We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kantipur Temple House
Ranked #18 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Rooms were clean, they had electric blankets on the beds, hot water was great. Wi fi was ok. Food was great, especially the brown bread at breakfast. All the food was home made and they have a no plastic policy in the hotel as well. They allowed us to keep our wine in their fridge for the whole stay.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a window, the "07" numbers don't seem to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 839 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Although this month of February they were in restoration the place is relaxing and allows to enjoy the style of local architecture. It is located at the edge of Thamel, just two blocks of nice walking and you are in the middle of the area of bars and restaurants. The service is fine and polite, Wi-Fi along all the hotel and a nice terrace that is enlighten with candles every night, We stayed for 4 nights in a Deluxe Room, I guess that the Standard rooms could be good enough, these Deluxe are larger, but the toilets still need some works and improve some amenities on them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juju_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Beautiful hotel design. Elegant Buddhas and carvings. The welcome drink was refreshing and welcoming. The room was small but clean. The food was fantastic. Our stay was unfortunately for only one night so we didnt get to join in the yoga class. The overall feel of the place was very peaceful. The hotel is located right near the markets and some cheap and beautiful clothing and souvenirs can be found just down the street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Didn't expect this beautiful boutique inside the small alleys, tucked in the corner with a character.
No doubt I love the hotel, great room service & very good restaurant staff. It was cold at night, so they had left me 2 hot water bags to warm up my bed :-) sweet!

The only problem was the 2 guys at the reception, not very hospitable. No smile with blunt answers to any questions.
Since they have a wooden flooring, its kind of annoying in the morning to be woken up by footsteps from room above LOL!

Overall, my stay was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SereneJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I believe I reviewed this hotel 2 or 3 years ago and my feelings may have changed since then. It's still a wonderful place, an oasis in the midst of all the craziness of Thamel, but I just wish the owner would update the bathrooms. They are generally a bit scummy (and I expect a certain level if this considering the country). We had a deluxe room and every morning it took (exactly) 20 minutes for the shower water to turn warm, and then it was just a trickle and not suitable for showering. We did ask to be moved to a different deluxe room for the last 2 minutes and there we had a decent shower. One morning at breakfast we watched a mouse pop out of the bowl of cereal and run off with a corn flake! The staff is wonderful, all very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room in the newer area, as they are a bit more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

As you walk around Thamel you can sense that it is a backpackers hub with all the shops, bars and restaurants. Tucked way in a small alley way away from the noise is this beautiful and well run boutique hotel. I stayed here for two nights and loved it including their service. The staff was well trained and they always tried to make conversation with the guests by asking them how the stay is going etc. The courtyard is beautiful. You can sit there for a cup of tea in the evening i.e if it's not too chilly. The rooms are clean and toilets are not very fancy but for the price they are good enough. The rooms have heaters for the cold nights. The electricity schedule is slightly iffy but that's not really in the hotel's control. They have a generator but the heater doesn't work when the generator is on. The morning breakfast at 8 USD is slightly pricey I think for Nepal standards and more so because I think the selection is very limited. Nonetheless I would recommend people to stay here for sure. If you are looking for a place which is not the run of the mill convention hotel and also not a hippie hostel then this is the perfect place for you.

Room Tip: Wireless is provided in the entire building free of charge. There are no elevators so if you are tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was magical staying at the Temple hotel. I loved walking into the walled sanctuary with its pretty green gardens and being greeted by friendly security guards.
My room was spotlessly clean and I loved the traditional decor and style. The room was very spacious and I really appreciated the Green philosophy, because after trekking the Himalayas for 2 weeks in the clean fresh air, it was horrible to come back to Kathmandu with all the smog and pollution. But at least Kantipur Temple is trying to reduce its footprint and I hope the other hotels follow suit.
I thoroughly enjoyed my unique yoga session which involved lots of deep breathing and stretching.
The highlight of my stay was when this distiguished fellow (Mr. Bharat Basnet, Owner) came around to greet all the guests in the morning at breakfast, and then joined me. It really added to my experience as I was able to ask him all the questions I had about why the city was so polluted and to hear what he has been doing to rectify the situation. He's very passionate about trying to improve the quality of air.
He then took me on a tour of the magnificent hotel. Which was his vision. Its a work in progress but its very impressive.

The staff were all very helpful too, as I wanted detail of an Orphanage so I could donate some gifts my friends had donated for Christmas.
Two of the ladies at the front desk even gave me a khata which I could offer to a Buddhist Llama. I was impressed.

Lastly, I loved how there was hot water bottles in the bed at night.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGGRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
600 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#42 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#69 of 209 in Kathmandu
306 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,292 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 209 in Kathmandu
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $57 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing