We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Heritage spoilt by front desk staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kantipur Temple House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kantipur Temple House
Ranked #16 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Heritage spoilt by front desk staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Didn't expect this beautiful boutique inside the small alleys, tucked in the corner with a character.
No doubt I love the hotel, great room service & very good restaurant staff. It was cold at night, so they had left me 2 hot water bags to warm up my bed :-) sweet!

The only problem was the 2 guys at the reception, not very hospitable. No smile with blunt answers to any questions.
Since they have a wooden flooring, its kind of annoying in the morning to be woken up by footsteps from room above LOL!

Overall, my stay was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SereneJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    232
    49
    19
    9
See reviews for
72
272
123
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I believe I reviewed this hotel 2 or 3 years ago and my feelings may have changed since then. It's still a wonderful place, an oasis in the midst of all the craziness of Thamel, but I just wish the owner would update the bathrooms. They are generally a bit scummy (and I expect a certain level if this considering the country). We had a deluxe room and every morning it took (exactly) 20 minutes for the shower water to turn warm, and then it was just a trickle and not suitable for showering. We did ask to be moved to a different deluxe room for the last 2 minutes and there we had a decent shower. One morning at breakfast we watched a mouse pop out of the bowl of cereal and run off with a corn flake! The staff is wonderful, all very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room in the newer area, as they are a bit more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

As you walk around Thamel you can sense that it is a backpackers hub with all the shops, bars and restaurants. Tucked way in a small alley way away from the noise is this beautiful and well run boutique hotel. I stayed here for two nights and loved it including their service. The staff was well trained and they always tried to make conversation with the guests by asking them how the stay is going etc. The courtyard is beautiful. You can sit there for a cup of tea in the evening i.e if it's not too chilly. The rooms are clean and toilets are not very fancy but for the price they are good enough. The rooms have heaters for the cold nights. The electricity schedule is slightly iffy but that's not really in the hotel's control. They have a generator but the heater doesn't work when the generator is on. The morning breakfast at 8 USD is slightly pricey I think for Nepal standards and more so because I think the selection is very limited. Nonetheless I would recommend people to stay here for sure. If you are looking for a place which is not the run of the mill convention hotel and also not a hippie hostel then this is the perfect place for you.

Room Tip: Wireless is provided in the entire building free of charge. There are no elevators so if you are tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suhritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was magical staying at the Temple hotel. I loved walking into the walled sanctuary with its pretty green gardens and being greeted by friendly security guards.
My room was spotlessly clean and I loved the traditional decor and style. The room was very spacious and I really appreciated the Green philosophy, because after trekking the Himalayas for 2 weeks in the clean fresh air, it was horrible to come back to Kathmandu with all the smog and pollution. But at least Kantipur Temple is trying to reduce its footprint and I hope the other hotels follow suit.
I thoroughly enjoyed my unique yoga session which involved lots of deep breathing and stretching.
The highlight of my stay was when this distiguished fellow (Mr. Bharat Basnet, Owner) came around to greet all the guests in the morning at breakfast, and then joined me. It really added to my experience as I was able to ask him all the questions I had about why the city was so polluted and to hear what he has been doing to rectify the situation. He's very passionate about trying to improve the quality of air.
He then took me on a tour of the magnificent hotel. Which was his vision. Its a work in progress but its very impressive.

The staff were all very helpful too, as I wanted detail of an Orphanage so I could donate some gifts my friends had donated for Christmas.
Two of the ladies at the front desk even gave me a khata which I could offer to a Buddhist Llama. I was impressed.

Lastly, I loved how there was hot water bottles in the bed at night.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
294 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We liked the hotel. It's beautiful and the staff is excellent. My main issue is that the rooms are dark. They are trying hard and there are about 17 lights and switches! But even with them all on, it's not the same as good old sunlight! It also is off the beaten path, a bit. But it is a very nice hotel. We were treated very well. It's upscale with the price for a double at $100. The courtyard is a very nice place to sit away from the intense horns, fumes and traffic of Thamel. It's a port in the storm. If room light isn't an issue, it's a great place!

Room Tip: All rooms are around an interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
118 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

On my previous visits to Kathmandu I always stayed at the Hyatt but this time I decided to try the Kantipur Temple House and loved it!
We stayed in a beautiful deluxe room. The whole place is peaceful and beautiful and NO plastic!
The food was great, the staff friendly and helpful. Location is great.
Definitely a place I will stay on my next visit to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We came to this hotel because of its overwhelmingly great reviews but only to leave with disappointment. Sure, it is a gorgeous hotel, absolutely beautiful to look at. But the services? basically it doesn't exist. I am sure they have more customers than they can handle and they don't really care of losing a few. They agreed to give us complimentary breakfasts and free transport to airport on the night we arrived, but then the next day, they told us we have to pay. And all the communications (in person and emails) just didn't make us feel welcome at all. No hospitality and just plain cocky. So I'd recommend you to come here to take pictures of the beautiful architecture but stay at the brand new hotel next door instead. At least the other hotel is new and would truly value your business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mokx0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Property: Kantipur Temple House
Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing