We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #68 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Penguin for one week in late November 2013. The hotel is situated on a busy road but the noise from the traffic is minimal, Kathmandu shuts down at about 9.00pm so it certainly won't keep you awake. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to Durbar Square from the hotel. The rooms are amazing. Very spacious with a separate seating area, comfortable double bed, plenty of wardrobe space, large bathroom and kettle and fridge. We were on b&b but ate in the restaurant most nights. The food was excellent. Plenty of choice and reasonably priced. What makes this hotel though is the staff. They truly cannot do enough for you. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked JP Road. It was great sitting on the balcony and watching the comings and goings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidnsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Sidnsan

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay and being comfortable in their rooms.

Our team are always attentive towards the guest requests. We try to satisfy them with their big and small requests to make their stay a remarkable one. Thank you so much for loving our food, Our restaurant serves international menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities !


With warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 309 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

All I can say about this hotel is...WOW!!!! From start to finish, everything completely blew me away! We have a 6 year old and a 2 year old. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite. The service was absolutely amazing! Hospitality was through the roof! This hotel and all it's staff went above and beyond to please us as well as all other guests. In the 1 week we stayed with them, we grew very close and really enjoyed everyone's company. My 6 year old and I actually cried on our departure. We made a couple lifetime friends at the hotel and I would DEFINITELY go and stay with them again. My husband and I took our kids to the movies to see the movie "Frozen", which the hotel set up for us. They had a person go to the theater the day before and actually purchase our tickets for us. While at the movies, my husband lost his wallet. The hotel actually sent someone to go and look for it for us and with great success as well. It was found and everything was still in it!!!! I can't say enough good things about this hotel! The power flickered a few times, but really not long enough to cause us to really clue in. Their generator was up within seconds of the power going. The food was to die for!!!! The breakfast that was included in the room was HUGE and sooo good!!!! Also, there was a good enough variety to not make it boring. We have already recommended this hotel to friends of ours and we will continue to recommend! Smita, Aashish, Sonam, and everyone else, THANK YOU for making this a trip we will never forget!!!! You are all amazing people and our daughters really grew to love you over our short stay! The whole flight home was talk about our wonderful vacation and the people who made the whole thing worth while!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are a little small, but honestly, it was not an issue for us and we didn't go to stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFriedstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Christina!

We are so glad to see your happy feedback about your stay here. It was such a pleasure for all of our staff to host and spend time with you and Shawn and the girls, we truly enjoyed it.
The best part in hosting guests is getting attached to them and feeling them not as just guests, but as friends. That doesn't happen every time, but that's exactly what happened to us when you came here:)

You've become really good friends for us, and we've had an amazing time together. We're already missing you and looking forward to seeing you again.
Warm greetings from Aashish, Sonam, Smita, Kunchan, Upendra and other members of our team. We hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After looking at Trip Adviser I saw a number of negative complaints, but still went ahead and booked for two weeks, we all have our standards of what we expect when away from home, but some of the items mentioned were totally unfounded.

The Hotel, the staff, the service, the food, was excellent and I am sorry to say to the negative writer is, that you pay for what you get and the price is very reasonable and even though it is listed as a 3 star hotel, for what you get is far from what you get at some respectfully named 5 star hotels, The Royal Penguin is far above a rating as when you arrive it is Excellence all the way.

I strongly recommend you let them book all your tours as again this service is second to none, and that you really get value for money and the tour guide I had which was on a one to one basis was excellent, so well done Vijay You are a truley added bonus to the Team Royal Penguin.

To the Management Team and Staff of the Royal Penguin I cannot wait to return again and a Big Well Done.

To the Tired Traveler, I know picking hotels is always a worrying time as you do not know what you are really booking, take it from me, you will not regret booking the Royal Penguin, and be prepared to be Pampered for all of your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a High Standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Stuart Wright

Thank you so much for dropping a review about us in TripAdvisor. We are very much glad knowing that you liked it very much in Royal Penguin and hearing that you would want to come back again makes us feel overwhelmed.

Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy with their small details of needs and requests. And we really feel very happy knowing that our guest enjoys our efforts.

Royal Penguin team would like to thank you for your kindness and giving a party to the whole staff :)

We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities !

With warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Its a small boutique hotel....hardly noticeble if you are walking in Thamel area in Kathmandu.... Luckily I did some homework before going and booked it online. The hotel is simply awesome. The interior is modern n beautifully decorated. The rooms are cozy and lavishly decorated. We cud rate this place wt 5 stars. We tried out 2 different rooms on 2 days....the deluxe was good...the executive king was superb. Highly recommend this hotel which is located in the midst of shopping area. Breakfast was served at any time of the day according to our preference.....n they were delicious too. And not forgeting the polite n helpful staff. I m definitely staying thr again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Vimalahspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Penguin earlier. We hope our efforts were able to meet up the requirements for your satisfaction whilst your stay with us in Kathmandu.

Its our great pleasure to be rated with 5 stars by our guests. We will always work more harder and harder to make our guest's stay a memorable and a comfortable one.

We hope to see you again in Royal Penguin with the coming days !

With warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend. The hotel felt like a perfect place for romantic journey. Huge bathtub had plenty of space for us both. Champagne in the room made it a bit more special.
Staff all nice and attentive, service is great, felt like the staff really tried their best. Sauna after massage mmm.. (make sure u turn it on before massage).
The bed was perfect – never had such a great sleep in Nepal before. Usually Nepali hotel don't pay so much attention on the comfort of beds. Aircons heated room and all the lobby area which is great for December..
Seemed like any whim is their pleasure.
And what I liked the most is its ambience.. its kind of joyful.. or playful – sets you in a good mood every day.

Room Tip: Executive room has a huge bathtub enough for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are very much glad to have your positive feedback relating your past stay and we are very happy to know that your stay at Royal Penguin was a good one.

Its our pleasure knowing that you and your boyfriend had some quality time at Royal Penguin during your Kathmandu visit. We hope that we were able to make your stay a very comfortable and a enjoyable one. We feel very delighted to know that our guests are satisfied with our efforts in meeting up with their each and every request.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in Royal Penguin with the coming days !

With warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If only more hotels in the world were more like the Royal Penguin, travelling would be much more pleasant.

A lot of effort has gone into the amusing and eccentric style of the hotel, and the service lives up to this.

No request was too much trouble, and as standard they serve breakfast at any time and the bar is open 24 hours! We were leaving at 4.30am and got a call, as promised, at 4am to say the breakfast was ready and could either be brought to the room or we could have it downstairs.

The room has great, modern facilities and we had no issues at all while we were staying there.

Location in the middle of Thamel is perfect for tourists.

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, and I would not hesitate to recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are very much glad to have your positive feedback relating your past stay and we are very happy to know that your stay at Royal Penguin was a good one.

We serve breakfast to our dear guest at anytime, whenever they would like to have it. So that our guest do not have to wake up from their sweet dreams in the morning with a thought of missing their breakfast. We put our guest's each and every request to the first priority and try working on them sooner as possible to satisfy our guest.

We really look forward to serve you again in Royal Penguin in the coming days with more updated facilities.

With warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were lovely and the staff extremely helpful. The location is ok for shopping but I was hassled by many people on the street trying to sell me junk. But Kathmandu seems to be like this everywhere. If you have to stay in Kathmandu then this is a great hotel. The price seems a little expensive which is why I only gave 4 stars. Other than that I war very very happy. The rooms were all very clean and the bed more comfortable than my bed at home. Perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazybali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about your post stay. Its always an immense pleasure knowing that our guests enjoys our hospitality whilst their stay in Royal Penguin.

Our team works hard everyday to come up with our guest's satisfaction and making their visit a very good one. Our stuffed toys in all room will provide you a very good company through out your stay. And you can also invite your favourite (panda,deer,crocodile,lion etc) for a company during your meal :)

We hope to see you again in Royal Penguin soon !

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
150 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: JP Road, Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $51 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Thamel, Aria Boutique Hotel and Spa is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Kathmandu. Set 0.0 km from the excitement of the city, this 3.5-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Kathesimbhu Stupa, Kathmandu Guest House Minitheatre, Gandharba Culture and Art Organisation. Aria Boutique Hotel and Spa offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Top features of the hotel include meeting facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, restaurant, bar/pub. Step into one of 13 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as television LCD/plasma screen, separate shower and tub, bathtub, extra long beds (> 2 meters), coffee/tea maker. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden, sauna, fitness center, massage to make your stay truly unforgettable. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Kathmandu, make Aria Boutique Hotel and spa your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing