We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but that's about it!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nirvana Garden Hotel
Ranked #111 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Rooms tatty & baths bordering on disgusting but location of hotel is perfect for Thuwal - easy walking distance for all the knock offs for trekking...... Breakfast bearable. Update the rooms & it'd be a great hotel.....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hufflepuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    83
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
17
56
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

we saw a lot of good comments of this hotel, so we booked it prior, but in fact it is not so clean, bathroom is old, blanket is dusted. we stayed 2 nights in Room 511(18 Oct.2011-19 Oct.), they said that is a triple room with 3 singles beds, yes, there are 3 single beds, but only one bed has bedstead, the "bedstead" of the others two are mattress,so our beds are “mattress on a mattress", no support strength, uncomfortable.

Anyhow I can bear all of those, BUT THIEF!

I put my earring and necklace in a small box, in my backpack which I left in hotel, the 1st day is no problem, but on the 2nd nights, I found they were gone when we came back,the THIEF even took away my washing-up liquid.... wow

I knew I should be more careful, but I just not realized here Nirvana has THIEF! Fell very disappoint...

Destroy Everything!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vionashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Vionashi,
We highly regret the unfortunate incident. However, you have said that you found about the missing items when you reached back home in which case you cannot be certain that the "Theft" happened in the hotel room. It could have happened anywhere along your trip home: Taxis, Airports, Porters, Luggage store etc. Moreover, no one in the hotel industry would steal a "Liquid Detergent" as we have plenty of that discarded by our guests everyday.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Quiet courtyard, great service and great location. Bathroom very old and needs repairs. rooms dim in evening. The walls are paper thin, so not for the light sleeper.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
310 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

--Well-situated hotel in the tourist district among restaurants, shopping, and money exchanges shops.
--Nice peaceful courtyard. Quiet at night even with central location.
--Free Internet and Wifi.
--Comfortable beds.
--Excellent service.
--Would stay here agian.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

There's nothing fancy here, but it is on a side street and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It has a very good location for shopping and there are lots of restaurants nearby. It is also close to Durbar Square. Lots of trekkers stay here, which was also our situation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank followtheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for an extended period so we were offered a very good deal. This is my third stay in the past 12 years.

Room was good and clean. Restaurant offered a variety of Western, Indian, Chinese and Nepalese dishes at a decent price (by Thamel standards).

WIFI in room but not secure. Hotel PCs were awful. Slow and half the time did not connect at all. (The hotel has cats but they must be useless because we saw a rodent running around the area where the PCs are situated).

Service was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

Be careful of taxis outside the hotel (opposite shops), they charge twice the going rate as others. From Hotel to Monkey Temple should not cost more than 150 - 200 rupees.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms don't have air conditioning so try to get a fan brought in to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauliewallnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Nirvana Garden. We stayed there 3 nights in total (at start & end of our trip) and found it to be very well located. It's close to everything Thamel has to offer, but set back enough to have no noise at all and a lovely relaxing garden area to chill out in. Our room was nice with a huge comfy bed and a balcony overlooking the garden. The bathroom looked a bit tired (damp on the walls) and a leaky flush but on the whole we were still pleased. There was hot water and the shower was powerful. A little bathroom TLC wouldn't go amiss though. Breakfast was pretty good, although we were a little disappointed with the one dinner we had in the hotel. It took AGES (not uncommon in Nepal though) and it simply wasn't as good as food we'd eaten elsewhere. There's free WIFI throughout the hotel, newspapers in the lobby. Overall a great place to stay in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anokhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#81 of 194 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#53 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#107 of 194 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#48 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#57 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Property: Nirvana Garden Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing