We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #72 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we stayed for four nights.its a good hotel good ambeince.clean rooms .fast service.good food.
the staff is also helpful.overall nice decent place to stay for vacation.they have a restaurant on top most floor where ghazals are played whilst having dinner feels good.the breakfast thy offer is also good .staff is also supportive and coordial

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mr Surel

Namaste and greetings from Grand Hotel Kathmandu and Nepal!

Thank you very much for your kind comments and the entire Team at Grand Hotel appreciates it. Betterment and enhancements of the product and services are a constant feature here and you shall see and feel it on your next visit.

All of us shall look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

best regards

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    101
    54
    23
    13
See reviews for
54
64
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

At the outset we had a bad reception. The lady at the reception did not even have a smile for us, she answered in monosyllables and had a very stern expression...very bad attitude. The lobby is spacious and beautiful.The rooms are spacious, bathroom has a tub and plenty of hot water which was a big plus. The view is great. The rooms are clean. But we were given twin beds instead of a double bed. There was no mini fridge, but they did lug a fridge to the room when we complained. The ac temp control didnt work.The beds were lumpy.
Breakfast is a good spread. But the service is bad. The toaster didnt work and u have to wait for ages after u have requested for something. The wi-fi is not free.It is better to stay away from a la carte options. the dimsums we ordered were really horrible. Stick to buffet food which are fresh and clean.
The hotel is always having several groups or wedding parties together and hence you will find that there is always quite a crowd at the lobby

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preetiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Ms Preeti

Namaste and greetings from Grand Hotel Kathmandu and Nepal!

First of all please accept my sincere apologies on the various that you have so kindly pointed put and constructive criticism is always most welcome and helps us to better ourselves.

I would like to assure you that measures to amend the various have already been done and have been put in place and do assure you that you shall see and feel the difference on your next visit.

Thank you again and shall look forward to welcoming you back.

best regards

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here first night in Nepal then went into Thamel for second night to compare stayed back here nights 3&4 as part of a large trekking group. As a younger person I enjoyed Thamel's location for the easy walk around factor but as far as this hotel goes The Grand was faultless in their desire to provide a service not common in Kathmandu. Staff were lovely, reception and management could of forgot the stress of work for a moment and be pleased with you when you walked up to the desk but, all the doorman, bellboys and other staff in restaurants were really pleasant. Breakfast was great, meet some interesting members of the local Lions Club that meet there on a Sunday. The girls in the spa were sweet as well. Great silver service Indian restaurant upstairs and the bar... Waiters took forever to make and serve our drinks but that's only because they were trying so hard to get them right!
Rooms good/ clean/ comfy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belindaleejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Ms Jones

Namaste and warm greetings from Grand Hotel Kathmandu!

Me and the entire Team here at Grand Hotel Kathmandu would like to Thank you for your very positive comments.

We at the Grand are in a constant endeavor to enhance and upgrade our services and products and pride ourselves on offering personalized service and promise to you that you shall have your drink faster but just so right.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal and Grand Hotel
Kathmandu.

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stay 3 nights in this hotel in Kathmandu.The room is good enough and the services provided is good, they show friendly and helpful to handle our request such as taxi services, phone call services, room services and dining services....

But their location is not good as need around 10-15 mins taxi to Thamel. And some taxi driver do not know where the hotel is....

I appreciate their services but the location really not convenience at all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivanlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mr Lam

Namaste and greetings from the entire Team at Grand Hotel Kathmandu!

Me and my entire Team would like to Thank you very much for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your experience thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our offerings.

On the separate note, please be informed that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our valued guests.

Once again I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and take this opportunity to invite you back for your next lodging needs and experience the difference though the location of our hotel is just like any other city hotel it is in close proximity to some very interesting sightseeing areas like the Swayombhunath Stupa etc and like you said just 10-15 minutes away from the center of Kathmandu namely the Thamel tourist area.

Thank you again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel seem to be running full with the help of tour organisers. However i wouldn't choose this next time. Allotted room with two single beds instead of king size bed expecting the guest to adjust. After pushing, changed room after an hour. While junior staff was trying to help, have to blame the greedy hotel management to make reservations without sufficient rooms with king size beds. This was followed by poor response from senior staff when I wanted to hire a car to go around the city late evening. Hotel can neither get a car hired for me nor refer any cabs operator. To top it all, While checking out, there was wrong billing wasting my time in reconciling the charges. Overall, lacks professionalism .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Namaste and greetings from Grand Hotel Kathmandu and Nepal!

Me and my entire Team would like to Thank you very much for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your experience thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our offerings.Your constructive feedback has given us plenty of insights on the areas we can further improve.

On the separate note, please be informed that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our valued guests.

Once again I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and take this opportunity to invite you back for your next lodging needs and experience the difference.

Thank you again and best regards

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

actually it is not the chain of hotels 'THE GRAND', just ordinary hotel.
Poor room service I ever seen.
No tea/coffee maker in the room.
No mobile charger (we put mobile on charger in bathroom).
It is the worst experience I ever got in such a costly Hotel. We came here for 2 nights but next day we were went to Hotel Vaishali, which is much better then this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahul289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Namaste and greetings from Grand Hotel Kathmandu and Nepal!

Me and my Team would like to Thank you very much for your very constructive comments and has given us a valuable insight to bettering our product and services.

Thank you again

Best regards

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel during a tour to Nepal on a business trip.
Rooms are good, but not contemporary. Shower curtains need to be changed. room can be hot sometimes even if outside temp is cool. Beds are good.
Restaurant staff very friendly and accommodating.
Food was ok.
Located far from Thamel and other shopping areas.
Pool was dirty and only 2 lounges for everyone. There are some shops around down the street, good stuff, better priced than Thamel or downtown shopping areas.

Room Tip: good hotel to stay at a decent price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shashi2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv D, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sir

Namaste and warm greetings from Grand Hotel Kathmandu!

me and the entire Team here at Grand Hotel Kathmandu would like to Thank you for your comments and have taken your suggestions into consideration and are in the process of upgradation of the same.

We at the Grand are in a constant endeavor to enhance and upgrade our services and products and hope that you will be able to experience it first hand on your next visit here.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal and Grand Hotel Kathmandu.

Best regards

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.7 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#107 of 198 in Kathmandu
335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#75 of 198 in Kathmandu
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#84 of 198 in Kathmandu
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Red Cross Marg | Kalimati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Kathmandu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel, Kathmandu is a 4-star hotel in Nepal strategically located in the heart of the city's dynamic business, cultural and entertainment hubs. Some of the major landmarks of the city are located within accessible distance from the hotel which include the Swoyambhunath (Monkey Temple), National Museum and the Seto Gumba (White Monastery) . Other attractions near the hotel include Casino Mahjong, United World Trade Centre and Bluebird Mall. Grand Hotel is accredited as the tallest hotel in Nepal. The furnishings are stylish and contemporary and the hotel provides all modern facilities including wifi access through out the hotel and 24 hour cctv surveillance . Other facilities include an all day dining Coffee shop "Rendezvous" serving International Cuisine; "Maharaja" Restaurant (Fine Dining) serving Mughlai cuisine accompanied by live singing (Ghazal); 24 hour in room dining and finally a beauty parlour and a Spa which offer a range of Himalayan treatments according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing