We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but saved by location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nirvana Garden Hotel
Ranked #114 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Average hotel but saved by location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, this hotel was booked as a package tour so I didn't book it directly.

I stayed here twice as I travelled two times into Kathmandu during my trip.

The first time I must admit was horrible and the room was really disappointing. The room I had overlooked another hotel at the back and was utterly charmless and void of any defining character. Just so you know it was based in the new building and if you stay there demand a garden view. The other rooms are just not worth it. I could only get wifi reception from the neighboring hotel? I did ask to change room on several occasions but everything was constantly booked even though I saw people just come and go.

The dining experience was also a bit hit and miss. Breakfast is basic - food is warm and available. My evening meal was tedious. The actual food was ok but the service was dire. I waited 40 minutes for my meal and I was the only one in the restaurant. It's was nice when it arrived but I really didn't think it would take that long. The boys who served me also looked a bit lost and had to ask me my order twice. They were young though.

This place is fantastic if you've been a week trekking sleeping in tents. It will feel like nirvana with hot water being the blessing. This hotel is basically the hotel you go to when you go on your first adventure holiday without your folks and you think it's the best. Add 10 years - them it's just not.

The second time I stayed here was a LOT better as I actually asked for a garden view. The room was smaller but the view made up for it. The garden is sweet and quiet and away from the busy street which is a huge saving grave for this place.

If I could give one recommendation - the staff should maybe smile more. They look a bit sad in my opinion like they are watching an endless conveyor belt of tourists - which they are but isn't that what hotels are for? I actually found the lady behind the counter sleeping during the day visible from the counter. No apology or surprise on her behalf so I guess it's common practice.

Location is a major plus here. Located in the heart of Thamel, you can get to all the shops within a few minutes walk. This is fantastic and you can explore this part of Kathmandu knowing you are close to the hotel.

This place is cheap and slightly cheerful but nice and quiet but there is a massive building site going on when I was there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank pieboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    86
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
18
58
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Hotel is centrally located in the downtown, where it is easy not only foe sightseeing but also shopping. Also the varied restaurants are nearby. This Nirvana Garden hotel management and staff are like the ones to whom you know since long. The receptionist is a good guide. The restaurant is nice and for us like vegetarians, we new had any problem during our four days stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KantilalMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've been staying here for several nights (4th floor, the building at the back), and really like it.
Hotel staff is super friendly and helpful, and there are many great restaurants around (try Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop!!)

Room Tip: room 411 was nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yotam_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was tiny and construction work next door was right outside the window. There was no fan or a/c, but I got charged for an a/c room. The price for this place is ridiculous, there are many places in Thamel better and so much cheaper. What a rip off! Raju the manager is the rudest man, he should be sacked! The rest of the staff though are helpful and friendly.
You can stay in 5* hotels in for the same prices as here charges!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseykernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Lindseykernan,

Your reservation was made through a travel agent who had marked up the room rate significantly which you must have realized at the time of your payment of the bills. Our prices are one of the most competitive in its class, as vouched by so many of our very satisfied guests.

Yours was an AC room which for some reason you had not turned it on! Our staffs are trained to be courteous and helpful to the guests. The person who you have refered and who apparently you just met on the phone, is not the manager and does not even work for the hotel.

However, we highly regret the unpleasant incident and will to take care that such incidence are not repeated.

Bijay Shrestha
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Thimphu, Bhutan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Located in Thamel, but isolated from the busy and noisy streets thanks to its wonderful garden, Nirvana Garden Hotel is an ideal place to relax for a relatively cheap price (US$30/day per room with attached bathroom, and a balcony). Rooms are clean, the staff is very nice and helpful, the garden is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Nirvana Garden is a pleasant low cost hotel in the Thamel shopping district of Kathmandu. Our rooms cost around $30 US per night for a double with balcony and ensuite. Some issues with electrical sockets and dripping taps, but overall a pleasant experience. Beds were firm but quite comfortable. Breakfast is OK. When it's done off menu is better than when they have lots of guests and set up the breakfast buffet.

The garden is lovely and staff are very helpful. It has free WiFi and computers you can use which are VERY SLOW! Handy for all the shops. If you have an urge for a spotless air-conditioned hotel you can have a meal at the Penguin Hotel which is almost next door. Rooms are much more expensive there but the food is very reasonable. The Penguin also does great low cost massage.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are much nicer, especially with balcony. The fifth floor room has a roof ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Convenient location and very affordable for extended stay. Shower was hot, room was large with garden view. The garden area is very relaxing. Front office staff very helpful and friendly. Internet available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwood T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#92 of 202 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#37 of 202 in Kathmandu
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shreesu
Hotel Shreesu
#69 of 202 in Kathmandu
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#9 of 202 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Property: Nirvana Garden Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing