We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Little Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zibro - Resto & Bar - CLOSED

Zibro - Resto & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Zibro is a Nepali term for 'Tongue'. It is at the 3rd floor of the building with INDOOR seating and also has a ROOFTOP. It has a full bar that serves varieties of spirits along with Wine & chilled Beers and a Kitchen that serves Mexican, Italian & Nepali foods. It has attractive Happy Hours on cocktails. The place has been a hub to meet trekkers, volunteers and travelers from around the world. The friendly atmosphere is the key. Zibro often organizes various musical shows and events.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Decent Little Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I want to start by making something clear. Zibro is a bar, not a restaurant. It is somewhere you go to have a drink with your mates. Do not walk up the four storeys of stairs to the roof top and expect an elegant dining experience. You will find Nepali youth smoking hookah and enjoying the live music in a chilled out bar.
The menu here mainly consists of snacks. I chose to eat the chicken meatballs. They were tasty despite being flavoured with a little too much chili powder.
The beer here is reasonably priced although the service here is slow. I waited 30 minutes for my 6 meatballs. The staff seem a little disorganised having to serve two floors of guests.
Zibro is a fun little bar where local Nepali kids can go and listen to some music. It is well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geelongexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chill rooftop bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Awesome bar and restaurant in the middle of Thamel. Great live english and nepali music and really fun and friendly staff. I was only in kathmandu for 3 days and I found myself there at some point or another for all 3 days. Made really good friends with the bar owner and his friends and even went out with them one night. Very chill atmosphere and great food as well and the drink prices are the same everywhere but they made best cocktails I had in nepal. I definite for anyone visiting kathmandu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lamadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reality check on this restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Felt compelled to leave a review because the earlier praise (all 5 stars) led me to go here. Food was okay, atmosphere was below standard, and the the dishes weren't presented all that well. We had three dishes and every one was an entree placed on top of a ring of cucumbers. Ambience would probably have been better on the rooftop- it was raining when we went. The indoors had a bunch of fluorescent lighting and the background music was also kind of weird for a restaurant. My personal recommendation is that there are many better places in Thamel to dine- skip this one unless they improve in the future.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megapixel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most friendly / awesome rooftop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This restaurant is highly recommended guys. Amazing service, such fun loving, friendly staff and a great venue. If you want to just lighten your spirits with a cozy cute place, this is the one for you. The moment you enter this place, you will see smiling faces and will be greeted with so much positivity. The food is excellent here. We were lucky enough to head there for the second time in one trip and surprisingly greeted by a lovely friendly band that played Nepali & English tunes. :) We sang and danced our night out with lovely people by our side who we didn't even know and ended up making friends there.

Big up ZIBRO ... DEFINITELY COMING BACK :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whabij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Full roof top bar & restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Roof top restaurant with cheap beer. Food was excellent with a good choice. Friendly staff & we will revisit later this month when back in Thamel, Kathmandu.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zibro - Resto & Bar also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing