We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intense Vibe”
Review of Thamel

Thamel
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Kathmandu to Ason Markets
Ranked #8 of 177 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
shenzhen
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Intense Vibe”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is not the place if you do not like noise. However, if insane traffic, pulsing music, rooftop dining a million horns and good food, all sound appealing, than this is the place! we divided our trip between Patan (very nice,) Thamel ( wonderfully insane ), and the mountains. I do not think I would have liked it as much, had we spent our entireholiday here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tinashenzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,637
    1,414
    640
    138
    58
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mudjimba, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“TOURIST MECCA”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

busy busy busy SHOPPING GALORE prices ok but be prepared to barter
get chased by the Tiger balm men selling their wares and all the others
good food venues if you want some western style

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jesslee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hectic, frantic day and night”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thamel area has everything a tourist can love or hate about an area-- It's busy, there are lots of shops providing evry possible service-- from internet to restaurants to nightclubs to cheap and not so cheap craft shops. It is also always busy-- 8:00 AM or late at night, so for me it continues to be an enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon Haryana ,India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“overcrowded”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

For those who want to SHOP this is the place but it is oh so crowded we just left as quickly as possible . Also bieng full of tourists also a bit high priced !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepaNebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Kathmandu, not for the fainthearted!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was expecting Kathmandu to be rough, it is a developing nation after all but not as rough as it was. Seriously I have been to some incredibly poor nations, not the least Haiti, and this place is pretty dreadful. Now this may be due to the fact that it rained solidly for the four days we were there and that does put a dampener on things (pun intended) but maybe not, the one saving grace of the place is the people! The Nepalese are fantastic, friendly, polite and willing to help, even the hawkers can be discouraged with a simple "no thanks" and a smile and that is great. So to sum up, if visiting Nepal then take a day in the capital and get out to experience the rest of this remarkable country!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rogergray1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thamel also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing