We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and convivial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantipur Temple House
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and convivial”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Build like a newari palace, like many world's patrimonies classified temple of Katmandu, this hotel with private garden and terrace is a marvel. Rooms are beautiful, and the restaurant is really excellent. And staff very very friendly. The perfect place to stay in Katmandu

Room Tip: It's not necessary to reserve a "deluxe" room. Prefer the rooms close to the garden fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaphily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    246
    52
    20
    9
See reviews for
82
284
132
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bhavnagar, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Best place to stay and best shopping area all near by good food and very very helpfull people and the best thing is very quite and calm so that people can enjoy the peace and beauty togather no noise no polution . thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guddan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was only a one night stay but it was clean, well prepared and the staff were very, very, very polite and helpful. I felt like a true guest. The food in the morning was terrific and the staff were very obliging to help me with directions and getting services.

The atmosphere of the Temple House is what is the feature here and the amazing architecture is a true draw card. I would recommend a stay here to experience Nepal at it's best.

Room Tip: You are in the Nepal where everything is cheap. Do yourself and them a favour and choose the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenLewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed one night in Temple house.Beautiful building. Rooms were large and very comfortable. Had our evening meal at the Hotel which was really good.
Very quiet street but just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu .Loved everything about my visit. Was my Christmas pressie from my lovely daughter and her boyfriend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are looking for boutique accommodation in Kathmandu that is in Thamel, but something different to the cheap backpacker accommodation, or sprawling trekker guesthouses, then Kantipur Temple House might be just what you are looking for. While still effectively on the edge of Thamel, it is located on a very quiet lane toward Durbar Marg, about a 10 minute walk from Thamel's noisy heart. The hotel itself is something of a quiet oasis. If you want somewhere with more people and more interaction, you might want to look elsewhere.
What sets Kantipur Temple House apart from other accommodation is that it is built 1998 in the distinctive Newari architectural style that is historically indigenous to the Kathmandu valley, and more commonly seen on old Nepalese temples. The building is built in brown brick, with ornately carved window frames and features. It is five story complex, with 48 rooms set around a central courtyard atrium. Most hallways have alcoves with comfortable chairs and tables if you wish to read, write etc.
To my knowledge there is only one similar hotel in Kathmandu - the luxurious and heritage 5-star Dwarika's Hotel (located some distance from Thamel, near the Pashupatinath Hindu Temple). If you are not up to paying the much higher price at Dwarika's and want somewhere adjacent to the activity of Thamel, then I suggest you consider KTH.
Behind the high brick walls on the lane, you will find a very pleasantly manicured garden, with tables for eating, reading etc in the sun.
The hotel has two restaurants, although as far as I could see, one was primarily for breakfast and one for dinner. I didn't have dinner there - choosing to eat at the many restaurants in Thamel, however the breakfast was quite satisfactory - with juices, tea/coffee, cereals, yogurts, organic fruit, toast with organic jams, and nicely made omlettes with fried vegetables, bacon and sausage. I found the breakfast service staff to be particularly friendly and attentive. I booked my room through an online agency and breakfast wasn't included in the room rate. They charged about 600NR for breakfast. I don't know whether other packages include breakfast with the room.
The hotel makes a genuine effort to be organic and sustainable. Plastic bags are not used, garbage is recycled, solar power heats the water, drinking water is provided in jugs instead of plastic bottles, and rooms do not have airconditioning or TV.
Wifi is included in the room rate however - although I found that the service and speed fluctuated significantly during the day - but this is typical with all hotels in Kathmandu.
The other major problem was power outages. All of Nepal is currently suffering from huge power shortages, and city wide load-shedding means that the power is often out for most of the working day, and periods of night. As mentioned, this is not the fault of the hotel directly, but definitely affects guests, particularly as many of the rooms have limited natural light. (Trust me, Nepali citizens are as frustrated about the situation as you probably will be). There was a sheet in the room that identified exactly what hours of each day the power would be off for. During these times, the hotel runs on backup generators and batteries, and so there is still basic lighting, wifi, etc.
There are two standards of rooms - basic, which are quite small, and deluxe, which have about double the floor space. Both are simply furnished but comfortable and clean. The hotel has 24 hour running hot water, and in the evening on cool nights, housekeeping staff will turn down the beds, turn on electric blankets, put hot water bottles in the bed, and turn on bedroom heaters.
Many rooms do not have a desk, so if you are staying for business, or want a desk, ask for a room that has one. Note that the hotel does not have an elevator, so if you have any mobility issues, be sure to ask for a room on a lower floor.
Apparently the hotel has a rooftop terrace, but I didn't visit it, and no reference was made to while I was there - so perhaps it is mainly used in the summer?
I found the hotel pretty quick at arranging me taxis when I needed them, although make sure you take a card with the hotel phone number on it, when you return, as not all taxis know where the hotel is and will need to phone for directions. A taxi arranged from the hotel cost 500NR to the airport (around minutes depending on traffic). The hotel can also arrange an airport pickup on arrival, although it charges about US$10 for this service.
Like all hotels, laundry can be arranged by Kantipur Temple House, although there are couple of laundry services just around the corner in the next lane, that only charge 50NR per kilo for overnight service - a lot less than the hotel, particularly if you are getting EVERYTHING cleaned after trekking!
I also recommend a small flashlight or headlamp. The shortest route to the hotel from Thamel is down a lane that is not lit at night, and the ground can be potholed, or even have open manhole covers which pose a real risk in the dark. The hotel does supply small rechargeable flashlights in all the rooms.
(For those people really hanging out for a good coffee, the best I found was Himalayan Java - upstairs in Tridevi Marg, at the entrance to Thamel, across the road from Fire & Ice Pizza. The closest thing to Starbucks you will find in Kathmandu!)

Room Tip: A lower floor, facing the garden will give more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most vivid areas of Kathmandu and is like a little oasis away from the hustle and bustle outside. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The hotel itself is stunning and a great example of craftsmanship. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and the staff brings you an electric blanket and hot water holders to keep you warm for the rather chilly Kathmandu nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The great advantage here is that you are very central and can walk almost anywhere of interest,but luckily the hotel is just a few streets removed from the tourist ghetto of thamel so you are not bombarded with hawkers the moment you leave. I found the staff really friendly and helpful. I went to the restaurant several times and the Nepalese food was pretty good, although one might I chose the special of the day which was some attempt at British (it wasn't bad, but i don't need to go to Nepal for mash potatoes!)
As a lot of the reviews note, the rooms are indeed a bit dark. There is only power for a few hours in the evening, and the generator isn't that strong,but this didn't particularly bother me. The rooms are cold at night,but I thought the hot water bottles were a great touch and they were really effective.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 203 in Kathmandu
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Property: Kantipur Temple House
Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing