We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nourishing for mind, body and soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandra Ban Retreat
Ranked #8 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nourishing for mind, body and soul”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay at Chandra Ban was a welcome respite from life in dusty Kathmandu. As it is perched on the side of the Kathmandu Valley at the edge of Shivapuri Forest, Chandra Ban provides fresher air and peaceful surroundings than the city below. After many B&Bs with overwhelming decor, we appreciated the restraint of the tastefully decorated rooms with their interesting Tibetan artifacts and furniture. We also enjoyed the comfortable bed, crisp welcoming sheets, great coffee, delicious meals, excellent service and stimulating conversations. Eating lunch outside in the lovely garden was a treat. We were quickly put at ease by our engaging hosts but always had space to ourselves when we needed it. Even though it rained almost one whole day, we were quite happy in our lovely room reading and watching a movie. The guesthouse is conveniently situated for hikes of varying lengths into the forest and a picnic lunch was provided when we ventured out to explore. We paid a little extra for the plentiful lunches and dinners, but it was worth it. However, should you wish to prepare your own food, the kitchenette facilities in the rooms would make this easy. I highly recommend this charming and rejuvenating place!

Room Tip: We were in room 201 and it was large and comfortable with windows on two sides. The balcony was shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Saharaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
merate
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Coming from the chaos of Kathmandu you seem to be a Paradise. The location is strategic for trips in a day around the Kathmandu Valley.
The return of these chaotic days in Chandra Ban you can enjoy the peace and a refined welcome by the owners Camilla and Luke are always ready to meet and exceed our every request.
Our apartment is spacious and bright, with terrace and magnificent views of the Kathmandu Valley would also cook but having an excellent cook, we have never been exploited.
Having been only a week with my husband hiker I hope to be eable to know soon for my children this wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamaria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was our first time visiting Nepal. We stayed for 3 nights in Kathmandu before trekking in Poon hill.  We selected Chandra ban based on Tripadvisor as well as their own website.  We are glad that we have made the right choice.

Frankly speaking, it wasn't enjoyable to walk in the crowded and dusty street in Kathmandu (don't be discouraged, our trekking experience was excellent).  Chandra ban, located higher in the hill, north of the city, was like heaven to us.  The terraces of our room 201 and the common area had an excellent view overlooking the Kathmandu valley.  There was also a beautiful garden where we had our terrific breakfast served with home-made bread and jam.

Camilla and Luca, an Italian couple, were very kind and friendly.  Due to flight schedule, they had waited till mid-night to greet us at the entrance.  On the next day, a welcome drink of wine was arranged prior to the first dinner.  And, when we went for a short hike in Shivapouri suggested by Luca, they packed delicious sandwiches for our lunch.  Luca even kindly made green tea to fill up our bottles. 

About the interior condition, simply clean, tidy and stylish. There are pieces of Tibetan furniture in the common room and inside our room.  Our room (201) is very spacious and comfortable.  Our terrace is big enough for us to practise Taichi :)    We love the guest reading room which is nicely decorated, and shelved with a lot of interesting books (like Patan Museum).  

We would highly recommend this resort if you would like a peaceful stay in Kathmandu.   

Dear Camilla and Luca:    We are now in Chitwan while writing this, having a break after the jungle walk.  The trekking was great. Though it rained, we were lucky to see Dhaulagiri from Poon hill.  Ghandruk was also great.   We hope to see you again.  Maybe we will trek in ABC or EBC later, or if you will come to HK, don't hesitate to drop us an email.   Ciao !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Tucked away at the base of the Shivapuri forest but still close enough to get in & out of Kathmandu, Chandra Ban blends almost seamlessly into its surroundings. Stunningly beautiful gardens surround the main house with incredible views across the Kathmandu valley.
Everything about Chandra Ban is designed to ensure that you can truly relax and enjoy this uniquely special location.
The main house has two guest apartments along with a beautifully decorated guest lounge area where you feel completely at home leading to an outside terrace with spectacular valley views.
Situated higher behind the main house, a climb up the steps through lush, winding gardens brings you to the two larger apartments but the word 'apartment' really does not do this accommodation justice. The top ‘lodge’ (302) is decorated with beautifully restored, authentic, antique Tibetan furniture and artefacts while 3 private terraces provide even more incredible valley views.
Inside there is a fully functional kitchenette, huge open plan lounge & dining area with double height, wooden ceilings giving it more of a wonderful safari/alpine lodge type feel and a separate bedroom with en-suite bathroom. Every comfort has been carefully thought out and planned with attention to the fine detail, modern amenities such as WIFI, TV, DVD & huge comfy seats blend perfectly with the luxurious yet understated décor with traditional Tibetan/local art works adorning the walls. The bedroom has its own outside private terrace while the comfy bed ensures your best sleep whilst in Kathmandu, awakening to the sound of the forest. The largest private terrace is off the lounge giving an ever changing panoramic view of the valley and the hills beyond…simply stunning.
With such a small number of guest accommodation there really is space to be as sociable or as private as you wish. As well as the main house, the gardens provide a haven in which to relax & the delicious homemade Nepali cuisine can be served on the terrace overlooking the rice fields (weather permitting). Luca & Camilla are both owners & hosts providing the kind of personalised touches that are rarely found these days. They have succeeded in creating a place where the very best in culture, environmental ethos, cuisine, home comforts, ambiance & location combine to give their guests that most elusive of travel experiences…an absolute perfect stay.

Savour each moment of your stay at Chandra Ban as you’ll spend every day thereafter wishing you were back!

Room Tip: 302 provided the perfect luxury romantic getaway for a special occasion but with the huge space it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunghiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This little paradise on the edge of Kathmandu north offers a wonderful escape from the bustling city. I enjoyed waking up with the sound of birds, could not get enough of the delicious meals, and took deep breaths of fresh air while looking out over the widespread city in the valley. On the edge of a National Park there must be wonderful trails to discover. Weather did not allow me to venture out and explore, so I'm saving that treat for next time. It is a perfect retreat to spend a few days! Thank you to the lovely hosts and staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarjorieTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent a lovely, relaxing few days at Chandra Ban towards the end of my stay in Nepal. I would highly recommend it as a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. It is close enough to the city to be easily accessible, but once there you feel like you're a million miles away. The view from the resort is stunning - as is the beautifully kept garden. Camilla, Luca and staff were extremely welcoming and very knowledgeable of the area.
I really cannot fault anything - the room, food and surroundings were simply wonderful. It is the perfect place to relax and I had an extremely enjoyable and memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ( a family of three) spent a wonderful week up at Chandra Ban in the Spring. Nothing better than returning to Chandra Ban after a day in busy Kathmandu. The views over the Kathmandu Valley, the flower-filled garden, the birdsong, the rooms/apartments and the general ambience are magical. Camilla and Luca and their small team of staff are warm and welcoming, but there is space to just "be". The food is quite delicious and home grown vegetables and spices are used. The walks from Chandra Ban are beautiful and it is possible to start the renowned Helambu trek from there.
A place difficult to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emmacave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
0.9 mi away
Park Village Hotel & Resort
Park Village Hotel & Resort
#76 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shivapuri Heights Cottages
Shivapuri Heights Cottages
#7 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gokarna Forest Resort
Gokarna Forest Resort
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#4 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandra Ban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Ban Retreat

Property: Chandra Ban Retreat
Address: Ward 6, 4-Kha Chapali V.D.C, Budhanilkantha | Budhanilkantha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Chandra Ban Eco-Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandra Ban is a beautiful retreat located on the edge of the Shivapuri National Park on the northern rim of the Kathmandu valley, just 35 minutes from Kathmandu city centre. It is a luxury lodge with rooms decorated in Himalayan style, each with their own terrace area overlooking the Valley of Kathmandu. Fresh air, natural vegetation and tranquility is offered along with delicious home-cooked meals for the residents. It is an ideal getaway from the noisy, polluted city in the peace and quiet of the countryside but close enough to visit the historic sites of the Valley. It is an ideal location for yoga and meditation retreats. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing