We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An "Upscale" Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Access Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Access Nepal
Ranked #42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An "Upscale" Gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This boutique hotel is not luxury in the sense of a Crowne Plaza. It is, however, LUXURY for the trendy Thamel area of Kathmandu. The management here goes over the top with excellent customer service. Everything is close by and easy to "ACCESS". Our breakfast was included each day and we were quite pleasantly surprised at the fare. It was fresh, delicious and our "cook to order" eggs were cooked to perfection! The manager also arranged for a car to take us anyplace which was not in walking distance and allowed us to charge it to our room. This simple gesture allowed us not to have to fuss with converting currency for each taxi ride.

We had a balcony room where we overlooked the busy street. The people watching was fantastic! At night we listened to live music from the club next door. The hotel has a very central location with a grocer, a liquor store, an adventure travel agency and a bakery all at the doorstep of the hotel.

The area is bustling from 9AM to 11PM. It is an interesting practice - the power is cut off for 6 to 8 hours at a time, twice per day - through out Kathmandu. The major businesses all have generators for essential items, this included our bathroom light and one light in the bedroom. The locals hardly notice and after the first night, neither did we. When the power went out on our last day there, we went to a spa - the masseuse had her own power in those hands of hers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - the price difference is minimal and the benefits are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Falls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you so much for your staying with us as well as Thanks a lot and for this review. Your feed back will always support a lot to our business and help to inspire more to provide more better service. I hope to see you again. wish you all the very best.
Best Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    83
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
64
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

the location is great
the rooms are very good
the bathroom is really clean
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel
I really recommend this hotel as a place to stay in nepal
free wifi in all the hotel is a good thing also.
the bathroom was maybe the best we had in the whole trip, and there was a flat screen tv on the room, we didnt use it, but i know for some people that´s important.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staying in this hotel was great, Comfort bed, nice breakfast, helpful staff are the Plus point, The rooms come with wooden floor with Large TV. power back up is there with good Internet. Hot water is there for all the time,
Rav, DH

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ravi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were referred to this hotel due to our booking in Pokhara. The hotel is centrally located in Kathmandu and at the heart of Thamel, shopping district. This saves a lot of time and effort since most of the shopping is within walkable distance. Due to the central location the place is obviously congested and a lot of touts around to beware of ! The hotel staff are really very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The buffet breakfast is really good and access to good restaurants, grocery shopping makes the location a big plus. The room was neat and clean however small for two adults with luggages leaving little moving space, the bath, toilet were clean. I will recommend this hotel to people who want easy access to city centres, shopping and who are interested in making their travel plans in Nepal or late night partying, however will warn people who look for excellent scenic views or quiet stay.. But definitely worth a try to experience the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu City!!!!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijraj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Earplugs are a necessity when staying at this hotel, as it is located at the probably noisiest corner in Thamel. Earplugs come in handy for breakfast, too, as the hotel's electricity generator is placed next to the breakfast terrace. Forget about a quiet morning meal, or a breakfast conversation with your spouse! My room was reasonably clean upon arrival. No cleaning during the 4-day stay. An agreement to extend check-out time for extra payment was broken by the management as soon as the need for an extra room arised, causing an unpleasant ending of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuttus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review, As we have notice in our every room that you have to ask for the room cleaning, You did not asked, even we ask you did not replied anything. You promice for check out at 6 PM, did not noted that our check time is before 12 Noon and you checked out from the hotel at 7:30 PM. we did not charge you any single USD for that even in this high season. You did not closed your windows properly during your sleeping, as we have 85 % sound proof windows. We will surely improve the problem as you have mention and make you happy in your next stay with us.
Thanks and Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my family and everything was fine. All hotels in Kathmandu have a few hours a day no power but the nice thing was that the internet worked even then, very convenient. Location is fantastic, in the heart of Thamel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AthitD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for staying with us as well as your review with excellent mark. It was our pleasure to serving you. your review is so much valuable for us. Hope to see you soon,
Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is indeed very well located in the centre of Thamel, they are indeed willing to help in everything, and the rooms are quite good.
However, my room proved very noisy at night as there are several pubs or discos close to it, in particular a very noisy Irish Pub. When I asked how long that noise would last and they told me midnight, I tried to change room. The first room they offered in the other side of the building was not much different as they seem to be affected on both sides, but they offered a room in the middle (307) which proved much less noisy. So it's not their fault, I understand, but still a pain to hear loud music from an Irish bar when you pretend to sleep.

Room Tip: I understand rooms ending in 7 are less affected by this noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyril_madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for your time for the riview as well as thank you for staying with us regarding to your staying with us. As we have install the sound proof windows doors and windows which proof 90% of sounds. Probably the Windows were not closed properly at the night. we are sorry for the trouble. Thank you.
Regards,
Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#34 of 193 in Kathmandu
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#29 of 193 in Kathmandu
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#95 of 193 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Access Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Access Nepal

Property: Hotel Access Nepal
Address: Chaksibari Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Access Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Access Nepal is positioned in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu. Youfeel the pulse of Kathmandu from the comfort and tranquility of the hotel's spacious interiors. Further more airport, markets, and historical place like all just a stone's throw away, It will be difficult to find a better location in the city. Historical place like Kathmandu Durbar Square and SwymbhuNathstupa (monkey temple) are also within walking distance. Book your stay with us one of affordably priced Economy, Standard, Deluxe or Family rooms and you can save your time and money to spend on other things during your trip like shopping, exploring the city and excursions of Kathmandu. Hotel Access Nepal will fulfill all your stay requirements witharound the clock room service and superb range of amenities and facilities including laundry services, in-room large screen TVs, and high-speed internet available through out the hotel. Our friendly staff is always just a call away and will help you to explore Nepal by recommending the best sight-seeing spots and attractions in the vicinity. All told, Hotel Access Nepal is not just a place to stay - it provides the ideal platform to savor the true essence of Kathmandu in the shortest of time spans! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Access Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing