We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tibet
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Manaslu(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Heranya(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gangjong(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lion(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astoria Hotel(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
257
179
61
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
179
61
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyeti barrooftop bartibetan stylemeditation roomradisson hotelminute walkhighly recommend hoteltravel deskbreakfast buffet istucked awayrooms are comfortablequiet locationcouple of nightsside streethot waterlovely hotelan oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 510 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I have never been treated better anywhere in the world. The staff are friendly, helpful and gracious. It is in a convenient location near the embassies and a short walk to Thamel. Sure, the power in the evenings is on load sharing and the water in Kathmandu isn't the best, but this jewel box of a hotel over achieves. The lobby features hand-carved wood and beautiful carpets. The roof patio features beautiful views of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I travel a lot and been to many a hotel over the years during my worldwide travels, and The Hotel Tibet is one of the most personable hotels that I've ever stayed. The Hotel Tibet stands out from the rest in that the owner and entire staff are friendly and go out of their way to try to satisfy the needs of all its guest. This is a boutique hotel tasteful done with Tibetan decorations throughout, and the garden restaurant and peaceful rooftop retreat have comfortable seating and the areas are surrounded by beautiful blooming shrubs and flowers. I stayed twice and both times the staff's concern for my welfare and their genuine friendliness made me feel most welcomed, my rooms were quite satisfactory and the food was good. I highly recommend this hotel as a home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbpSubicBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The Hotel Tibet is a little gem tucked away in an oasis of calm away from all the chaos of Kathmandu but still centrally located for exploring. Authentic Tibetan atmosphere, great value, good food, clean and comfortable rooms with ample hot water and staff who are very friendly and who cant do enough for you. So much better than large international chain hotels where you could be anywhere and get ripped off. Cant fault it and highly recommend it for all. Peter and Gaye, UK

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed here 6 nights with the Mrs. Nice room with TV. Clean. Friendly staff. OK breakfast (didn't want fancy breakfast anyway). Had dinner twice and it was good.
Felt safe. My only criticism would be that there is no "Travel Desk" - so don't expect to take any pre-planned trips or tours... you'll have to think of those yourselves. Of course, they can get taxi's for you. Oh, and walking anywhere in Kathmandu is pretty dangerous - due to crazy traffic !! We did walk... but some close shaves.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRichieRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The hotel is located close to hotel Radisson on a side road. I felt so sorry that i booked this hotel. I didn't get a chance to stay longer and review everything about the hotel as couldn't stand the rooms. It the not the kind of hotel a person would expect with 6th on the reviews count. After a 20+ hours of flight you want to settle in a nice cozy room not smelly, filthy room. I complained to the lady who booked my room online and asked to show me a better room. She moved us to different one, slightly better but not the kind of room for even a 1 star hotel by American standards. I end up paying for half day room charges and move to another hotel, tired and sleepy from the jet lag.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev13LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews