We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard but noisy”
Review of Hotel Access Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Access Nepal
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“High standard but noisy”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very good hotel with big, clean, modern rooms and friendly and helpfull staff. Unfortunatly the location is in the middle of Thamel, and therefore it is very noisy. Especially in the evening you will hear the live concerts until they stop playing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seal274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review. we highly recommend our valuable guest to close their windows and doors properly specially the rooms which are bit closer to the road. The doors and windows are double glazed and air tiete which cut of the noise 90 percent. Thank you.
Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    86
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
67
87
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed a total of 15 nights over two periods and really liked the hotel. The rooms are basic, but very clean. Nepal has issues with power which is off a lot of hours during the day. The hotel does its best to keep the rooms well lit.

The wifi is good however only on the third and fourth floor so if you need/want it insist on a high room as the second floor gets almost no signal.

Breakfast is good with eggs/fruit/yoghurt/toast and some asian hot dishes.

One thing to note is that this hotel is right in the middle of centre which means some noise at night. If you prefer quiteness than this place might not suit you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review with the very good marks. we always follow our guest comment and reviews so we try to maintain our hotel for comfortable staying. we do have 3 Router for Wifi one for Lobby, one for 4th and 5th floor and one 2nd and 3rd floor, three different has 3 User name and they all have full tower where they located, our clients has to log on the right user on the which floor that they are staying. it is fibber cable with dedicated line has 1 MB speed.
I also would like to suggest all my clients to lock their windows and door of bathroom properly for block the sound because they are sound proof and read the notice in room for comfortable staying. Thanks a lot for staying with us and I would like assure you to make more comfortable for next staying with us .
Warm Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Centrally located in Thamel. This hotel gives very good value for the rate they charge. Rooms and bathrooms were quite bigger than I expected. Beds are firm and comfortable. Facilities are basic, nothing fancy but clean and serviceable. A/c was working perfectly. Rooms are cleaned and linens changed daily. The towels though were not fresh-smelling. Free breakfast was filling although not too varied.

Worth mentioning are the sincere and helpful hotel staff that made our 6 night stay just pleasant.

Thank you Hotel Access ! Till our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cucinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

the rooms in this hotel are good and they are neat and tidy. they are affordable too. they provide a good service and the men are helpful. definitely it is a good place to stay in. we enjoyed our stay there.hope others too enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priyaa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for your support as well as review with excellent mark. It was our great pleasure to serving you. I hope to see you again. wish you all the very best for your next steps. Thank you.
Best Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

What does one want in a hotel? Cleanliness, peace, service, quality. At least those are the things I was looking for when I chose Access Nepal. I must say that the hotel did not disappoint me on any of those counts; in fact it was beyond my expectations. A smiling, ever-obliging and accommodating staff, led by Mr. Subhash, is always around when you need them. The sweet and courteous people at the reception embody everything that Nepalese hospitality stands for. We got spotlessly clean sheets, towels and linen, which is a critical factor for me. Hot and cold water was running 24 hours in the brand new bathroom, there was good air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and the room service works at lightening speed. I had read in a previous review that there's noise from the street. I kept waiting to hear it for 5 days, but there was none! And the unbeatable location -- this is right in the center of Thamel, so it is the most happening place in the city. I give full marks to the hotel for everything. If I had to give one suggestion - it would be to change the breakfast menu a bit every two days. While the breakfast is very good and wholesome - with cereals, eggs, breads, fruit, juices, coffee and tea etc - some changes would be good for those who are staying for 4-5 days like me. This was just a minor suggestion, otherwise the hotel is FANTASTIC. I will never stay anywhere else except Access Nepal if I visit KTM, and I strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaajaaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for staying with us as well as your great support and review with Excellent Mark. we are so glad to serving you. we defiantly improve and change the breakfast as you suggested . Your suggestion is so valuable for us and will help for us to upgrade our business. Once again Thank you very much for your support. All the very best for your and your family.
Best regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I can't say its the best hotel but I can hardly think of anything to complain. Staff was brilliant, location was slightly more than brilliant as it was right in the center of Thamel and every sight in main Kathmandu was at a walking distance. nice rooftop restaurant but nothing really to see around unless you are interested to see Thamel from 5th floor. Just keep in mind that lift does not work when electricity is out but that is very common in Kathmandu, so I suggest stay on lower floors.

TV wasn't working the night I wanted to watch football and it was late at night so they couldn't fix it and hot water is just warm water and does not qualify to be hot in the shower.

Room Tip: Lower floor as lifts don't work during electricity load shedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The exterior of this hotel looks simple, and as we walk up to our room, the stairways and corridors of each level look rundown, dusty, and dirty. However, we were surprised to find clean, big room, a huge bed, and a big balcony.

There was no table or chairs at the balcony, and it was pretty dusty too. Bathroom was also clean and hot shower was really good! Breakfast was small spread but food was quite good. The only downside is that the hotel was located in busy Thamel, so expect the noise till at around 11pm.. Shutting the windows completely did help to block out the sound a little, so it was still bearable. Wifi connection was pretty lousy, and could barely be accessed when you stand really close to the windows. The routers are fixed to the outside of the building. We experienced blackout during our stay, but the hotel has cleverly used backup generator in the bathroom, so even when there's a blackout while you are showering, you wouldn't panic!

The staffs were also very friendly and courteous, who would greet and smile at you when they see you. It makes you feel welcomed.

The restaurant at the 2nd level has pretty good food. We tried before their butter chicken masala, naan,fried rice, fried momos, and all were pretty good! It was slightly more expensive compared to the ones outside, but we didn't have as tasty food!

Overall a good and comfortable stay in busy and dusty Thamel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your staying with us as well as great review, we took note your suggestion and would like to share with you that had installed the fibber cable for the high speed internet as well as fast service. About the interior, Tiles and bricks of the hotel has black mark and red mark so it looks dirt but normally not. All the balcony we have chairs and table, we are sorry that you did not got one. I will note all your suggestion and surely improve all, I am 100% sure that you will have much better time for next stay at my hotel. Thank you so much,
Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#30 of 203 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#52 of 203 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#31 of 203 in Kathmandu
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 203 in Kathmandu
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 203 in Kathmandu
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#20 of 203 in Kathmandu
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Access Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Access Nepal

Property: Hotel Access Nepal
Address: Chaksibari Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Access Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Access Nepal is positioned in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu. Youfeel the pulse of Kathmandu from the comfort and tranquility of the hotel's spacious interiors. Further more airport, markets, and historical place like all just a stone's throw away, It will be difficult to find a better location in the city. Historical place like Kathmandu Durbar Square and SwymbhuNathstupa (monkey temple) are also within walking distance. Book your stay with us one of affordably priced Economy, Standard, Deluxe or Family rooms and you can save your time and money to spend on other things during your trip like shopping, exploring the city and excursions of Kathmandu. Hotel Access Nepal will fulfill all your stay requirements witharound the clock room service and superb range of amenities and facilities including laundry services, in-room large screen TVs, and high-speed internet available through out the hotel. Our friendly staff is always just a call away and will help you to explore Nepal by recommending the best sight-seeing spots and attractions in the vicinity. All told, Hotel Access Nepal is not just a place to stay - it provides the ideal platform to savor the true essence of Kathmandu in the shortest of time spans! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Access Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing