We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the real thing”
Review of Hotel Vajra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vajra
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's the real thing”
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed for 6 nights at the Vajra, based on the recommendation of a work colleague. The gardens and architecture are lovely. We sat in one of the several gardens every day, with tea or wine, Jasmine (I think) blossoms falling around us. We missed the dance performance, which is done weekly, because of the holiday, but that sounds like a great bonus. Since it is near the Monkey Temple, every morning I walked with the pilgrims at sunrise to watch the scene at the temple. The food was good and plentiful; and the internet works if you go to the rooftop bar. The baths are a bit moldy (the hotel is old), and the rooms on the street side are noisy, but that is cured by staying in the newer part or wearing ear plugs.

Kathmandu is a crowded, dirty, and extremely poor city. Be sure you give back a little when you travel there. Buy apples for the kids, give scraps to the dogs--spread the good karma!

  • Liked — the gardens
  • Disliked — the baths were moldy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecanyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    74
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
61
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

I was completely satisfied with my stay at Hotel Vajra. I only wish I could have stayed longer to try out their different rooms which vary in character and charm. My room was clean, charming, lovely and spacious. The staff was great and their restaurant was excellent and reasonably-priced. The hotel grounds itself makes you think of a resort- every element from sculptures to lawn chairs, architecture, interior design is soothing and relaxing. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking Thamel (5-8 minaway) and you can take a taxi to and from the city!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GRRRLTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Vajra. It was financed by Dick Bass of the Texas Bass family. Built in the original Nawari style, the rooms were lovely, clean, and large enough but not outrageous. The service and staff were impeccable. The food was wonderful and authentic. They have a large library and performing arts center inside the hotel with a resident Swami guru. All very exotic and low key at a decent price. A great view overlooking Kathmandu and near the Monkey temple without being in the middle of all the madness of Tamel. We stayed there 3 separate times while we went in and out of trekking/safari trips. They kept all our gear at no charge. Very safe and secure too. Great staff. Can't say enough about it. One of our foundest memories of a year on the road.

Stayed October 2003
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffreyrsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 18, 2006

After travelling for a month in India and trekking in Sikkim, the Vajra was a wonderful surprise and delight. Above the polluted city with a wonderful
Tibetan feel, it was a real retreat! Easy walking distance to the Monkey Temple and to Thamel district. Great bar on top with good food and drinks with a view of the city. The staff was wonderful and arranged for the Mountain Everest flight for me and city tours. Our driver stayed with us all day..
I am going back in November 2006 and will stay there again!
Betty

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Vajra for 8 nights in November 2005. The hotel's website is very accurate, as are the photographs. It's a wondeful place, very quiet, friendly, clean, good food and a nice (short) distance from all the chaos of Thamel. We stayed in a suite (4 nights in #801 & 4 nights in #901) and they were both great. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HappyMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2004

This hotel is really a home away from home in Kathmandu. The rooms are clean and comfortable and it's the staff that makes this an excellent hotel. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to Thamel. If you are looking to be right in the center of town, this would not be the best choice for you. But, if you want a quiet and friendly hotel, this hotel is a great choice. The restaurant has a wonderful menu and I especially like the rooftop patio. In the early morning you can hear the sound of monks chanting from the famous "Monkey Temple". The Monkey Temple is only a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#22 of 203 in Kathmandu
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 203 in Kathmandu
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 203 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vajra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vajra

Property: Hotel Vajra
Address: Bijeswari, Swayambhu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vajra 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vajra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vajra Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing