We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in a decent Locality”
Review of Hotel Gangjong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gangjong
Ranked #167 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I know i am a little late in writing the review for this wonderful property.
I happen to visit Nepal in the year 2008 and being students, we were looking for a great budget hotel.
Luckily we got introduced to Hotel Gangjong by a friend on mine who also helped us getting a good enough discount. I must say that the property is excellent. Also, staff is very courteous and helpful

Few cons are : the locality is not very good. Hotel is situated in a small lane. Also, it is better to have the food outside.

Room Tip: Good to opt for this, if you are going with friends
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gangjong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 47 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I used to stay in this hotel since last one year.Nice and cooperative employees.Value for money.Food items are normal. not so high price as well as quality.Morning break fast you cant find more varaities.Over all ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajkumar862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here before and after our trek,, coming with a group, so the choice was not ours and we don't know the price paid. First we had a room at the backside, good , with a nice bathroom, We had dinner in the diningroom, rather slow service, but reasonable priced, and when it came, quite good. When we returned we had a room at the front, first the electricity was not working. The staff ws quick in fixing the problem. The next day,the toilet overflowed. Again, it was fixed when we returned from our day, but looking at other reviews, the plumbing seems to have problems.
Breakfast was rather large and more than enough on all our days.
The hotel is some 20 minutes walking from Thamel, along a road which is still not finished, so either dust or mud.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside seem to be quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

we a family were there for a night and the next day was the national election. We had booked some other hotel in Thamel area and I was told that all public transportation will not be available on this day till 5pm. So I ask the reception can We check out sometime after 12 as we are locked here till 5. They replied no you need to check out at 12 as other guests are coming. Then i asked if there is no vehicle then how come they can check in. Reception didnt reply anything. One nepali guy (may be floor supervisor) was standing there and said to the reception "as this is an exceptional case so kindly allow them to stay till 3pm even" but the man in the reception didnt agree and I have checked out at 11.30 and walked to Thamel area with all my luggage.
I will never ever come close to 1km proximity of this hotel in my life.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2Raffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

When you arrive, the hotel seems extremely palatial but appearances can be deceiving. In my first room, there was a lack of lighting in the room, the 2 lights over the bed did not work, and there was no hot water at 5.30 pm. The next day, the key to the door did not work (twice) and I had to get staff to bring the master key to open the door. In my second room, the TV didn’t work and the plugs were of the old 3 pin type, not the hybrid 2 plug / 3 plug type making it difficult to charge things. I did discover afterwards mind that the front desk had chargers. I woke up early due to jetlag and started reading at 4.0 a.m. in the morning however the lights suddenly went off and did not come back on again until later in the morning. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold dishes. The location is not great. It is about a 30-minute walk into Thamel and the road resembled a permanent construction site.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back. There is a barking dog that always starts up around 2.00 a.m.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

First time we stayed the room had dirty carpet and air con not working. Our friends had dirty sheets on the bed. Unfortunately we had already booked and paid for a return visit a few days later but were given a room on the 6 th floor which was a big improvement - Quite clean and air con working. The staff were very disinterested in any complaints. Breakfast was pretty poor. ( stale cereal and rancid butter) I would not stay there again
They did allow us to keep a bag there for our return. Money exchange was at a good rate

Room Tip: 6th floor seemed the better option.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyB2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Gangjong for two nights. It is on the main street and pretty decent.

Good
Rooms were very spacious
Restaurant delivered food timely to the rooms

Bad
I got a different room the second night and the bed in that room was not that good.
The wash-basins got clogged both times

Overall, a decent place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grshekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cascade Pvt. Ltd.
Hotel Cascade Pvt. Ltd.
#150 of 207 in Kathmandu
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yellow Pagoda Hotel
Yellow Pagoda Hotel
#121 of 207 in Kathmandu
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#109 of 207 in Kathmandu
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#41 of 207 in Kathmandu
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gangjong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gangjong

Address: GPO Box No 385 Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $77 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gangjong 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gangjong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing