We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Logistical partner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nepal Myths and Mountain Trails - Day Tours

Nepal Myths and Mountain Trails - Day Tours
Ranked #113 of 591 Tours in Kathmandu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Program: AM: Fly Kathmandu to Pokhara. Upon arrival, we drive to visit Davis Falls. Davis falls : Locally Known as Patale Chhango in the southern flank of the Pokhara valley, where the stream flowing from Phewa Lake collaplses and surges down the rock into a deep gorge, leaping through several potholes. Then we will be visiting Tibetan Refugee Camp. Tibetan Refugee Camp : Tibetan Village Tashiling in the south and Tashii Palkhel in the north of Pokhara valley is the two Tibetan villages which is inhabitant by the Tibetan people who keeps themselves busy by producing and trading woolen carpets and other handicrafts. After wards, we drive to Lakeside to visit Phewa Lake and Barahi Temple. Phewa Lake and Barahi Temple : Situated at an altitude of 800meters above sea level, it is the second largest lake in the Nation. With Barahi island Temple in the middle of the lake it is the most important religious monument in Pokhara. Built almost in the middle of Phewa Lake, this two-storied pagoda is dedicated to the boar manifestation of Ajima, the protector’s deity representing the female force Shakti. The reflection of Mt. Machhapuchhare & Annapurna can be seen in its serene water. Thick forest lies on the adjoining southern slopes of the lake. Spend few hours in Lakeside and go for one hour boating in Phewa Lake. You can do shopping in the market of Lakeside. Then we drive to airport to catch your flight back to Kathmandu.
Okkenbroek
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Logistical partner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

In 1994 I came for the first time to Nepal for a trekking. Then Ngima Dorji Sherpa was the Sirdar. This experience was the start of my love for Nepal. In the meantime I have returned many times for trekkings, climbs and expeditions. Most of the times we have been working with Ngima Dorji Sherpa who started in 2003 his own company NMMT. In 2006 he helped to organise our Dutch Dhaulagiri expedition. The last years we are working together for our project “Nepal traverse”: a trekking from triple border point in the FarWest (Tinkar La) to the triple border point in the East (Jhinsang La) of Nepal. In fact this is the Upper High Great Himalaya Trail, but even more extreme seen the start and the end. Up till now we have realised 4/5 part: from Darchula in the Far West to Tumlingtar in Makalu-area. This trek is an amazing experience. The last part (Kanchenjunga) is planned for 2013.

Ngima Dorji sherpa is an excellent organiser. We have seen sometimes unexpected things happening during our trips and then he is major in solving the situation. Further he has a very good team around him. So I can everybody recommend to work with Ngima Dorji and NMMT!"

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

4 trips to Nepal with Nepal Myths and Mountain Trails have all been fantastic! This is a country that lures you back again and again. The people are so warm, friendly and fun. The landscape of course is spectacular! And NMMT makes the whole experience manageable. As long as you are in good health and reasonably fit, their treks are terrific. My first was 12 days to Annapurna Sanctuary in 2003. This is a great combination of hill communities and spectacular mountains. Reasonably easy walking. My second trek was 19 days in the Everest Region in 2006, first towards Mera Peak and then up toward Everest. More demanding walking and higher altitude but the NMMT crew helped me achieve this hugely rewarding challenge. I've also done two other treks in the Everest Region with them in 2009 and 2012. I recommend this company wholeheartedly. Ngima Dorje Sherpa and his extended family are at the heart of every NMMT expedition. I guarantee you would have an unforgettable experience! Namaste!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahDNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Rate Authentic Trekking in Nepal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have used Ngima's company, Nepal Myths and Mountain Trails, for our two trips to Gokyo in 2009 and 2012, as part of the Bandaidbox Charity.

On both occasions Ngima has efficiently organised all of the logistics from pick up at the airport to camping equipment, meals and tea house accomodation and all that goes with it, in the mountains.

We have had great companionship and confidence in Lhakpa (and his team) as our trekking sirdar. Lhakpa's humble and gentle manner overlays his strength of character.

We highly recommend Nepal Myths and Mountain Trails for an authentic experience in Nepal.

Pat and Cheryl Sole (New Zealand)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CherylandPatSole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Experience and Service at The Top of The World - NMMT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My first trip with NMMT was to the Annapurnas. As an older person, it was a challenge. Thanks to Ngima's care and experience with the choice of our guide Karma and porter Lhak-pa, the trip was one of the most rewarding and memorable of my travelling life. We were looked after from dawn til dusk. Whether it was a hot cup of tea waiting in the morning, getting us over or up the last hill or finding us the best room in the tea house they were there! Karma's good English and knowledge of the mountains was exceptional.
When we planned another visit to Nepal and on to Tibet, Sikkim and Bhutan, Ngima and his team was the only choice. Once again, NMMT excelled in professional service which went to make another unforgettable trip.
Thank you NMMT, we'll be back!

Kerry D, Australia

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Mazin' Myths and Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012



Ngima Dorji is the founder and principle guide of the MythsandMountains trekking company based in Nepal. As a British monk based in Eastern Nepal, I have seen many trekking companies pass through the Himalayas and the monasteries nestled in these snowy crags and peaks. I can therefore say with some authority that MythsandMountains is without a doubt one of the finest trekking companies working the trails today.
That MythsandMountains provides all the basic services a traveller might expect from a trekking company goes without saying. But there is far more. A man of thousands of miles and hundreds of adventures throughout the Himalayas under his harness, Ngima Dorji leads a company that is flexible, expert and extremely high quality, offering set-plan treks for the novice in Nepal to personally tailored treks for the seeker with something more specific in mind. Ngima Dorji-La and his staff will make sure you are taken care of from the minute you touch down in Kathmandu to the day you wave your goodbyes at the departure gate.
In addition to all of this, those who wish to experience true Sherpa culture in Nepal would be wise to chose MythsandMountains. Ngima Dorji not only comes from an authentic Sherpa background, but is an important supporter and sponsor of Sherpa monastic and educational projects. He and his team have the expertise and the cultural awareness to make your trip to Nepal a truly inspiring and meaningful experience.

Buddhist monk Thubten Senge
Thubten Choling, Shar-Khumbu, Nepal

Helpful?
3 Thank Thubten108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepal Myths and Mountain Trails - Day Tours also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Nepal Myths and Mountain Trails - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing