We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #40 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Subic Bay
1 review
“This hotel is a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

I travel a lot and been to many a hotel over the years during my worldwide travels, and The Hotel Tibet is one of the most personable hotels that I've ever stayed. The Hotel Tibet stands out from the rest in that the owner and entire staff are friendly and go out of their way to try to satisfy the needs of all its guest. This is a boutique hotel tasteful done with Tibetan decorations throughout, and the garden restaurant and peaceful rooftop retreat have comfortable seating and the areas are surrounded by beautiful blooming shrubs and flowers. I stayed twice and both times the staff's concern for my welfare and their genuine friendliness made me feel most welcomed, my rooms were quite satisfactory and the food was good. I highly recommend this hotel as a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbpSubicBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    147
    56
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
93
80
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coldharbour, Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

The Hotel Tibet is a little gem tucked away in an oasis of calm away from all the chaos of Kathmandu but still centrally located for exploring. Authentic Tibetan atmosphere, great value, good food, clean and comfortable rooms with ample hot water and staff who are very friendly and who cant do enough for you. So much better than large international chain hotels where you could be anywhere and get ripped off. Cant fault it and highly recommend it for all. Peter and Gaye, UK

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed here 6 nights with the Mrs. Nice room with TV. Clean. Friendly staff. OK breakfast (didn't want fancy breakfast anyway). Had dinner twice and it was good.
Felt safe. My only criticism would be that there is no "Travel Desk" - so don't expect to take any pre-planned trips or tours... you'll have to think of those yourselves. Of course, they can get taxi's for you. Oh, and walking anywhere in Kathmandu is pretty dangerous - due to crazy traffic !! We did walk... but some close shaves.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRichieRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

The hotel is located close to hotel Radisson on a side road. I felt so sorry that i booked this hotel. I didn't get a chance to stay longer and review everything about the hotel as couldn't stand the rooms. It the not the kind of hotel a person would expect with 6th on the reviews count. After a 20+ hours of flight you want to settle in a nice cozy room not smelly, filthy room. I complained to the lady who booked my room online and asked to show me a better room. She moved us to different one, slightly better but not the kind of room for even a 1 star hotel by American standards. I end up paying for half day room charges and move to another hotel, tired and sleepy from the jet lag.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev13LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Just returned from 3 weeks in Kathmandu - spent the lat week staying at the Tibet Hotel in Lazimpat. Great little place - most consistent internet connnection I had in the whole city! Great staff - small enough to be personal - large enough to have all necessary amenities. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

I enjoyed my 9 day stay at the Hotel Tibet - The decor is authentic Tibetan. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff are exceptional...very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was fairly basic, but sufficient to my needs. It is in a very handy location, within walking distance to Thamel. I would certainly stay there again. Only negatives were the price of a bottle of water and the exchange rates on offer...just up the street is the Bluebird Supermarket where the prices of groceries etc are reasonable. For money exchange go to one of the licensed dealers in Thamel as their rates are higher and set by the Government.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, AK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Hotel Tibet was wonderful. It is in a quiet location, a welcome relief from the chaos of Kathmandu. But the main attraction is the friendly and helpful staff. From the guard at the end of the driveway who smiles and salutes to the reception desk staff who are ready to help with anything, from the restaurant waiters who can help provide for just about any taste or condition of stomach, to the management who could not be more hospitable, helpful, or caring. I stayed with my two sons, ages 8 and 12, on three separate occasions during our month in Nepal. Each time we felt welcome, and ever more at home as we came back from another adventure to smiles and Namastes and a chance to share our stories. Hotel Tibet was the perfect place for us and I wouldn't even bother looking for alternatives next time we go to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#61 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#48 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#58 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#19 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing