We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Your experience begins upon arrival at Shambaling where there warmly greet you and give you something to drink while they do the check-in requirements. Then they take you to your fantastic room. The staff is extremely warm and welcoming and will bend over backwards to help you. The only caveat is that it is no where near Thamel if that's where you're looking to go. And NONE of the taxi drivers seem to know where the hotel is so always bring a card of the hotel with you so the taxi driver can call for directions. But a very warm and welcoming hotel. I will always stay there when I am in KTM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucasbandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and sharing your experience at Shambaling. Shambaling is located just 7 minutes walk from Boudhanath(one of the world Heritage site). Thamel is approx. 20 minutes drive from our hotel. You can request our front desk to arrange a local taxi for a reasonable fare. We are all very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you at Shambaling again.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    63
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
56
121
93
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We wanted to stay in a locally owned hotel rather than an American chain (there is a Hyatt Regency in Kathmandu), and after some research, we chose this place on the outskirts of the city. My wife was there only a day and a half before joining a volunteer project elsewhere in Nepal, but I stayed the week in Kathmandu Valley and decided to call this place home. I'm glad I did. We went to Thamel in the city center so she could meet her group, and Thamel is great if you like backpackers, bars, budget hotels, trekking gear and souvenir shops on narrow streets (and no sunlight). Shambaling Hotel is in a largely Tibetan neighborhood, Boudha, near the Boudhanath Stupa, which is the largest Buddhist monument in Nepal. The grounds are very nice, behind a guarded entry with a lovely lawn over which Tibetan prayer flags fly. The building is Nepalese in style, and the "premium room" we had was spacious and very nice, decorated in local style, with a very good mattress and bed linens. There's plenty of hot water in the modern shower, and the bathroom is tastefully appointed. The electric blanket on the bed was wonderful, especially since in Nepal the power is cut every few hours (the hotel has a generator, though I couldn't hear it, thankfully) and the blanket keeps you cozy all night long. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, from the guard to the doorman to the reception desk. While there is no wifi in the rooms, the lobby area has wifi, so you'll often find Western couples doing what they do, staring into their digital devices, sitting in the lobby. There were a couple of Western families with grade school age kids staying there while I was there, and they seemed happy with the place as well. It turns out that the restaurant is actually very good, providing local dishes as well as continental menu items. The local Newar dishes are very tasty; I tried the noodle soup, the dumpling soup dish (very popular in Kathmandu), and the full Newar meal, all of which were excellent. Like the hotel staff, the restaurant staff was super friendly and accommodating, even if it meant turning on the power generator to make me a cappuccino! Nepal is a chaotic shambles of a country in many ways, but my stay at Shambaling was very comfortable, friendly, peaceful, and interesting. This was a good base for seeing most of the UNESCO World Heritage sites in Kathmandu Valley, and walking down to the stupa area (kind of like a town square for this Tibetan neighborhood) and hanging out there some days was very enjoyable. The stupa is encircled by shops and restaurants and is very much a fun place to just hang out. I'd recommend Shambaling to anyone who wants a very nice boutique hotel with lots of local flavor, out of the craziness of Thamel and the city center, but still only a short drive to all the sights, including Kathmandu Durbar Square, Patan, Bhaktapur, Pashupatinath, as well as the airport. The hotel can easily arrange a taxi, or a car and driver for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William_D_Howells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Howells,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review and sharing your experience at Shambaling. It was our pleasure to have you and Mrs. Howells at Shambling. Our aim is to make all our guest feel at home with high quality service and we are all very happy to know that you felt it and enjoyed your stay with us. As you had mentioned, walk to Boudhanath is very pleasant and most of our guest walk down to Boudhanath several times during their stay with us. We thank you from our heart for your detailed review and most of all very happy that you enjoyed your holiday staying with us.
We look forward to welcome you and Mrs. Howells at Shambaling again.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had booked two Deluxe rooms in the month of December 2013 for 3 days, As it was our first time in Nepal, when we reached the Hotel from the area outside I was in a grave doubt if it was a good Idea to book the hotel, but the moment we entered the hotel and the traditional welcome offered was enough to put all our doubts aside. It is a nice Lovely hotel with a beautiful garden with seating arrangement in the garden as well in the small cosy restaurant which is just beside the Garden.All the staffs were very courteous, warm and helpful. The Deluxe rooms that we had booked were really comfortable and really appreciated the little touches like the handmade lock to the singing bowls. The bed warmer which was provided was very helpful in the month of December.
I really appreciated the Hotel staff when there was a change in our plans and I requested them to split our 3 days to 2 days and then 1 day afterwards as we felt it would be more fun to visit Pokhara on the 31st. They readily agreed.

There was a small unpleasantness the day of our departure as we felt that one of the staff was not polite enough, but the front desk took immediate action and hopefully the matter must have been resolved.

All in all a very nice place to stay, They must increase the items in the menu and include room service, Although the lack of WiFi connectivity in the rooms might be unpleasant for some, it was quite a relief for me as it gave me some quality time for myself with my family.

The major discomfort was there is a huge power shortage in Nepal and during the power cuts the AC are switched off as the generator is not capable enough to take the load, we faced a little bit of discomfort one day as it was really cold and were waiting desperately to switch on the heater.

Room Tip: The Garden facing Deluxe rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anupam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Anupam, Thank you for taking time to write your review. It was our pleasure to have you at Shambaling with your family. I am very happy that you really liked your room and enjoyed our hospitality. My sincere apologies for the misunderstanding with one of our staff, we have spoken regarding the issue and solved it. I have noted down your feedback and will definitely work on it. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you have you at Shambaling in future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The attentiveness and great customer service of all the staff are greatly appreciated. This is a small boutique hotel that really makes a difference through their superb customer service. Highly recommended for anyone that wish to stay outside of noisy and crowded Thamel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimWeiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Ms. Wei,
Thank you very much for your review. Our aim is to make our guest feel at home with high qulity service and I am glad you felt it and enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you at Shambaling. We look forward to welcome you at Shambaling in new future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Please be aware on arrival at the airport, the airport is chaotic, porters try to grab your bags to walk 10 meters with them, the toilets are disgusting and you would be better off to organise a transfer on arrival. We did at 25 US dollars plus the usual tax, well worth it on arrival. The hotel is a small property near the Bhoda Stupa, absolutely lovely rooms, a generous 1lt of water per person given in the room each day, we stayed in January so really enjoyed the electric blankets unfortunately due to the shortage of power, the heating only worked after 8pm, so had to rug up in the room.
Breakfast was adequate, mostly served to you, fruit salad, choice of eggs plus bacon, sausages and potatoes of some form, cereals, toast, pastries, porridge and coffee and tea. We had dinner a few times as well which was nice, a little bit priceier than eating at the stupa, but less chance of having a stomach upset. Because the hotel is located in the residential area you cant escape the local noise, like a dog barking quite a bit, but the hotel realy cant control this problem.
We walked quite regulary to the stupa which takes about 15 minutes, down a side alley next to the hotel and then onto a busy side road directly there, there is a mini market on route and interesting shops to look at. You have to pay entry into the stupa 150 rupees per person which lasts for a week, so keep your ticket on you.
Food was cheaper there, cant really say that the food was great anywhere around the stupa.
We found a ATM on the way to the hotel about 5 minutes before you arrive on a very bumpy unsealed road but only available between 10 and 3.
All in all a lovely stay, very helpful and friendly staff, good food, good location, nothing asked was refused, would definetly stay with them again. Remember to bring a mask, extremelly polluted city.
We used the same taxi driver the whole stay, spoke good english, took us on many mini tours, feel free to contact me if you want his phone number or email address. We used him to get back to the airport, us in one car and the luggage in another friends taxi, this cost us 12US. A lot cheaper

Room Tip: Have one overlooking the courtyard, more peaceful and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Philip, Thank you for the detailed review. It was our pleasure to have you and your family at Shambaling. We are all very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us as well as dining at our Lungta Restaurant. We look forward to welcome you at Shambaling in future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We loved every second of the 3 days we spent in this hotel.
What blew us away the most was the friendly staff, not just one staff member in particular but every single staff member were kind and approachable.
The garden view deluxe double room was so beautiful and clean with excellent hot showers!
What topped it off for us was the offer to have our room until we were to go to the airport at 7:30pm, which was going above and beyond for us.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience at Shambaling. We are all very happy to know that you enjoyed every second of the three days of your stay with us. It was indeed our pleasure to have you at Shambaling. We look forward to welcome you at Shambaling again.
Warm Regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My big luggage was not arriving when I arrive at Kathmandu at almost 12 midnight. The hotel manager is very helpful to assist me, keep calling the airport to check with the status of my luggage. Although it still made me waiting for whole day, compare to dealing with this type of incident by myself in Nepal, they had helped me shorter the waste of time. Thank you shambaling!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanahana44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. As a guest of Shambaling, we always take it as our responsibility to do the best we could to take care of our guest. It was our pleasure to be able to help you with your lost luggage. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hospitality as well.
we look forward to welcome you at Shambaling again.
Warm Regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Property: Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing