We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tibetan Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tibetan Hospitality”
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Tsering and her staff run a wonderful hotel. The hotel is a peaceful oasis from an often chaotic Kathmandu. It is located in Lazimpat which is a 10-15min walk to the tourist area of Thamel. So it's close but out of the tourist chaos. The hotel decor is beautiful with amazing Tibetan carpets and tapestries. The rooms are clean and the electricity stays on (which is not always the case in Nepal). The best part is the staff. The service is wonderful and Tsering (the hotel owner), takes the time to visit with her guests and makes you feel at home. When my fiance was sick, Tsering got her mother to bring over some tibetan medicine (which worked wonders). Oh, and make sure that you check out the rooftop patio. It's really peaceful and I loved spending time up there just reading a book....

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cootfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    156
    57
    9
    4
See reviews for
38
94
83
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I accept that my view about this hotel may be overly rosy after the truly grim conditions on the Everest Base Camp immediately before and also please add the suffix "considering it's Kathmandu" after every statement, but I did like this hotel. Staff were very friendly, the location, near to but not in Thamel was relatively quiet, food was good. The room was reasonably comfortable, only one shower out of the four attempted was cold. But this is Kathmandu and one look at the rats next of electricity cables on every street corner will tell you that you aren't going to get a reliable power supply. This isnt an expensive hotel and it's not a luxury one but it's ok and the staff will do everything they can to help you. I wouldn't really recommend the "spa" though, it's about half a mile away - you get collected and you walk there - and although the massages are good the other treatments aren't. Web access is available in the lobby internet cafe style and it's very cheap.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed at the hotel as part of a trekking group from the UK. All the staff were pleasant enough but quite laid back it seemed.

Some of the rooms were quite spacious and all were clean. The only problem was the outdoor generator making a noise all night which was quite loud in some rooms, so dont forget your ear plugs.

The food was forgetable and expensive. They also refused to make some food before the restaurant closed and watch out for the 23% tax they charge on everything.

A better option would be the buffett at the Raddison opposite.

Location Wise, it was 10 minutes walk from Thamel and not far from the embassies tucked away behind the main road.

Recommended for budjet travellers, but dont expect to sleep much if you are in one of the lower floor rooms !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The service is nice indeed but the rooms and especially bathrooms are in need of a refresh. iAverage food and restaurants around are not a great alternative. The load shedding affecting the whole of Nepal means that at times there is not enough power for the elevator which can be a problem for some if you are on the 4th floor. Nor for A/C and there are no fans in the room. Plus was noisy at night. Altogether not the best value proposition. As a result we upgraded to a more expensive hotel and moved.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloupsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Everything was styled with Tibetan design and it was well looked after, this was a busy and popular hotel for group adventures. Most places were easy to get to from the hotel. Room size is hit and miss, depends on the side of the hotel, we stayed in the rooms at the front of the hotel, they were large and with less noise as generators are at the back and start early in the morning!

The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast choice was good and everything was kept topped up by staff with plenty of smiles!.

The food in the restaurant was disappointing and overpriced, on our first night I was shattered, ate in the restaurant and ordered a Thali option, expensive and not very nice and a friend ordered chicken curry, menu did not make it clear it was not boneless, also watch out for the service charge on top, drinks are expensive, you have a supermarket up the road opposite Baskin and Robbins, much cheaper if you want value for money!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sif_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I really enjoyed staying there. The staff are warm, and super friendly and accommodating. The rooms are simple, clean and well appointed. You can ask for a room with a fridge if you need it. While you're at it, ask for a room at the back. Even though the hotel's location is comparatively quiet (for Asian cities) the back is the place to be. Also: If you plan to use the wi-fi service (for a nominal charge) then tell them at the registration desk. Some of the rooms pick up the signal, and some don't. Alternatively, you can use the computer/internet room at the lobby level (for a fee). Other advice: Don't take the taxis from the Radisson stand next door. They charge multiples more than the taxis on the main road, a 3-minute walk from Hotel Tibet. Have a meal at the hotel's restaurant. Deeeelicious!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1-Global-Citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttar Kashi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2009

I have been to Nepal three times. Kathmandu can be intimidating, but the owner and staff at the Tibet Hotel have made my experience in Nepal a delight. They are located near the main shopping center of Thamel, but are in a nice quiet neighborhood next to the Radison. The traditional ambiance and the friendly, non-commercial atmosphere are a welcome relief from the usual Hotel experience. I recommend Hotel Tibet to anyone visiting Kathmandu.
Douglas Rexford, USA

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atmanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#19 of 201 in Kathmandu
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#111 of 201 in Kathmandu
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#75 of 201 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 201 in Kathmandu
775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing