We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly service, centrally located”
Review of Royal Singi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Singi Hotel
Ranked #83 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Good central location, close to sights, restaurants and shops but still in a relatively quiet site. Friendly service, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFanEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 218 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is value for money. The breakfast is ok, the staff is friendly and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helpinghandAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights after a trek. It was ok but tired. The walls in our room were very dirty and the towels were old and grey. The breakfast buffet was ok but the pastries on the first day were completely stale. Although not the hotels fault, we observed a party of people helping themselves from the buffet with their fingers. Perhaps the hotel could make the serving implements more prominent or at least encourage people to use them!
Overall this hotel was adequate but I'm sure there must be nicer , similarly priced places to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeggiegirlMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel is located almost in the heart of the city and near to many shopping centers. The place is nice (for the price they charge) and clean. Rooms & toilets are clean. Service is good. Breakfast spread is good. There will be at least 1 indian dish in the spread. Did not have a chance to eat here and hence cannot comment on the food here. But whatever we had in the breakfast was good. Wifi is chargeable (definitely is expensive). May be the hotel needs a slight make over, but overall our stay was good. As it was a business trip, did not have an opportunity to explore the place. Did visit Pashupathinath Temple and must say it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here at beginning of Octobber 2011. The hotel was excellent (only minor damage from the earthquake two weeks ago) - with good breakfast and air conditioning. Placed equidistant and a 15/20 walk from Kathmandu main tourist areas and restaurants at Durbar Square and Thamel. Next to Kathmandu's '5th Avenue' high prices for branded goods but easy access to cash point machines (best place to change money).

No pool but perfect for reasonable quality and cost - if you want a pool you've not really gotthe nepal trek idea. Best places to eat are Ron Doodles and Kilroy's in Thamel. Also try the refurbished 'Peace Garden' for a quiet oasis in Thamel with a decent cafe too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeliosApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Royal Singi Hotel located down town Kathmandu. As our arrival was late, we did not get to explore the town much.

This hotel has a huge lobby and reception area. We were greeted with a welcome drink upon checked in.

The room was medium in size but clean. The queen bed we had was comfortable and soft. There was a working desk, chairs, coffee table and a TV in the room although we hardly utilized them due to the late arrival and checked out early the next day

The bathroom was clean with enough amenities. There was no walk in shower however the bath tubs just as good. Perhaps the hotel has been around for a while, the bathroom was old – the tip of the shower curtain was grey (probably was from the mildew. The bath towels were grayish white instead of white; perhaps they were washed too many times over the years. I did not feel so confortable about these.

There was no free Internet in the hotel; however a “wifi coupon” can be purchased at the reception with a reasonable price.

Buffett breakfast was good with choices of Western and Nepalese cuisines.

Overall, hotel was ok but I will not go back to the hotel because I am not comfortable with the grey bath towels.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Was in Kathmandu in July 2011 and as usual my office booked us in Royal Singi Hotel.
Check in was smooth without any hassles and this time I was given a corner room. I noticed that the room had a connecting door to another room. So guests with a large family can request for connecting rooms.
Breakfast was an insipid affair with the usual large variety of items on offer, but the quality of food on offer seemed to have deteriorated. There were tour groups this time as well which meant that you had to wait at breakfast until an empty table was available.
One advantage of this hotel is that it is located so close to Durbar Marg, so that you can always walk down to Bakery Cafe, Nanglo, or any of the several nearby restaurants for your lunch or dinner. Food at the hotel is very expensive compared to the restaurants on Durbar Marg and Kanti Path so you might want to check out the options.
Durbar Square is also located within walking distance.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#1 of 210 in Kathmandu
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#70 of 210 in Kathmandu
563 reviews
1.9 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#98 of 210 in Kathmandu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#71 of 210 in Kathmandu
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Singi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Singi Hotel

Address: PO Box 13168 | Lal Durbar, Kamaladi, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $79 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Singi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Singi Hotel boasts a central location within Kathmandu with easy and convenient access to banks, Durbar Marg (adjacent street)and Thamel (10mins walk). With only a 15 mins drive away from the airport, 95 elegantly appointed rooms (70 Deluxe Rooms, 20 Executive Rooms & 5 Signature Suites) awaits you with modern comfort and amenities (in room fridge, in-room safe, complimentary coffee/tea) of a home away from home. Our newly opened All Day Dining Restaurant "the BLVD" (1st fl) serves a variety of offerings for your daily breakfast (Buffet). Lunch and Dinner are also served (a la carte) that is complemented with a selection of wines, spirits & beers. Enjoy a sip of coffee with some signature house-made cakes and pastries in Pronto (Lobby Cafe) or our Happy Hours (5pm-7pm) over beers and cocktails in Bhanjyang Bar (1st fl). Complimentary wifi is available across the entire hotel. Bar & Pronto services are also available at the hotel courtyard terrace- a tranquil space of bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Singi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Singi Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing