We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge room but lacking....”
Review of Gaju Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaju Suite Hotel
Ranked #33 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“huge room but lacking....”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Huge suite with kitchenette...however nothing is replenished on a daily basis. No water, soap, shampoo. Had to ask for a kettle, even though it has a kitchn. Good bed, and laundry returned the same day. Very wuite at night, we were on the 3rd floor and never heard the nightclub on the 5th as some reviews have said you can. Good security on each floor and main entrance. Reception Staff very helpful..as all nepalese were that we met.

Room Tip: Room101...can watch the street come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    122
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
96
74
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Gaju suite hotel offers first class service and on arrival Mr Suman Acharya will happily meet 100 percent of all your requests !!! The reception staff are super efficient and helpful. The rooms are so spacious, luxurious , views from several rooms onto Main Street are FANTASTIC to watch city life. Anu runs the housekeeping and attends to every fine detail and all requests immediately attended to which made our stay 100 percent enjoyable. Anu and her staff just made are trip especially enjoyable and like a small family hotel. Thank you Suman and Anu for a wonderful two week stay in your beautiful Gaju Suites. THE ONLY place to stay in Kathmandu... Lou and Kade Australia

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loukade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It was my first trip to Kathmandu and my travel agent booked me into Gaju Suite Hotel. Stayed here for 6 days as my flights to Lukla was cancelled. This hotel is in a central location in Thamel and within walking distance to all the attractions and eateries in Thamel. Room is really clean and bathroom has good hot water. It comes also with a fridge and has good cable television where you can watch CNN , MTV and other interesting channels. On 2 nights they even upgraded my room to a suite which I really appreciate. Breakfast is on the 5th floor and included in the room. Besides the good breakfast selection, you will also have a good view of Thamel from the Reef Restaurant where you will have your breakfast. There is also a money changer in front the hotel which gives good rates. The service given is fantastic especially from Suman, Rubin, Ram , Baba. Love the security guards as they recognize you as a guest and keeps smiling and make you feel at home. Will definitely stay here again when I am back to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Gadju suites is a wonderful find in Kathmandu. The suites are completely comfortable and have everything you could want. Comfy beds, lovely living room and wonderful staff. It's extraordinary value for money and I would not stay anywhere else in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanyCelermajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The staff's hospitality was super! :) Everyone from the reception to the cleaning ladies was always trying their best. Special thank you to Rubin who exceeded my expectation and provided me with lots of drinking water, once he realized that I drink more water than average. The hotel also offers very good location, in the heart of Thamel. Overall rating: excellent! :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I came to trek in Nepal and stayed at the Gaju Suite Hotel both before and after my trek. Expecting something quite different, I was very happily surprised to find myself in an excellent hotel, with beautiful, clean rooms, a very good restaurant and - what was the best - the most friendly staff I have come across. And the latter goes to both the reception staff and the restaurant and room keeping staff (special thanks to the lovely Mrs Anu who helped me with all sorts of things during my stay).

The Gaju service is just what you need in Kathmandu - all the things you expect and normally take for granted work really well, like hot water, electricity, WiFi, reception services, breakfast, safety... I can imagine not all hotels in Nepal are able to deliver to that standard and am happy to recommend the hotel to my friends and also hopefully return there myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kili_June2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gaju Suite Hotel for our first few days in Kathmandu. Anytime we requested anything from the front desk, they were friendly, responsive and quick to react. As a result we decided to stay at Gaju suite anytime we returned to Kathmandu from other tourist locations in Nepal such as Pokhara and Chitwan. The breakfast staff was easy to talk to and the fun atmosphere of the Reef lounge made it a beautiful place to start the day. The room itself was very spacious with a lovely sitting area for guests and a very comfortable bed. We had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. We'll definitely stay there again on our next trip to Nepal!!

Room Tip: The 4th floor was right below the reef lounge which was great to run up for a quick beer and some ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaJoySharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shreesu
Hotel Shreesu
#71 of 201 in Kathmandu
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#29 of 201 in Kathmandu
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#36 of 201 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#15 of 201 in Kathmandu
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#3 of 201 in Kathmandu
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#28 of 201 in Kathmandu
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaju Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaju Suite Hotel

Property: Gaju Suite Hotel
Address: A One Complex, 3rd and 4th Floor, Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaju Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the relaxed atmosphere and upscale amenities of GAJU SUITE HOTEL. Our efforts are focused on providing guests a holiday to be treasured and facilitate whatever depth and nature of experience you seek. At our hotel your intentions become ours. Our Hotel's setting is unique -an oasis in the heart of Thamel with luxurious deluxe rooms, apartment-styled rooms and suites offering guests a outstanding facilities, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The 40 rooms including 15 suites are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and offers a guest experience that is intimate and discreet while providing the highest level of service. Gaju Suite is a selection of contemporary and finely-tuned hotel that offer an enriching, enlightening and rewarding lifestyle experience. This lifestyle is about a lust for faraway places, a fascination with foreign cultures, a desire to escape and relax in surrounds that satisfy and please on all levels, where needs are met before they are even acknowledged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Gaju Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing