We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architectural pearl in the centre of Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kantipur Temple House
Ranked #17 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Architectural pearl in the centre of Kathmandu”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Kantipur Temple House for 2 nights in the middle of May. The hotel is built in the same style as the century old Hindu temples which are scattered throughout Kathmandu. Focus is very much on eco friendliness and awareness on leading a non waste and quality, which is very well integrated in all operations of the hotel. Lights are constantly dimmed in the corridors and rooms, most of the vegetables come from their own organic farm outside of Kathmandu (their carrot marmelade is absolutely heavenly!), safe water is served in bronze cans in the rooms and you can fill up your water bottle free of charge (no plastic bottles for sale!), free yoga lessons in the morning, and it is peaceful and very quiet! (even though it is 2 mins walk from bustling Thamel. Their service was flawless and timely. We had originally booked 3 nights, but had an unplanned layover in Nepalgunj, so came a day later. No charge, and we were even allowed to check in at 9 am in the morning in our original rooms. As an additional bonus we had made the reservation directly through the hotel - which proved to be almost 20% cheaper that going through any of the regular agents!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    245
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
81
282
132
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautifully designed and built using old decorative timber windows and doors, it feels like a small palace rather than a hotel. The staff were friendly, and our rooms were always clean. Loved the peace and quiet, although it is really only a minute away from the Thamel shopping area. The peaceful gardens were a delight after the dusty Kathmandu streets, and would recommend this for any traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My jaw dropped when I arrived at the Kantipur Temple House. It is meticulously maintained and gives you a feeling of wonder and serenity when you walk through it, especially the garden area and the courtyard area. The staff is attentive and professional and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, even if it was only for 2 nights. My only regret is that I didn't actually spend all that much time in our hotel in order to maximize my enjoyment! Most of our time was spent in Thamel and the surrounding sights. In my personal opinion, if you happen to be someone that does spend a lot of time in your hotel, Kantipur is well worth the money. However, if you are going to be out and about, and just need a comfortable place to stay, there are hundreds of different options at half the price. Another drawback is there's no aircon, but that wasn't really a bummer since it didn't get that hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tricheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee, scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is amazing, just situated off the main road, it's close proximity to Thamel, Dhurbar Square, which can both be a little hectic...... once you reach this hotel...peace and quiet and just a lovely homely feeling. The food is amazing, we tried the traditional Kathmandu set menu, plus of course their momos, and amazing lentil soup...all were amazing. The brilliant thing is the staff, always helpful, friendly, I just wanted them to come and sit down and have a cold beer with us...rooms are clean and amazingly decorated...great thing is they have solar powered hot water so it's always available to have a nice hot shower
this is the only place to stay in Kathmandu.....

Room Tip: we stayed overlooking the courtyard, which I really enjoyed, but I think any room would be nice here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Actually, it's all said by the other travelers: nice place, clean, quiet, Eco-friendly, very good food, wonderful garden, nice rooms...
I stayed here 3 times while I was in Nepal as I really felt home there. The staff and particularly the Manager did everything to make me feel safe and at home (I was traveling by myself). I was even taken to a private sightseeing walk in the neighborhood and not to forget some very nice conversation over a cup of ice-tea in the evenings... I would definitely come back here during my next trip to Nepal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely hotel with great staff. Eco focus so don't expect them to run generator all day to charge your phone. On the edge of Thamel so very quiet and peaceful but only 2 mins to the shops. No aircon or tv but who cares, you are on holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosscoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Service -
Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013, our first impression was the very helpful staffs in Kantipur. Mr. Digambar, the manager of the hotel was an excellent host. I wasn't able to book a fortune teller trip with one of the local touring agent cause it was fully booked, but Mr. Digambar booked me one through his contacts and got me a slot in the last day of my trip. Though at the end I didn't go to the fortune teller that he booked for me due to my schedule conflict, I still very much appreciated his effort to make his guests get the most of it in Kathmandu. There's nothing better than staying in a foreign country with a warm and professional host.

Setting -
It is a beautiful building with a lovely courtyard - that's the main reason we booked Kantipur when planning our trip. We had breakfast in the sunlight every morning in the courtyard, and chilled with with other travellers when the butter lamps were lit up in the courtyard every evening. Don't forget to check out the rooftop during sunset.

Food -
I have a very picky taste about coffee, but the coffee here impressed me. It was freshly brewed every morning. For main course, get the Nepali set and Indian fried rice. A cooling drink that had mint in it was magical, I forgot the name of it but the staff must know.

Location -
5 min walk to Thamel. It is near Thamel but not in it so it is convenient but at the same time you can avoid the noise. A local touring agent was nearby called "Alpine". Nice people too.

Room -
Could be a little dark but it didn't bother us. Pillows were very comfortable - that's very important to me, who has sleeping problems sometimes. They hv wifi signals every corners in the hotel.

Overall we were very impressed! The main reason I recommend Kantipur is good value and excellent service!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericachiu0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Kathmandu
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Property: Kantipur Temple House
Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing