We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong recommendation !”
Review of Hotel Access Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Access Nepal
Ranked #36 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with my family at Hotel Nepal Access. The location of the hotel is excellent in the heart of Thamel (heart of Kathmanudu). Very friendly staff and co operative management, always willing to help and guide properly. It is located in the most happening area, (so, noisy) but with the U-pvc doors and windows, after closing it remains calm during night. Well maintained rooms and clean bathrooms with 24 hours hot water facility helped us remain fresh all the time. It was election time and ''Bandh"' was announced by some local political group, so no taxis. We wanted to go for sight seeing, so the manager offered us his personal car (somehow we didn't use it).
We strongly recommend this hotel, if you are travelling with family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Jay,
Thank you so much for staying with us as well as giving your feedback about us. As I noted, that was your second visit with us with your family. It was our great pleasure to serve you again and I am very glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. I would love to welcome you at our hotel for your third visit. wish you all the very best and good luck.
With Smile
Subash & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 318 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I at this hotel for around ten night overall with my sister and father as we were in Kathmandu to attend a wedding. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable but we found the rooms were a bit small. We were informed that the rooms were soundproof but we could hear music from the nearby bars until late at night. Probably I would recommend shower curtains in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all, we really thanks to you so much that you staid ten night at our hotel and we noticed that staid again one night more after returning back from India. we were so glad to serving you and hope you will choose us again if you make a plan to visit Kathmandu again,
we had install the sound proof windows and doors and request all our guest to close it properly with bend the handle until it close hardly, Even request all our guest to close the doors of rest room to avoid the noise. we also have many rooms with shower curtain, we are sorry that you we did not provide you the room with shower curtain, Next time, surely we provide you the room with shower curtain, All the very best for your next step.
Best Regards,
Subash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Access Nepal was great. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality but reasonably priced hotel to stay at in Kathmandu. The location is great center easily walk able every wearer tourist shops Restaurant easy to find the taxi where ever you like to go.

The rooms were spotless & well appointed & we had no problems with hot water during our stay. Our Rooms 501 had balcony with great city view. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was good & varied too. It was number one!!

Mr. Subash who tried to do everything to make us feel comfortable in the hotel, also he provided good information and suggestions for our Sightseeing tour and Mountain Flight booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anish_singh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for staying with us during your travel in Kathmandu, It was our great pleasure to serving you. We are very glad to read that you had a comfortable staying with us and there was not any problem. I hope you will choose us again if you will have next visit in Kathmandu, Wish you all the very best.
Best Regards,
Subash & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed with companion for 2 nights in a deluxe room in December 13 after some trekking in the mountains.

the location is good, staffs are friendly and helpful in the beginning. it can get a little noisy in the night but we were fine with it.

our real problems started on the first night (went out for much of the day) when we tried to take a shower. had the water running for 15 mins and still no hot water. called the reception and they sent a guy up promptly. he on the tap for another 5 mins before the ice cold water became a little warm. i thought it will get warmer but it did not. the water was simply not hot, just warm. both of us had a quick shower and we turned in for the first night. set the AC to heater mode but air was not warm.(not cold too)

woke up in the morning and had cold air blowing at us. the AC heat was not working well. my companion caught a slight cold as a result. we feedback to the reception and they promised us to have the problems fixed. so we went out for the day and got back in the evening.

to our disappointment, there was still no hot water and the AC heat was not working. called the reception and they sent a guy up, left the water running, and started pressing on the AC remote control, switching modes here and there, not really doing much. he said we gotta wait for 1 hour for the hot water but couldn't fixed the AC.

1 hour later the water was still ice cold. i went down to the reception again. the supervisor claimed that the hot water was fixed so i got him up to my room and see for himself. up there he did the same thing as the previous guy - totally a waste of our time. he offered a change of room but upon checking, there was no hot water in that room too! he claimed that the maintenance team had fixed the problem and he will call them up to fix the problem.

it was getting late and we wanted to rest so i told him to forget it and we forgo the shower and slept in our sleeping bags for the night. the supervisor suggested we took it up with the manager in the morning.

next morning we spoke with the manager and he was very defensive about the hotel, claiming that 'this problem never happened before" and we were the only guest complaining. he told us to wait for an hour as the maintenance team are working on it.

we requested a late check out as our flight was in the night. the manager was kind enough to gave us the room till the evening and promised to have the hot water fixed so that we can freshen up before our flight back.

so we went out for the day and come back the in the evening. surprise surprise, still no hot water. felt ripped off that a hotel like this cant fulfill a basic need, i spoke to the supervisor and asked for a discount. he called the manager who came and started to shout at me saying "what kind of guest you are" that i am a cheapo who complained so much just to get a discount. he added that he is kind enough to give us a late check out for free, even if there is not hot water, its not his problem.

it totally defeats the purpose of having one if we cant freshen up.) we rather paid to go to another guest house or hotel that have hot shower that stay there for free without hot shower.

the manager pointed fingers at me, shouted at me, claimed i insulted him when all i said was the hotel rooms are cold. totally unprofessional, almost crazy.

Good luck if anyone is gonna stay there. it's only good if there are no problems. if there were, the staffs cannot really handle them well.

Really the worst hotel stay for me. the tea houses on our trekking route had better service than Hotel Access.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fongcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for its excellent location in the heart of Thamel and string of good reviews. The rooms were good and on paper had everything we wanted that was within our budget. Air conditioning, attached bathrooms, strong wifi, good location etc. To give honest credit, this is a good hotel if everything worked as it should have. I will change my rating to 4 of 5 stars at least.

In the 2 nights of our stay, the air conditioning (heater) was not working and it's cold at night, neither was the hot water shower. We were not able to have a hot shower even before checking out.

Things happen and we could all use a little empathy. But the staff were unable to rectify the issues, much less able to handle the cases on both nights well. The management also failed to pacify us either except to allow us a late check out as we had a night flight to catch (which was our request). The air conditioning was finally fixed before I checked out but I no longer had a need for it by then. So it's water under the bridge. The hot water was left unfixed. The staff blamed it on the power failure that affected the entire city the night before. There were zero apologies about it.

We wasted a lot of time trying to get the staff to rectify the faults instead of exploring the colourful streets of Thamel and were disappointed each time. We did not pay the full quoted rate for the room. In my opinion, you shouldn't be charging the full rate if the room cannot deliver what it has promised (Besides, I am also aware that we were also quoted higher rates than some other customers, who enquired over the counter)

This is a worse off experience than I had while trekking where my guide offered to get the kitchen to boil some hot water for us when the hot water ran out at the tea houses in the midst of a shower.

On hindsight, things would be very different if they could have just been honest about the problem, apologized for the inconvenience caused and given us a discount for a room that failed to deliver despite several attempts to rectify by several people.

With such poor customer service management and responses, I don't think I will be back here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank dinnosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
We got the two review written by you with terrible marks , Thank you, Actually you want to have boiled water from the tap, hot enough is not ok for you, and because of A/C I suggested you to change the room but you do not want, you want to stay at our hotel for free because of not boiled water runs from the tap and A/C was not working properly, instead of free staying I had provided you the room until 9:PM with out any charge and gave you discount for two night. we were sorry that we were not able to make you happy.
Regards,
Subash & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here in November before and after a trek in Nepal. Location is excellent - right in the heart of Thamel with every possible type of shop, restaurant, bar, travel agencies etc. right there. Staff were friendly and co-operative - when I needed to move rooms, they were happy to accommodate. The rooftop restaurant had a good enough menu for breakfast. Wi-fi was free and worked pretty well. The other main thing was they have backup generator so the power never went out during the frequent load shedding/power cuts in Kathmandu.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank skyland25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Just in the center of the Thamel. There are lots of restaurants,a supermarket and a bread shop. Room is clean with good hot water. Mgr responsed email very quickly and provide one way free airport pick up if you booked 2 nights room. But we want to say: this area is too noisy. People talking,truck working and club singing over midnight. Do not recommend to those who do not sleep well.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ying Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#62 of 207 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#30 of 207 in Kathmandu
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Access Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Access Nepal

Address: Chaksibari Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $32 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Access Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Access Nepal is positioned in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu. Youfeel the pulse of Kathmandu from the comfort and tranquility of the hotel's spacious interiors. Further more airport, markets, and historical place like all just a stone's throw away, It will be difficult to find a better location in the city. Historical place like Kathmandu Durbar Square and SwymbhuNathstupa (monkey temple) are also within walking distance. Book your stay with us one of affordably priced Economy, Standard, Deluxe or Family rooms and you can save your time and money to spend on other things during your trip like shopping, exploring the city and excursions of Kathmandu. Hotel Access Nepal will fulfill all your stay requirements witharound the clock room service and superb range of amenities and facilities including laundry services, in-room large screen TVs, and high-speed internet available through out the hotel. Our friendly staff is always just a call away and will help you to explore Nepal by recommending the best sight-seeing spots and attractions in the vicinity. All told, Hotel Access Nepal is not just a place to stay - it provides the ideal platform to savor the true essence of Kathmandu in the shortest of time spans! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Access Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing