We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice away from busy Thamel area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good choice away from busy Thamel area”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Chose it for first night stay at start of Nepal/Bhutan trip. Despite having some trouble finding the hotel at 11pm at night (even with a local driver) the experience was nothing but exemplary from then on. Hotel has a converted Tibetan theme and the morning was greeted by a full breakfast on the sunny patio in the garden restaurant. Room was clean, comfortable and more than adequate. Staff at reception always solicitous, helpful and exhibit the courtesy so typical of the people of this country. I would without hesitation recommend this hotel to anyone who seek an affordable above average class of hotel with the proviso that arriving very late at night, unless you know where you are going, is the only potential hitch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for writing your review and we really appreciate that you recommend Shambaling to everyone. Absolutely, most of our guest enjoy eating in our garden with bird sound and in the peaceful ambiance. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are really sorry that you had difficulty finding the hotel on your way from the airport at night. As we are new, not all the local taxi drivers may know us but more and more are now familiar with Shambaling, so we hope our guest will not have such problem in future. If you have the Hotel phone number, requesting the taxi driver to call hotel directly to get direction will also help.

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    65
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
124
98
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you don't mind not being close to Thamel (about 30mins by car dep on traffic) this is an excellent hotel! It is neat and clean and the staff are super-helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We spent 2 nights there (one before and one after our trekking in the Annapurnas) they stored our excess luggage and shifted our bookings around when our dates changed. There are large rooms which are perfect for families with children, as they can add extra beds. The road getting there has quite a few pot-holes so not a smooth ride, but once you are there it is a haven from the chaos of Kathmandu. I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers who are more keen to see the sites of Kathmandu rather than laze about in a 5-star hotel, or who are just looking for a lovely clean spot for a quick overnight stay before flying onwards to trekking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich_Vintcent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Vintcent,

Thank you for your beautiful review. It is very good to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It was our pleasure to have you and your beautiful children at Shambaling. We will always try to keep up the quality of our service.

We look forward to welcome you and your family in future.

Regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Every now and again, you have the privilege of staying somewhere special.
I could go on and on about the standard of the rooms, the food, the peaceful garden and above all Suraj and his team of staff.
I have travelled to many countries in my 50 years, from some wonderful Youth Hostels in New Zealand to 5 Star luxury Hotels in Venice, Vienna and South Africa, small friendly guesthouses all over Asia and everything in between.
Sometimes a place just hits a "sweet spot" and when you look back on your photographs, if one of the places you stayed is up there amongst the Trek Piccys and the colours and smiles of the people of a land, then you know you have found somewhere you will return too again with absolute certainly - The Shambling is such a place.
I'm not going to write much more because my biggest fear is that I won't be able to get in next time I land in Nepal!
Joking aside though, everything that can be said about this wonderful hotel has been said in the other reviews here. I stayed in 8 different places during my 3 weeks in Nepal all of which I researched fully before booking - The Shambling was the Jewel in the Crown.
Thank you Suraj and all your team for looking after me me so well - It will not be the last time we meet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike0467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mike Stead,

We have your review posted on our staff notice board. We are all humbled by such appreciation for our service. The entire family of Shambaling ( Suraj and the team) would like to thank you for being such wonderful guest and taking the time to write your review.

Your feedback will definitely motivate us all to work harder to provide high quality service which is our main goal and make our guest feel at home during their stay at Shambaling.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you back in future.

Sincerely,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff made us feel very welcome from the minute we walked in. We were given a welcome drink and altho the kitchen was officially closed, we could still get some momo's for dinner in our room. The rooms are spacious and very basic, keeping the Buddhistic way and nature in mind. One of the staff members will tell you all about the room when you check in and this makes your stay here extra special. Breakfast is basic but good, served in the beautiful garden with prayer flags hanging everywhere. Again the staff was excellent. The only thing is the location of the hotel, it's far from "Tamel" and the Airport and most taxi drivers don't know this hotel, so make sure you bring your own map for the way back. (If your from Holland, bring some Tulip flower bulbs, they will love you for it!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liemtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Sander Sondervan,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. Every one of us at Shambaling work hard towards fulfilling every request from guest to make the stay feel at home. I have personally thanked our server (Bishwas) and the kitchen team for preparing the momo's after having closed the kitchen.

I am glad that you liked the simplicity of the room, with peaceful Buddhist feel and the color concept and room details explained by our staff.

Shambaling is located about 7 km (30 mins taxi drive) from the city center, at a more quieter place close to Boudhanath. But again we feel that Boudha (a world heritage site) has its own charm and ambiance and we wanted to bring that peace and serenity in Shambaling.

Best regards,
Jigme Phunstok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Shambaling means paradise garden and the hotel and its setting are exactly that amidst the noise and grime of Kathmandu. The rooms are simply furnished, but tastefully decorated and so very clean. The staff are the nicest and most hospitable that I have met on my travels around the world...........absolutely delightful! The garden is beautifully cared for and a haven of calm where super breakfasts, lunches and dinners can be enjoyed. The food is outstandingly good and well presented. It was wonderful to stay there and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try for a courtyard room. Kathmandu is overrun with barking, howling dogs and this area is no except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It is an honor for us to be mentioned "nicest and most hospitable that I have met on my travels around the world" in your review. Thank you very much for your review and staying with us. We shall always work towards maintaining a high level service.

Our aim is to make every guest feel at home during their stay at Shambaling and enjoy the peaceful ambiance with bird sounds in the garden. I am very happy you truly enjoyed the calmness of the place.

We look forward to welcoming you at Shambling in future.

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is my first stay at Hotel Shambaling. It is beautiful property, the staff will bend over backwards to help you. There are few drawbacks, at least for me. Thamel, which is a famous tourist area and where I have many friends, is at least 30 minutes by a nerve wraking taxi drive. Then there is the incessant barking of dogs. Day and night. It can drive one crazy. Lastly, there no air conditioning which might add to its charm. I don't know. Kathmandu can be hot from May - August. Sweating and not being able to sleep because of dogs barking does not appeal to me. But, it is the #1 rated hotel in Kathmandu, so maybe I'm being too picky. Oh they also have great hot water and never lack for electricity because of a generator.

Room Tip: Try to get one where you won't hear the barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasbandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Shambaling and we are very glad that you liked our property and we are always everyday trying to improve.

The location if refereed to Thamel then it is a 30 mins taxi ride, but for Boudha, it is wonderfully located. With some nice restaurants now in Boudha, its a pleasant 10 mins walk to Boudha. Dogs, i can understand this problem which is a common problem everywhere in Nepal.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your views which we really appreciate.

Sincerely,
Jigme Phunstok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our fifth trip to Nepal, and we have stayed in a number of hotels ranging from the luxurious to the not so luxurious! This hotel rates as one of the best. We stayed for three nights in a standard room, and were delighted on our return to the hotel after our trip to Pokhara that we were upgraded to a deluxe room, which was very good indeed. The deluxe room had more space, great mattress and bed linens, and tasteful furnishings.

But, most importantly, the staff were very good, most notably Tensing on reception. She was very helpful and friendly, and came across as a genuinely nice person.

We also much preferred the quieter surroundings, and the short, easy stroll to the Stupa. There are a number of restaurants there to chose from, including the newly opened Roadhouse pizzeria. Just so much quieter, calmer and less touristy than Thamel.

We shall be returning next year, and will definitely stay at the Shambaling.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking out the time to write with your views and your experience. We are very happy to know that your stay with us was pleasant and i shall convey your appreciation to Tenzing. She will be very happy to hear this.

We are also very thankful to you for mentioning us as "one of the best". This has motivated me and my team to keep the standard of Shambaling at the highest level.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best wishes,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Property: Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing