The world cup was happening when I went so there was a football quiZ instead.Even tho Im not into the sport,I enjoyed it thoroughly.Moreso cause its done by the volunteers to raise money for the poor children.The restaurants I was particularly impressed by are the Electric Pagoda and Places(vegetarian food only).Electric Pagoda is outdoor seating so clearly my fav.Silver jewellery is amaZing in Nepal but dont forget to bargain.Have the local beers Nepal Ice and Gorkha instead of ur regular Tuborg etc.I had the Jhooin Khatte(millet liquor)in Pokhra and I must say its cheap and I really enjoyed it but U wont get it in all the bars.Paragliding and River Rafting are a mustdo in Pokhra.Ive done Paragliding before in Panchgini,Maharashtra but the view of the lake in Pokhra was amaZing.The bat cave and Davis Falls are worth seeing.Nagarkot is known for the sunrise and sunset.I went in the rainy season so I didnt get to see much coZ of the clouds but still the village is so small n forlorn n adorable,my trip was still worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShikhaYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Thamel is tops!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I've never travelled in Nepal, much less in KTM, so I rely upon Tripadvisor/other sources to clue me in as what to expect. Based upon available information, the Thamel district of KTM is the most attractive part, depending upon how you define "attractive".
This is about as authentic and original an area as one can find anywhere. Many, many cities around the World, especially the capital, would have razed & rebuilt this vibrant, thriving beehive of commercial activity. I am a life-hostel member, NOT a 5-star traveller, because I thoroughly enjoy to closeness to the indigenous population, learning the lifestyle of the rest of us--those of us in the 99% class! Just carefully walking the rough potholed streets, weaving amongst pedestrians, cycles (motorized & not) motorized vehicles, through low doorways & passages, thrilled me no end. I loved it, and look forward to returning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juanito_Hayburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thamel also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing