We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and affordable with an incredible view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nirvana Garden Hotel
Ranked #116 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Spacious and affordable with an incredible view”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Could be the exchange rate, but we loved the affordability of our room. In the heart of the Thamel district, shopping and bargaining was only a few hundred feet away. Excellent room service and everyone has to try the mint tea. Great room at the fifth floor with a gigantic balcony that overlooks the entire city. No one bothered us out under the moonlight...I even asked my babymomma to marry me there.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happiestbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    86
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
18
58
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on seven different years and have always found the staff to be gentle, friendly and extremely helpful. The manager Vijay is particularly helpful and his english is excellent. on my last stay, my room waiter went out of his way to look after me, coming in especially early *5.30 am( to give me breakfast before an early flight *before the kitchen opened* . I have stayed many times on my own there as a lone older woman, and have always been treated with warmth and respect. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the whole place has a cheerful, efficient feel to it. I have no hesitation in recommending it to other travellers.

Sally Wolfe

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A really lovely place to start and finish :a quiet oasis in buzy Kathmandu.
All staff very helfull and helped us plan our trip to Chitwan and Lubini.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8888888888Deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This hotel is in quiet alley. Location is fantastic in the middle of Thamel.
The breakfast garden is fantastic, the food is average.
Free business center for internet is a rarity.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Hotel food was great. Staff was awesome. Very customer service oriented. The mattresses need a refresh. The adjoining building rooms are better, main hotel rooms are older and more in need of a refresh. Good value for the money in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcraiglaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I visit Nepal on a regular basis and when I am in Kathmandu I always stay at Nirvana Garden Hotel. A friend recommended the hotel to me. I would say the hotel has everything - great atmosphere, freindly staff, very clean, rooms are great, great food. the location of the hotel is perfect. there are many shops within walking distance which was a great bonus for me as i love to shop. The staff make you feel very welcome. Great value for money. This hotel suits everyone - couples/ families/ friends etc etc..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophy186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed at Nirvana garden for a week. It is an oasis close to Thamel. Staff are very helpful. I also liked the breakfast at Nirvana. A great way to start your day. It is very close to the shops and restaurents. The free wifi is also great. It saves you the hassle of going to a cyber cafe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aargee4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#92 of 203 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 203 in Kathmandu
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Hotel Holy Himalaya
#44 of 203 in Kathmandu
377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Garden Home
Kathmandu Garden Home
#100 of 203 in Kathmandu
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Property: Nirvana Garden Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing