We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free (Us From Hotel) Tibet!”
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Free (Us From Hotel) Tibet!”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed here a total of three nights as part of a Nepal tour package -- 2 nights to start the tour and one night at the end -- in two different rooms. It’s located on a pretty quiet street across from the Radisson and a good 20-minute or so walk (sometimes with a sidewalk, sometimes on the busy streets) from the Thamel area of town.

The first room we stayed in was on the first floor; a narrow, dark room with two twin beds. There was a small table and two chairs, but it was so packed together that they weren’t really useful. The bed spreads were stained, the carpet was dirty, and the room smelled a little musty. It didn’t seem to have an air conditioner, so we had to keep the windows open in order to keep cool. We were also right above the restaurant area, so we could hear people enjoying their drinks and conversation into the night.

The second room we stayed in was on the third floor with one full bed. The room was nearly twice the size as the first, and was much more open and bright. The sitting area was nice and spread out and useful. And there was a huge air conditioner, which kept the room cool and kept the outside noise out.

Considering it came as part of our package deal, I don’t know for sure how much they charge per night. It wasn’t an awful place to stay by any means. If its part of your tour, don’t worry you’ll be fine. The place is safe, the staff is nice, and overall it’s clean. But considering it didn’t include breakfast or free wi-fi, if you have the freedom to choose accommodations there are far better places in Kathmandu closer to the action in Thamel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    156
    57
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
94
83
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Tibet for 2 nights recently and the experience can be best described as AVERAGE.

When i reached the hotel, i was warmly greeted and was offered a welcome drink. While the hotel decor is nice, what surprised me was when i entered my hotel room. The hotel room window has no view and opens directly into the walls of the adjoining hotel. Later in the day, when i called the restaurant to place a order for dinner i was told that the restaurant was shut and the operator hung up the phone.

Also the room had a very pungent smell all the while and i had to use my perfumes to get rid of it and the room service did nt answer the calls.

I would advice my fellow travellers to think twice before opting for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Island
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We found Hotel Tibet to be our respite in the overwhelming hectic Kathmandu. It's within walking distance to Thamel, but has the peace and quiet that Thamel lacks. The food and service were exceptional and the owner made sure our needs were more than adequately met. We couldn't have found a better place to stay. We are indebted to Tsering-La for sharing her "home" with us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tginml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Hotel Tibet was a nice oasis in a noisy, dusty city. My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights before and again after our Everest basecamp trek. My only complaint, as others have noted, is the noise. We were there during a heat wave, with temperatures in the 90s. The rooms were very hot, and when there was power the air conditioner seemed to make noise and move air but without any cooling efect. When the power was out, or if I got tired of the noise, I opened he window to let air in, but then had to endure the noise of the generator outside. I reall liked he included breakfast, served by very friendly staff. Lunch and dinner were fine, but nothing special. Overall, I would recommend this hotel...it is in a reatively peaceful setting, with nice gardens on a quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Raphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

As an organised group we had no choice in picking our Hotel but on seeing some of the other hotels in Kathmandu I think we did ok.

From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff were friendly and always available to help. The rooms (at least the ones we stayed in) were large twin rooms with two double beds. The showers were adequate but could have been cleaner and the towels also were less than glowing white. As I was here for a trekking holiday however I didn't really mind.

There are internet facilities but you are required to pay, a modest fee but pay nonetheless. The one major drawback was that the lift seemed to be permanently out of order but given the frequency of power cuts in Kathmandu it is probably safer to do without. The hotel is a close enough walk to Thamel, the main shopping district. Also across the street is a local supermarket which is excellent value for last minute trekking food, treats etc.

I found the restaurant food was ok but very expensive for what you could avail of by looking a little deeper. The price of a bottle of Everest means you will drink one and no more within the hotel. At about 4am every morning the generators whir into action making sleep difficult from that time onwards, unfortunately the air conditioner in our room was broken meaning we had to leave the window open making the noise even louder.

Overall our stay here was comfortable and a good experience, just don't go spending money within the hotel as there are cheaper alternatives close by.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a good mid-range hotel, with helpful friendly staff, nice areas for sitting outside and reasonable rooms. I will stay here again (not what I would say about most Ktm hotels!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

i liked this place, right next door to the raddison, would stay at the tibet every time. It's not a luxury American chain like it's neighbour, but it does have style, individualism and the personal touch. Food indifferent, but Rum Doodle's not far away. Rooms comfortable, clean and after a long time in the mountains, just what's needed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#18 of 202 in Kathmandu
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#113 of 202 in Kathmandu
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#75 of 202 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 202 in Kathmandu
775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing