We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveler rating
591
279
67
27
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
591
279
67
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews electric blankets hot water bottles eco friendly newari architecture organic food traditional style morning yoga inner courtyard an oasis deluxe room carved wood beautiful hotel the hustle and bustle beautiful garden durbar square eco hotel yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 976 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2016

My second time staying at this beautful hotel.Its like a peaceful sanctuary amidst the hustle and bustle of Thamel.The staff are so friendly,the room is clean,the breakfast is amazing.i really like the way the owner is always at breakfast and he mingles with his guest,everyday...I will be returning for sure ....Thank you so much Kantipur Temple House...

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Penny6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for appreciating our peaceful sanctuary with our teams services!! We hope to see you soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

The facade of the hotel is amazing but the facilities and service is much to be desired. Water smells like rust, loudest fan in the world affecting our sleep, extremely thin pillows and only one per guest, dusty walls, power cuts everyday without backup generator. Breakfast was terrible - cheap hotdogs, tasteless eggs for USD $8. Entire stay was not value for money. Disappointing end to my last honeymoon night in Kathmandu. Only saving grace was the wifi stability by Nepal standards.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank dillenselvarajoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your stay with us. We do our best to provide quality service. Our water is checked in a regular basis and we have never received such a complaint. It would have been our pleasure to provide you with a better fan extra pillows if you had mentioned. Also, walls could not have been dusty.We serve organic breakfast with fresh farm eggs and good sausages and home made bakery. We go out of our way to get fresh produce for our restaurant. I am very sorry that you feel that way. We do not have 4 star amenities but we try to make it up with our ambience, cleanliness and organic restaurant. We will continue to improve our service. We thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel! Everyone, including the owner Bharat Basnet, go out of their way to make sure you are completely comfortable and all your needs are being met. It is also a beautiful oasis in Thamel - I walked in out of the chaos on the nearby street into a beautiful garden of tranquility. Rooms are very spacious and clean, showers are mostly hot, and the breakfast is delicious. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 347DianeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear Diane "Namaste"

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind comments about us. We are so glad that you enjoyed our teams hospitality including Mr. Basnet and our ambience and the garden. We hope to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended hotel. Staff cannot do enough for you. I had a double deluxe room which was very roomy. Everything you need. Food at restaurant is excellent. Yoga in the morning is also excellent. And a very central location, but quiet, and the architecture is traditional and beautiful.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
4  Thank Excursion671507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for appreciating everything about us and enjoying your stay with us! We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

I have stayed for 2 days at Kantipur Temple House before flying to uk. The hotel is situated in the middle of Thamel so it's very easy access to restaurants and shops. You can eat your breakfast in the garden looking at beautiful architecture. Friendly and helpful staff.
The best place I've stayed in Kathmandu

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank Aniaprochin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews