We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not better choice based on price”
Review of Royal Singi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Singi Hotel
Ranked #83 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is just at corner of Durbar road but lack the services offered by its staff. The room service is worst as whenever order is placed it takes around 45--60 minutes for delivery to take place.

The room service management is not upto mark as we have to call and ask them to clean which is again delayed.

Room Tip: The hotel has multi storey but ask for rooms in front side of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManishSarraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 224 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has improved a little over the years. There is now free Wi-Fi in the Lobby for instance. Some hotel rooms have been modernised but they still fall short, by a long way, of the star rating! Staff are nothing special and some can be surly. The adventure travel group EXODUS use this hotel as their Kathmandu base so the hotel has high occupancy rate. If it were not for EXODUS I honestly think the hotel would fold, or be forced to improve to survive. There are clearly better value for money options available.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank HKM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with Everest base camp group and was pleased with service and the location as central to many interesting sotes and shopping. The experience I had was excellent and wpuld return here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABDULGANI_ISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tshering G, Owner at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Namaste,
We would like to thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad to hear you would definitely stay with us on your return to Kathmandu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

On a 1day business Trip, stayed at this hotel recommended by friends and reading Reviews on Trip advisor.
Rooms - only ok.
Beds - Small (fear of Rolling out of bed if you moved).
bathroom - only Soap (toothbrush/paste must buy from hotel =50Nr).

all i mean to say that it's not value for money paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indian_Diablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location of hotel is not bad, can walk to Thamel and not in the crowded streets. However the rooms are old and in need of maintenance. When we stayed there, the WC was not working but maintenance man did fix it. Then he left with the floor all wet and I had to call housekeeping to clean it which they did. The aircon leaked and water was dripping over the bathroom door. I had enough and only inform the front desk of this when I checked out the next day. The hallway had a damp smell. However the room is clean and tidy. Only 2 bath towels and 1 bath mat is provided. No toiletries or hand towel. Breakfast spread is so so and there is no egg counter. I will not rate it a 4 star hotel. At best a local 3 star hotel. Will try other hotels next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tshering G, Owner at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Namaste,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying with us at Royal Singi Hotel.

It is unfortunate to hear about your experience and we are taking preventative maintenance actions in every room to ensure similar experiences like yours does not occur again. All rooms are also being audited to ensure proper upkeep and necessary upgrades. The hallways will be checked to eliminate the damp smell as we conclude our monsoon season.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is situated in the centre of Kathmandu, where you can get a little supermarket and stores just outside the hotel and lots of restaurant including KFC just for 5 minutes walk. You can also walk to Thamel (around 10 mins) and Monkey Temple (around 15 mins) very easily. Staff were helpful who would guide you the way very patiently.

Room was average, as you can imagine for a hotel managed by locals. Despite the interiors were a bit worn out, the room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was better than I first expected, with quite a lot of variety of food which tasted good.

Would come back again for my next stay in Nepal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went as a team of four members in September 2009 ( two brothers & wives ).My wife kept her nice silver plated watch on the bed when the cleaning personnel came.Within minutes the personnel pinched the watch.Several of our complaints yielded no result.The hotel practically had no disciplined work force & the management was NOT fully in control of its employees.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chakravasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#2 of 210 in Kathmandu
146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#99 of 210 in Kathmandu
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#77 of 210 in Kathmandu
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#103 of 210 in Kathmandu
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Singi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Singi Hotel

Address: PO Box 13168 | Lal Durbar, Kamaladi, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Singi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Singi Hotel boasts a central location within Kathmandu with easy and convenient access to banks, Durbar Marg (adjacent street)and Thamel (10mins walk). With only a 15 mins drive away from the airport, 95 elegantly appointed rooms (70 Deluxe Rooms, 20 Executive Rooms & 5 Signature Suites) awaits you with modern comfort and amenities (in room fridge, in-room safe, complimentary coffee/tea) of a home away from home. Our newly opened All Day Dining Restaurant "the BLVD" (1st fl) serves a variety of offerings for your daily breakfast (Buffet). Lunch and Dinner are also served (a la carte) that is complemented with a selection of wines, spirits & beers. Enjoy a sip of coffee with some signature house-made cakes and pastries in Pronto (Lobby Cafe) or our Happy Hours (5pm-7pm) over beers and cocktails in Bhanjyang Bar (1st fl). Complimentary wifi is available across the entire hotel. Bar & Pronto services are also available at the hotel courtyard terrace- a tranquil space of bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Singi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Singi Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing