We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Singi Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$120
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$9
$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$105
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Trekkers' Home(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
47
86
77
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
86
77
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrequent businesshuge lobbybhutan tripdarbar margcheck in was smoothhomely atmosphereminute walk to thamelthaliroom servicemid range hotelbreakfast spreadmodern amenitiesdurbar squareair conditioningthe heart of the citycomfortable stayhotel is situated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 236 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Royal Singi. We had moved from another hotel we weren't happy with and the Singi was only a bit more expensive but much, much nicer. The room and bathroom were well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good. I also enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craighdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice in the last month, before and after a trip to Everest Base Camp.
The first two nights were terrible, we were given a smokimg twin room on the 2nd floor. hotel was full so we couldnt change. The second stay the room was much better.
Double room, smelt better and the water from the shower was less brown - more of a yellow colour, but i think that is the norm for Kathmandu. Breakfast was okay, decent selection, staff were a bit grumpy, it almost seemed that they were doing us a favour by serving us.
Location was good, walk to Durbar Square in 20 mins and Thamel in less than 15 mins. Our guide assured us that the higher starred hotels offer a similar service, rooms are the same, but receptions and common areas are finished better.
Just make sure you get a decent room, it will make your staye better !

Room Tip: not front facing and make sure it is a non smoking room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geebs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for a few night at either side of a trekking holiday.
Arrived early afternoon and was given fourth floor room....fairly basic and in need of a little TLC but the bed was comfortable. Visited the bar and was shocked at the very high prices along with slow service.
Day two Breakfast...... Absolute rubbish.. poor choice , many items very under cooked & barley warm. Not a very pleasing choice unless you liked curried everything.
Returned for two nights post trek, was given room 604 OMG do not accept this room. It is below the Chinese restaurant on the 7th floor. The fans remained on all night and the room smelt awful. As the hotel was full we were not offered a different room.
On the whole this is not a 4* hotel & although the Reception staff were friendly & helpful ther hotel in general needs a full renovation.
I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not accept 6th floor rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigglede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had heard so much about this hotel, but overall experience has not been that great. Rooms are relatively small, housekeeping left much to be desired. You need to ask for the refrigerator, otherwise the well appointed place for it in the room is empty. Not many power points in the room. No safe, no tea-coffee making in the room, a small conventional TV with poor choice of channels (mostly local) and if you want wi-fi, you have to pay for it.

That said, there are good things also, such as an excellent buffet breakfast that comes as a part of package, nice, hardworking and courteous staff, proximity to Durbar Marg, Thamel and a row of good eating joints serving local to international stuff, close to the airport & easy availability of taxis just parked outside the hotel. I am though not very sure if I am going to stay there on my next visit to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms provide a better view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for the final two nights of our trip around India and Nepal. The hotel is nice, it has seen better days but the staff work hard and it is clear that they try very hard to make old appliances clean and ensure that the rooms are comfortable and people are well served.
Our room was a nice size, also being on floor 6 we had a lovely view over Kathmandu. The room was clean with gallons of hot water at a good pressure from the shower. We did have to be careful as the shower leaked over the side of the bath even with the curtain and we went through several towels making sure the floor was dried and we did not slip and fall.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and very helpful, taking bags up and down from rooms with no hesitation and ensuring that no bags are mixed up as there are many different groups staying in the hotel.
The air conditioning worked well and we were even able to get BBC news of the TV.
Location well the hotel was well located and very central for getting pretty ,much anywhere. You can get a taxi from the hotel and can reach almost anywhere in Kathmandu for about 150-200Rs. Be warned thought- the roads are quite something- we had a fab time in our bucking bronco taxies!
We only ate breakfast at this hotel and ate out all other nights, we were able to walk to and from the restaurants and felt perfectly safe out and about in the city after dark.
Breakfast was delicious with a huge range of food.
A very nice hotel and if I went back to Kathmandu I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews