We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PIZZA PLACE”
Review of Roadhouse Cafe

Roadhouse Cafe
Ranked #215 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“PIZZA PLACE”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Roadhouse Café is a staple for tourists and expats in Kathmandu. In fact, it was one of the first restaurants my wife and I ate in when we arrived in Kathmandu over a year ago. There are four Roadhouse Café locations: Thamel, Boudha, Jhamsikhel and Bhatbhateni. Roadhouse’s thing is pizza, and the pizza’s not bad. On this day, however, we only wanted a snack so we decided to split a grilled beef sandwich at the Roadhouse’s Thamel location.

We like the Roadhouse in Thamel as it has a nice outdoor seating area in a courtyard behind the restaurant. Don’t expect to bask in the local culture at Roadhouse. It is, instead, a refuge for westerners and westernophiles who want a temporary escape from the bedlam of Kathmandu’s busy streets. Ordinarily, the courtyard is a quiet place, but on this day, it was practically a party. Dozens of tourists, recently off the trail or newly arrived crowded the restaurant. Several large groups arrived and departed as we enjoyed the early October sun. Despite the crowds, everything worked well. Waiters took orders in a businesslike manner and our food arrived after a reasonable wait. One nice touch: We told the waiter we were going to share the sandwich and, instead of one sandwich cut in two, we were pleasantly surprised when the waiter delivered two small sandwiches!

If you’re hankerin' for pizza and beer, Roadhouse is a good choice. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Different management?”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Was one of my favourite spots to eat in Thamel. But i think they are under new managent. Was disappointed with the food this time. Also found the softdrinks to expensive for Nepal standards. Diet drinks extremely overpriced and cans are smaller too.
Didnt try the pizzas this time. Used to be good.
My pita bread with chicken was soaked in sauce and didnt contain a lot of chicken. I will avoid it for a while.

Third Eye across the road still serves nice food and for Mediterranean food OR2K.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice ambience & awesome food at affordable price!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

MUST order Sizzling Brownie with Ice-cream!
Pizza is tasty, with generous serving of ingredient.
Share a Nepalese starter, which includes an assortment of local salad, which is interesting to the palate if you are not used to a little spiciness, but it's definitely worth the try!
Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katmandu
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a nice meeting point”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Road House cafe in Batbatheni is my favorite for a quick lunch or snacks with friends,but it's also good at dinner time.
the place is confortable and clean,the service is good and the dishes almost always tasty.
my favorites are the middle easterns,but even the pizza is decent and there are some lovely desserts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giovannac547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Experiance of Pizza”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had 2 friends from Canada visit me, and one evening i took them to Roadhouse Cafe for welfare dinner, the environment is great, we followed as menu, written wooden cooked pizza, taste was ok, but some part was over cooked, and and the smell like burning, and the lower part was mostly black, other was ok, cold beer and quick WiFi with many foreigners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RR278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing