We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is a piece of tranquillity in an otherwise very hectic, but fantastic city... We booked this hotel for our first night in Kathmandu, before we went trekking. Following our trek we had a further 3 nights in Kathmandu before we flew home. Luckily we hadn't booked anywhere before arriving, so we promptly booked ourselves back into the Shambalings. From the moment we arrived we felt at home, which had a lot to do with the excellent reception staff, especially Tanzein. We were always greeted with a warm friendly smile and nothing was ever too much trouble. The hotel building itself and garden were beautiful. Breakfast in the garden is must! The room decor is bright, refreshing, and authentic and the shower was amazing after 6 days in the mountains. The restaurant food was always good and the breakfasts was great! We can't thank Binod enough for always being so attentive and looking after us, thank you:). I love this hotel and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Kathmandu. We are planning our return trip already.. The only problem we had was with the power sockets and the fact that some of the lamps, kettle, and fridge plugs did not fit into them and therefore they were pointless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Mary
Wow what a feed back. That’s exactly why we like to work hard and hope that all our guests are happy when they leave us. All the staff will be happy to hear from your feedback. We will also give your regards to Tenzin. Many thank also for your feedback about the power sockets. We will work on it and hope that at your next stay at Shambaling this problem will be solved.
We wish you nice memories and thanks again for visiting Nepal and staying with us.

Kind regards from the whole Shambaling-Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    62
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
55
118
90
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I know many hotels in Kathmandu, but this is one of the very best and in the area around Boudha just the place to stay. The rooms are spacious, clean, in a wonderfull Tibetan style furnished and the comfortable bed and the tropical shower special highlights even more. The Shambaling Hotel has a wonderful, quiet garden for eating, meeting, looking back or forward to the experiences in the amazing Kathmandu valley or just relaxing. In only about 10 minutes walk you can reach the great Boudha Stupa as well as many Tibetan monastries and also feel the local life. It is also a good stating point to visit many other sights. The staff and the service are very friendly and helpful. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Yeshichodon
First of all, many thanks that you stayed with Shambaling Hotel. We are very happy that you felt the Tibetan spirit at Shambaling. That’s exactly what we like to achieve. It was our dream to combine Tibetan element with modern hotel hospitality.
As you know the concept of the Shambaling Hotel is based on the Kalachakra Mandala, at the Shambaling Hotel symbolized with different color concepts each floor.
We will also forward your feedback to our staff. They will be very happy knowing, that you liked their service.

We are looking forward to have back at Shambaling
Kind regards & Tashi Delek

Dawa S. (Swissdawa)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here on our last night and were more than satisfied. We had a beautiful decorated Deluxe room which was very big and totally clean. In the hotel and its surroundings you are feeling the Tibetan spirit. There is a peaceful garden where you also can enjoy breakfast and dining. The hotel is quietly located and far away from any main road. With an interesting walk of about 10 minutes you can reach the unique Baudha Stupa. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpful, also in providing good information not concerning the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yeshichodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Sorry this reply should be for you !!

Dear Yeshichodon
First of all, many thanks that you stayed with Shambaling Hotel. We are very happy that you felt the Tibetan spirit at Shambaling. That’s exactly what we like to achieve. It was our dream to combine Tibetan element with modern hotel hospitality.
As you know the concept of the Shambaling Hotel is based on the Kalachakra Mandala, at the Shambaling Hotel symbolized with different color concepts each floor.
We will also forward your feedback to our staff. They will be very happy knowing, that you liked their service.

We are looking forward to have back at Shambaling
Kind regards & Tashi Delek

Dawa S. (Swissdawa)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASHINGTON DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is no other hotel like this one in Kathmandu....it is a great oasis in Boudha. Very quiet, clean, good food and service. The rooms are stylishly designed with nice quality linens (a rarity among even Kathmandu's 5 star hotels) and a very relaxed atmosphere. Great value as well....just a small walk down a back alley to the stupa....very nice place and one of a kind in Kathmandu.....

Room Tip: Choose a garden-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIZZZZZZZZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dera Guest
Many thanks that you stayed with us. We are very happy that you had a great time at Shambaling. Feedback like yours makes us very very happy. It tells us that we are on the right way and motivates us to work even harder to keep that standard. And since you are a Tripadvisor-senior contributor your judgment has great value for us.

You are right, the linen we are using, are the same as many 5* hotels using in India. We feel that a nice sleep is most important and gives you good dreams

I will also forward your comment to our staff, as the high service-standard is a result of all our staff.

Looking forward to have you again at Shambaling Hotel.
Kind regards from the whole Shambaling –family.

Tashi Delek
Dawa S. (Swissdawa)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neckarsulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I never expected such a silent place in the middle of Kathmandu. The garden is a wonderful place to sit and just to enjoy after travelling through Nepal and especially after a day at Kathmandus bazar. A perfect place for relaxing. The rooms are very clean, nice and big...however finally the best thing was the hot rain-fall/shower after the long flight and after the trek...I loved it. In the evening we decided not to go out because we were so tired after the flight therfore we had dinner in the garden ... we had a really great and wonderful meal. However most of all the positve thinks was the hospitality and the very warm welcome. Especially the women and men at the reception, was so nice an helpful..thanks a lot! actually I wanted to stay there for one night however after the 1st night I decided to enlarge for 3 other days...the Shambaling hotel is my little "Zauberberg" :-)...Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Andreas
Many thanks that you stayed with us. Yes many of our guests are surprised to find such a quit place in Kathmandu. Yes and the rain shower, I think we are the only Hotel in Kathmandu, which has this. It was my personal wish to have it in our showers, as I know from my trips all around the world how relaxing it is.
We are happy to forward your feedback to all our staff.

Kind regards and see you again in Kathmandu.

Dawa S. (Swissdawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Enjoing breakfast in the wellkept garden of the Shambaling before setting out for new andventures or after coming back from the Kora at the Boudha Stupa is a perfect start of a day. And coming "home" from sight-seeing it is a real plasure to relax in the garden or in the tastfully furnished room from the noise and dirt of Kathmandu's roads. It is a quiet oasis, interrupted only by the coo of pigons, the soothing sound of the "waterfall" and from time to time the subduesd sound of drums and horns from a monastery. The restaurant serves very good food. We shall not forget the Nepali thali. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We mean real friendly, not a frozen smile or an artificial bow. In short: When Kathmandu, then Shambaling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stucky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Stuck D.
First of all many thanks that you stayed with us. Feeling like coming home is exactly our goal and we are happy that you had this experience. I will also forward your comment to our staff. They really like to serve to our clients deep from the heart, always knowing that you spend your most value time with us. SO when you are happy we are also happy (-:

Looking forward to have you again at Shambaling Hotel.
Kind regards from the whole Shambaling –family.

Dawa Sigrist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed there for one night before heading to Pokhara. Very nice and hospitable staff, clean rooms, good food. Nothing much to complain about when it comes to service. Location is not so great and most taxi drivers are not familiar with the hotel. We wasted so much time driving around looking for the hotel (even with the location map printed on the back of its business card). Price is on the high side when comparing to other locally managed hotels.

Overall, not a highly recommended hotel for short stays in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Furious111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
First of all many thanks that you stayed with us. We are very very happy about your feedback „Great hospitality” and that you were happy with our service. We regret to learn, that the taxi driver had difficulty to find Shambaling. We understand that after a long journey this was a hassle for you. As we are a newly opened Hotel we are award, that some of the taxi drivers still have difficulty to find us. Shambaling is located in a very quiet area not fare from the famous Boudha stupa (just 10 min. walk) and not on a dusty stinky main road. This is something what most of our clients really like. We will also reprint the business card and do a better location map.

Many thanks again for staying with. Hope to see you again at Shambaling and would like to invite you for a drink next time.
Kind regards
Dawa Sigrist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Property: Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing