We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Hotel Access Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Access Nepal
Ranked #44 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Our guide company booked this 3-star hotel on our behalf and we were pleasantly surprised at its cleanliness and location when we got here. Right smack in the middle of Thamel, the hotel is just a few minutes walk away from many recommended restaurants, money exchanges, shops and bars. The hotel staff are very friendly, checking up on us everyday if we would like to have our room cleaned. You can even change your USD here at a better rate. Do note that there are occasional power cuts which may affect aircon supply, but that is very common in Nepal. Nights can get really noisy too with all the vehicles honking and traffic police blowing their whistles which will not be conducive for any light sleeper, but all hotels in Thamel would be experiencing the same thing. I will recommend this place!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank cherypoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 328 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel through a guide company. We asked for 2-3 star accommodation. The room was better than expected as we set our standards low. Aircon worked a treat, decent size room, wifi worked well, had hot water and western toilets. You get your money's worth.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were very well taken care of for our entire journey around Nepal. All our trips and sight seeing was booked through this hotel so we didn't need to worry about a thing. I can't rate this hotel and staff highly enough!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Access before and after our trek, 5 nights in total. We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful, and our rooms were spacious and clean. The location is great. Breakfast is served on a lovely roof terrace, and our only quibble is the range of food, which was not really to our taste. The omelettes were delicious, but some good quality bread and cereal would be really welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family_hakkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for staying with us as well as spending your valuable time to write on T.A. we are glad that you like our hotel and surely we will follow your suggestion. I am sure that you will meet your expectation and enjoy your stay more if you will choose us again. Wish you all the very best. Thank you.
Best Regards,
Subash & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Access after a week trekking for 4 nights. I found all the male staff unhelpful. They showed no emotion and were not approachable. One female who worked on the front counter was pleasant. My room was never cleaned once, the breakfast was cold, the wifi was substandard, making organising further activities more difficult. The 60 channel tv had terrible reception. The electricity went off a minimum 3 times each day (not the hotels fault) but never warned of this while paying a premium for this area. Luckily it wasn't the middle of summer. Can't flush toilet paper. Basket provided. Normally not an issue, but when your room hasn't been cleaned for 4 days and your showering alongside the waste, it makes it unsatisfactory. Many cheaper options just up the road, literally. 4% MasterCard/Visa charge. Room charged in USD but converted to the Nepalese Rupee at their inflated exchange rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward1981honda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, As I collect your details from my front desk concerning your review, you stayed on 3 rd June 14, on the 4th, while you are going out A lady from front desk ask for cleaning your room, Informant of me ( I was at the information desk if you remember) you replied, "I am absolutely fine, no need, Thank you" 5th also you did not ask for the cleaning, we do not enter the guest room for cleaning any other propose with out permission of Guest. My self in your room to set the password on your I Phone ( Room 407) and was working absolutely fine, ( Please remember) on the 6th you checked out very early but agin you came back mid day to our hotel due to your flight was cancel to Lukla and you got a another clean room not the same room that you had left. I was happy that you came back to us even there are 100 of hotels in Thamel who offer cheaper than us in this off season and you are paying 40 + taxes to us in Deluxe room including your breakfast which is much less than the tariff rate, Yes, our bank charge 4 % Extra for the card which is written in the front desk but you might have not saw this note on your 4 night stay, as we also had offer you to pay by cash withdrawing by ATM which is just in front of our hotel but you are not agree and would like to pay by card. If you please return to us, you will not get any chance to complain, for sure.
Regards,
Subash & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Access on 20th to 22nd May with Family. Located at prime spot of Thamel. Its a fantastic hotel, Rooms are superb, big and well maintained.
Hospitality and Services were superb. The manger Mr. Dhruv was very caring.
Stayed at #408 so the roof top resturant was the best place for us to spend time till late night.
Food was mind blowing, exactly like home cooked Indian food. Thanks to the Chef Mr. Yuvaraj he has cooked specially for us.
My family and me felt like staying at home and having home cooked food. We have really enjoyed.
Thanks to the owner Mr. Shubhas who was so humble and good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DASARPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Sir,
First of all thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your holiday in Kathmandu, we are really glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am so glad that you found all of our staff helpful as well as you like the food of our Kitchen. I had already shared this review with all my Staff and cook Uvraj. I hope you will choose our hotel and recommend your friend to us. we wish you all the very best and good luck for your every steps. Thank you.
Best Regards,
Subash & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

As part of our tour accommodations, we were dropped off at Hotel Access Nepal on two occasions, at the beginning and the end of the trip. Both times, we have 1 night stay over and both nights in different rooms.

The hotel is located at the end of a big artery off the main Thamel street. Although, to be completely honest, that is as helpful as trying to describe a particular leaf on a particular branch of a particular tree. On top of that, the hodgepodge of the Thamel district also does make it confusing to find. Luckily for first time visitors, the hotel is one of the taller buildings in its surroundings, so do keep a lookout for its prominent signages in blue with white lettering. (See pics below)




The Good:

Arguably the best thing about the hotel is its LOCATION. It is right smack in the middle of all the action, especially if you are in Nepal for its star tourist attraction, mountain trekking. The area boasts over a hundred shops selling trekking equipment at competitive prices. This is the place to whip out your bargaining skills, and wrangle a good deal for both yourself and the shopkeepers. Most of them speak fluent English, and are very amicable.

Apart from trekking supplies, other amenities also include a well stocked supermarket with all the creature comforts of home, from shampoos to snacks to laundry detergent to phone chargers. Dotted in the area are also a few bookshops, bars, many affordable restaurants, postal services, camera shops and tour agencies. Ok, enough about Thamel.

The hotel in itself is quite unique because it is housed in a "compound" with several other establishments like a bakery/restaurant, a smaller shopping mart, bookshop, money changer and bike shop. There is a central courtyard which is closed with a main roll-down shutter each evening with a guard standing by, so we did appreciate the extra security, especially coming back a bit late at night.

Both of the rooms we got (304 and 507, respectively) was comfortable, with two single beds, flat screen TV, a small sitting area, and excellent water pressure. The hot water was also reliable, although there was no bathtub as some past reviewers have mentioned. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, the signal being quite strong in both rooms. That was a major plus point!

Breakfast is standard fare, with a few local additions. The Nepalese diet is not big on meat, so do expect dry curries, sautéed veggie, potatoes and fritters in the morning. If that is too heavy, you can have your eggs, cooked the way you like it, as well as oats, pancakes and toast with jam/butter. We noticed that when occupancy is full, the breakfast is prepared as a buffet. The second time round, with fewer guests, our food orders were taken instead, and there were lesser food items available to choose from.




The Not-so Good:

If this is your first time in Kathmandu, do be mentally prepared for the dust. Everything in our room, from our bedding, curtains, furniture and floor has a fine layer of reddish brown dust on it. We're not sure if it is off the streets, blown in from when they air the room, or just lack of good housekeeping but it did feel a bit weird to have to wash our hands and feet every few minutes. We stopped wearing our white socks too, for obvious reasons.

Most of the hotels in Nepal also practice a power cut routine. Even after 12 days in Nepal, we were not sure if it was a city-specific ruling or just means to save costs, but twice each day for about 4 hrs each, do be prepared for these power cuts in the hotel. There is a day-specific schedule that the front desk will gladly share with you, but the biggest gripe is that when it cuts off in the middle of the night, it also means your electronics will cease to charge. No TV and air conditioning as well during these power outages. However, if it is dire, it is possible to urge the front desk to activate their generator. Our best advice is to invest in a good powerbank, we have our trusty 50 000 mAH bank which was a life-saver, both during these power cuts, and while we are out on treks.




The Bad:

The hotel is pretty dated by normal standards, but for Nepal it is definitely acceptable. One big area that we would suggest for improvement would be the lobby/reception area. Even during the day time, it is quite dark and dingy. Since check-in time is quite late, this means there are quite a lot of people squeezed in there waiting around in a space that can get quite stuffy.

The lobby is also poorly laid out, with a smaller porter/reception desk about 1 meter in from the front door, and also a fish tank on the right hand side of the door. With travellers often lugging big trekking backpacks and luggage, this area is a major bottleneck. Surprisingly for the size of the lobby, it can only fit about 10 people, not counting the luggage/backpacks. This results in a very messy/cluttered entrance. We really do feel with a bit of better lighting and finetuning, the lobby can be improved to become a more inviting as well as functional space.

One major gripe is also the noise level. As mentioned, the windows are fitted with a casement that offers soundproofing. But even when closed properly, we found we could still hear music from nearby bars and cars honking from the 5th floor at night. We had a feeling this was less about the actual noise, but the structure of the building, with the courtyard space and surrounding walls producing loud echoes of the noise. We personally found it really hard to tune it out, and needless to say it did affect our sleep quality even though we were not light sleepers.

This was definitely not a good thing, especially when we were supposed to be out and about before 7am the next day. Generally all activities start early in Nepal, whether you are going sightseeing or travelling outside kathmandu for treks, so sleep was quite important to ensure a good start for the next day.




Conclusion

There are some rough edges to the hotel, it is not all bed and roses, we're afraid to say. But if you are willing to overlook these minor shortcomings or dutifully prepare yourself for it (with powerbanks, earplugs, maybe even a small mop) there is no better location to chose while in Kathmandu, especially if you are just in for one or two nights stay.

Room Tip: Do request a higher floor (top floor is 5) to have a nice vantage of the Thamel streets. Also availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with u s as well as thanks for your time to reviewed our hotel. Really glad to read full of experience about your two night staying ( one before the trek and one after the trek) at our hotel. We thanks to you that you choose our hotel even you did not had very comfortable stay. We request our valuable clients that for to avoid the dust there are windows and doors for close and open wile you go out, we are also confuse that which dust you mention (Just got to know by your review after two years of running this hotel), we do have every days 24 HRS housekeeping support. While we do have dry season we do not have power for up to 14 HRS out of 24 HRS, up to 7 HRS we give generator back up to reduce the power cuts, but when there is no power, light, wi-fi, phone, power plug to charge working 24 HRS non of the hotel in Thamel can provide 24 HRS power back for the A/C, Lift and Plasma TV, should choose 4 to 5 Star Hotel based on your review but there is a huge different of cost between our hotel and 4 to 5 star, Also would like to point that in Normal hotel do not have elevator ( Lift), will not get wooden floor room, not get sound proof casement windows, not get the Plasma T.V, Bath, Tub, Buffet Breakfast, Balcony rooms with chairs and table. Hair dryer, A/C, as well as power backup for Generator and battery. We think the rates of our hotel is fair enough for these service and I defiantly note and follow your suggestion and improve my service, for sure not give you the chance to complain for your next visit at our hotel. I wish you all the very best and good luck for your every step.
Best Regards,
Subash & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#32 of 210 in Kathmandu
669 reviews
0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 210 in Kathmandu
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#13 of 210 in Kathmandu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Access Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Access Nepal

Address: Chaksibari Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $30 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Access Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Access Nepal is positioned in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu. Youfeel the pulse of Kathmandu from the comfort and tranquility of the hotel's spacious interiors. Further more airport, markets, and historical place like all just a stone's throw away, It will be difficult to find a better location in the city. Historical place like Kathmandu Durbar Square and SwymbhuNathstupa (monkey temple) are also within walking distance. Book your stay with us one of affordably priced Economy, Standard, Deluxe or Family rooms and you can save your time and money to spend on other things during your trip like shopping, exploring the city and excursions of Kathmandu. Hotel Access Nepal will fulfill all your stay requirements witharound the clock room service and superb range of amenities and facilities including laundry services, in-room large screen TVs, and high-speed internet available through out the hotel. Our friendly staff is always just a call away and will help you to explore Nepal by recommending the best sight-seeing spots and attractions in the vicinity. All told, Hotel Access Nepal is not just a place to stay - it provides the ideal platform to savor the true essence of Kathmandu in the shortest of time spans! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Access Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing