We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, but with a few issues”
Review of Royal Singi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Singi Hotel
Ranked #98 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, but with a few issues”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was the hotel selected by REI tours as our base while in Kathmandu. The hotel's location is just a short walk to the Thamel district, the Royal Palace, and Garden of Dreams. Rooms were clean and the staff was generallly pleasant. Rooms do have showers but we had the constant issue of bathroon floors being overrun with water. One room had no tub, just a slightly lower depression area in the shower stall that immediatley overran onto the floor. The room with the tub had a shelf at the front of the tub that acted as a gutter, flowing water onto the floor. We visted in Dec-Jan so don't know if they turn off AC for the winter but our rooms were too warm and we could not get the fan to turn on or cool. Opening the window is a downright health risk due to the smog. Hair dryers are not provided in the rooms but one can be requested. One day it took about 1/2 hour to get one delivered, another day we gave up after waiting about an hour. We did have laundry done. Very efficient, ready the next day, and reasonably priced. One very nice amenity was that as this was just our base while in Kathmandu, we were allowed to store luggage and unnecessary items in a locked room while trekking in other parts of the country.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianab010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tshering G, Owner at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you Diana for taking the time to post your review and for the detailed feedback of your stay with us at Royal Singi.
As an owner, I have been making upgrades in phases and we await for the delivery of several amenities, one of them being a hair dryer to have in every room. Your feedback is well noted and as we work on the remainder of the rooms where the bath tubs are being removed, we will keep the water flow in mind.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    73
    73
    17
    6
See reviews for
22
42
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Excellent for the price. just a short walk from the garden of dreams and the main shopping area.the rooms were clean with tv. Showers were the best all holiday. The staff were helpful and breakfasts where wonderful.one point I must make, the exchange rate was better in the thamel. So change your money there rather than the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A fine hotel located in the city centre - just minutes off the Darbar Marg in the heart of the Kathmandu city - the rooms are much better than the Lobby which cld do well with a refurbishment - the breakfast menu is short but average on taste & looks - the bathroom has an excellent shower always the right temp

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the hotel command a premium on the availability - though I did not man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishAnjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My stay in the hotel was generally pleasant. The hotel clearly has seen better days but on the whole ok. Free wifi in the lobby was good and the restaurant was ok. Location is also not bad. It is not on the main thoroughfare but walking distance to the Thamel area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowsweeheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Location! Location! Location!
This hotel is like a 2 minute walk to kingsway where you will find kfc, pizza hut and a myriad of pricey shops. A 10 minute walk to thamel.
The rooms are adequate and the shower hot at most times. We had a warm shower only once but that was ok as it was still warm and not freezing!
The air conditioning system unfortunately is not great. Our room was sooo very hot and when we contacted reception regarding this we were firstly told we had just returned to the room and it would take about 30 minutes to work properly. Then when contacted again it was explained that it was a central ac system as it is not a seperate unit and that the temperature had been set to warmer throughout the hotel. They sent us a fan for our room which really did not suffice!
The hotels beds are soft which is a rarity in nepal.
Room service was ok. They brought what requested. I had laundry done and it was satisfactory.
The cleaner broke one of our souveneir coffee mugs and noone bothered to tell us until we enquired. We'd been using our own to make our own tea.
I will stay here again. I am alreqdy a repeat customer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Slodgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is just at corner of Durbar road but lack the services offered by its staff. The room service is worst as whenever order is placed it takes around 45--60 minutes for delivery to take place.

The room service management is not upto mark as we have to call and ask them to clean which is again delayed.

Room Tip: The hotel has multi storey but ask for rooms in front side of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarrafManish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has improved a little over the years. There is now free Wi-Fi in the Lobby for instance. Some hotel rooms have been modernised but they still fall short, by a long way, of the star rating! Staff are nothing special and some can be surly. The adventure travel group EXODUS use this hotel as their Kathmandu base so the hotel has high occupancy rate. If it were not for EXODUS I honestly think the hotel would fold, or be forced to improve to survive. There are clearly better value for money options available.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HKM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#104 of 202 in Kathmandu
50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#72 of 202 in Kathmandu
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#66 of 202 in Kathmandu
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#110 of 202 in Kathmandu
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Kathmandu
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#113 of 202 in Kathmandu
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Singi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Singi Hotel

Property: Royal Singi Hotel
Address: PO Box 13168 | Lal Durbar, Kamaladi, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Singi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Singi Hotel boasts a central location within Kathmandu with easy and convenient access to banks, Durbar Marg (adjascent street)and Thamel (10mins walk). With only a 15 mins drive away from the airport, 75 elegantly appointed rooms (4 suites) awaits you with the comfort and amenities (in room fridge, in-room safe, complimentary coffee/tea) of a home away from home. Jharna- Fresh array of diverse selections are served daily for breakfast (buffet and a la carte). Lunch is also served daily a la carte Pronto (lobby level)- serves fresh house baked cakes and pastries and indulge in Illy coffee, espresso or cappuccino. Enjoy complimentary wifi in the lobby as you sip your afternoon or evening away. Mandala restaurant- serves a la carte dinner Bhanjyang Bar- open nightly with a diverse selection of spirits, liquours, cocktails and a snack menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Singi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Singi Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing