We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #61 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Royal treatment”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was really looking forward to staying in this quirky hotel and it didn't disappoint.
Our Executive King room was lovely and spacious with everything we needed.
The complimentary breakfast choices available at any hour of the day were delicious.
Wifi was good for this part of the world and the Thamel location was excellent for shopping and bar hopping. I loved the kitsch interiors and crazy things like how to choose 'Staff Sociability' mode. It all added up to a great fun weekend in Kathmandu.

And a special thanks to all the staff that made sure we got to the airport on time for our return journey. I only wish we could have stayed longer. I have been recommending this place to everyone since I got back. Its fantastic and fun and I'd like to return soon.

Room Tip: The Executive King Suite is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaczc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for dropping a review about us in TripAdvisor. Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. We always try our best to create the environment so that the guest can feel a home away from home at our hotel.

Our hotel provides round the clock for the convenience of our guests. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests. We offer a various set of interesting and crazy activities in our special menu "CRAZY MENU" where you can find unusual offers like smashing the dishes, zoo in room and many more. We try our very best to satisfy our valued guest. Guests satisfaction is all what our team aim to and work likewise.

Thank you for loving our food. Our restaurant serves international menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes. We have a choice of different breakfast sets which are free for our hotel guests. We serve our breakfast in European style, delicious, beautifully decorated meals which will make the mood of your day and can be serve to our dear guest at anytime, Whenever they would like to have it.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities :)

With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel 1 & 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    78
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
101
59
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and it really was the highlight of my vacation. The location was so central and walking distance from all the major landmarks in Kathmandu. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the experience was so personal .it really felt like home. The hotel experience definitely made my trip memorable and unique. I recommend this hotel to all travellers who want to experience the vibrance of the city, and yet experience the comfort and friendliness of a hotel. A Big THANK YOU to the hotel staff for making me feel like home, and make me wanna come back. Elias

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Elias,

We are so glad to see your happy feedback about your stay here. It was such a pleasure for all of our staff to host you. We always do our best to keep our quality on a relevant level. Since these is our goal to make a hotel comfortable to live at, we always make efforts to make service better.

To make our guest stay truly memorable we decorated the whole area of our hotel with installations from South Korea, Singapore, Honk Kong and Indonesia. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.Guests satisfaction is all what our team aim to and work likewise.

We have our own travel and tour -Royal Penguin Adventures. If our guest wish to make a trip through or outside the city, go for an excursion or picnic, we offer you the transport as well as guide which suits you best of all. We will be more than happy to arrange tours for our dearest guests.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities :)


With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Posted May 14, 2014

After the taxi ride through the old and narrow streets of the Kathmandu Thamel shopping district, one steps into the Royal Penguin Hotel to be surrounded by an alternate world of a delightfully designed, quirky modern décor with fresh and vibrant colors, lots of positive energy and a reminder not to take life all that serious. That actually was the reason why I booked this hotel in the first place. I wanted to see that and I was not disappointed. After a warm welcome at check-in, I simply felt that this was the right place to have come to. My very pleasant single room had a comfortable double bed, Internet, flat screen TV and a coffee maker, all presided over by the hallmark stuffed tiger on the bed, adding a humorous touch to it all. Bed and bathroom were "spic-and-span". Downstairs there is a neat restaurant, where they brew a terrific cup of coffee, served with a very good complementary breakfast and where the toast comes in a funny miniature shopping cart. All to be had around the clock, so there is no problem with sleeping in. An extensive menu for lunch and dinner with lots of choices of Nepali cuisine is very likely to please most palates. And if one insists on having good western ice cream for dessert, they have that, too. The dedicated staff could not be more helpful and attentive, all aptly guided by the very personable young manager, Mr. Kunchhang Lama, who impressed me with his fluency in English. He arrived early in the morning the next day, before the start of his regular shift, just to make sure my taxi to the airport was on time, and to bid me farewell with the traditional Nepali white scarf of good luck. Unfortunately my time was too short to enjoy all the hotel's amenities, but it was nevertheless a unique and very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We always appreciate a feedback from our dear guest and we always do our best to keep our quality on a relevant level. Since these is our goal to make a hotel comfortable to live at, we always make efforts to make service better.

To make our guest stay truly memorable we decorated the whole area of our hotel with installations from South Korea, Singapore, Honk Kong and Indonesia. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.Guests satisfaction is all what our team aim to and work likewise.

We always try our very best to satisfy the needs of our guests and make them feel at home.Speaking about our we have a choice of different breakfast sets which are free for our hotel guests. Each set includes from 4 to 6 items. We serve breakfast to our dear guest at anytime, Whenever they would like to have it. We do provide a flag of your country's choice so that one can feel like being in their own country for a while.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities :)

With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely the best for me and my family. The overdone interior is a playground for my daughter and the personel love to keep an eye on her. Every morging our breakfast (included a la carte) is brought to the top floor for us to enjoy on the roof top garden. Thanks for the food care.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oostelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to have such nice review from you and we are glad to know that you had a good time during your stay here in Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel. And we really feel very happy knowing that our guest enjoys our efforts.

Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. Speaking about our we have a choice of different breakfast sets which are free for our hotel guests. Each set includes from 4 to 6 items. We serve breakfast to our dear guest at anytime, Whenever they would like to have it. We do provide a flag of your country's choice so that one can feel like being in their own country for a while.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities :)

With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Spent 2nights at the Royal Penguin Hotel, Katmandu. Stayed in an executive room which a really spacious with a huge bath and a nice seating area. Considering the location which is very convenient for shopping in Thamel, the room was quiet ensuring a good nights rest. I think what makes the Royal Penguin Hotel so special is their staff. They obviously got it right by investing in their staff cause let me tell you, nothing but absolutely nothing is too much asked for this highly efficient and friendly staff. A true delight. Cuisine varies and one can find something to suit your taste. Bathroom in need for some maintenance, but that is about the only negative remark. The decor is so over the top and actually very kitsch, yet not disturbing. Once we got over the initial shock of this overly decorated hotel with all the stuffed toys, fake flowers, glass statues and funky furniture, one can actually sit back and enjoy the tongue in the cheek decor. I will most certainly stay in this hotel again when visiting Katmandu.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We appreciate a feedback from our dear guest and we always do our best to keep our quality on a relevant level.Since this is our goal to make a hotel comfortable to live at, we always make efforts to make service better.

Thank you for loving our food. Our restaurant serves international menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes.We serves our breakfast in European Style, delicious, beautifully decorated meals. To make our guest stay truly memorable we decorated the whole area of our hotel with installations from South Korea, Singapore, Honk Kong and Indonesia.

We offer a various set of interesting and crazy activities in our special menu "CRAZY MENU" where you can find unusual offers like smashing the dishes, zoo in room and many more. We try our very best to satisfy our valued guest. Guests satisfaction is all what our team aim to and work likewise.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities :)

With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel 1 & 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have never stayed in a worse hotel. We had to kill multiple cockroaches in our overpriced room during our one night stay. The location is great, but there are numerous hotels nearby that are cleaner and less expensive. We travel to Nepal frequently, but will NEVER return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank heddieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest!

Nepal is a developing country and because of its developing side it has some issues (like electricity problems, cocroaches, etc.). As a high quality hotel we successfully fight these issues: for example, we have our own back-up generators, we get rid of cocroaches, etc, and never tend to panic about this.

With warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel 1 & 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

After almost a week on safari in Chitwan in early April some luxury and comfort were much needed and the Royal Penguin ticked every box! Beautiful, contemporary, quirky, warm and welcoming - can't praise it highly enough.

The hotel staff couldn't do enough to help and were always delightful.

We stayed in the 'K2' room on the 4th floor and apart from intermittent wi-fi it was perfect. If back in Kathmandu we'll definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Johny Scot,

We are very delighted to have such nice review from you and we are glad to know that you had a good time during your stay here in Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel (Penguin1 & Penguin 2). Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. And we really feel very happy knowing that our guest enjoys our efforts.

Our hotel provides round the clock for the convenience of our guests.Even the load shedding here won't be able to interrupt our dear guests as we have our own 195-kva generator and 90-kva generators for the backup. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities :)


With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel 1 & 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#34 of 202 in Kathmandu
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#45 of 202 in Kathmandu
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 202 in Kathmandu
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#9 of 202 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: JP Road, Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Thamel, Aria Boutique Hotel and Spa is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Kathmandu. Set 0.0 km from the excitement of the city, this 3.5-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Kathesimbhu Stupa, Kathmandu Guest House Minitheatre, Gandharba Culture and Art Organisation. Aria Boutique Hotel and Spa offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Top features of the hotel include meeting facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, restaurant, bar/pub. Step into one of 13 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as television LCD/plasma screen, separate shower and tub, bathtub, extra long beds (> 2 meters), coffee/tea maker. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden, sauna, fitness center, massage to make your stay truly unforgettable. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Kathmandu, make Aria Boutique Hotel and spa your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing