We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #50 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hotel with heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was clearly built and decorated with love; the atmosphere is immediately warm and welcoming and the staff go out of their way to make you feel like a special guest. I highly recommend Hotel Tibet to anyone who is looking for good quality accommodation with charm, character and attention to detail at an affordable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michelle298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear michelle298570,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you liked all our services, decoration, our hotel staffs and so on.
We hope to give you even better service in future and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    146
    55
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
89
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time that I stayed at the Hotel Tibet. Both times it was before and after a trek. My stay, 2 days prior and for 5 days after a trek to the Upper Mustang, this year felt like returning to a place of comfort. The rooms are comfortable, staff friendly, and restaurant good quality. Cabs are located just down the street to get into Thamel if you don't want to walk. The walk to Thamel is challenging with the construction for the widening of Lazimpat but can be done with with little effort. I walked to a number of restaurants in Thamel to eat dinner. Hotel Tibet is a a good value and I would recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mike H,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you liked our hotel on your both visits. We are glad to know that you gave a good value to our hotel food.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel Tibet us welcoming and has a warm touch as you enter through the main door. The decor is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. They go out of their way to make you feel like you're at home and that you have everything you need. The rooms are comfortable and the atmosphere is relaxing. Staying here contributed to my great first experience of my trip to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DebbieNazareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear DebbieNazareth,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are very happy to know that you liked all our services, decoration, our hotel staffs and so on.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is nice, I was glad I didn't pay for it, because I would never spend so much money for this Hotel. It's comfortable and clean, but you can get rooms that are not much worse for like 10 percent of the price they charge here. There are no restaurants close to the hotel, so the location is also not really good.
The internet is very expensive and the breakfast also, however there's a nice bakery just around the corner where you can get a delicious cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Miriam T,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. Sorry to make you feel that our hotel is expensive but so far it is the average rate in Kathmandu according to our hotel standard, services, rooms, facilities and any other extra help to our guest when needed without hesitation.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Lazimpat area if you goggle search once or you could have kindly asked to the hotel staffs. Just next to our hotel there is a 5 star hotel naming Radisson where you have encountered bakery of the same hotel. I am sure that you could have found a very good restaurant over there as well.
We are very pleased to have you in our hotel during your stay at Kathmandu. Hope to give you even better services and information in future.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

After arriving in Nepal, Hotel Tibet was where I went first.

I loved the lobby area, it is beautiful, it made me feel like I was really in a different part of the world.
I was ill on flight over to Nepal, so I didn't actually eat anything in the evening at Hotel Tibet. There was good bathroom facilities with a hot shower, I was on the first floor, it was noisy but I was comfortable, I later stayed on the fourth floor and had no problems. Breakfast was a little disappointing compared to the rest of my stay in Nepal, everywhere else breakfast was fantastic.
Hotel Tibet's breakfast was not bad, just not to my taste.

Hotel Tibet is also in a good location, a short taxi ride to Thamel, and just around the corner there are shops.


After almost 3 weeks I did look forward to returning to Hotel Tibet on my last night in Nepal and I definitely would return!

Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy when sleeping on the first floor. When I slept on the fourth floor it was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwenllian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Gwenllian B,
Hope this reply finds you in a good health!
Thank you for your precious time in sharing your experience about the hotel!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future to provide you even better service!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

its a budget hotel a fair walk into the centre first impressions were that it was very grand and exotic I stopped a couple of days before trekking and a couple after.The first room I got was ok but on returning 11 days later we were given a room with no facilities whatsoever, after a fair amount of argy bargy we were moved to a room with toilet and wash basin Upon opening the toilet door we were knocked back by the smell I have worked in a hospital and it smelled worse than the mortuary. The person who came to see to it seemed as shocked as we were by the smell anyway I dont know what he did but thankfully the smell had gone when we returned a few hours later. Nepal is pretty third world so I really dont know how it compares it with other hotels in Kathmandu it was certainly the hight of luxury compared to some of the tea houses we stopped in but the awful smell I'll never forget

Room Tip: There is a nice roof terrace so if you are having time to relax the upper floor rooms give easier ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Matt T,
Thank you for your precious time in sharing your experience about the hotel! We are heartily sorry for what you have to suffer. In a peak season while quickly cleaning rooms and bath room’s faults could occur. On your next stay to Kathmandu we will not give a single chance to disappoint you and that’s a genuine promise.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future to provide you even better service!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at The Hotel Tibet for 2 nights whilst visiting Kathmandu. It's hard to believe that this hotel is rated 3 star. The service and standard of food was excellent. Plenty of choice at breakfast, it was hard to choose! Also, my first cup of decent coffee in over 2 weeks!! The décor throughout the hotel was of a very high standard and it was a joy to have a bathroom with piping hot water after some of exploits in India!! The location was great - very quiet. All of the staff were very attentive. The Yeti bar on the top floor is a great place to sit and relax in the evening after a full day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Kim A,

Thank you for your precious time in sharing your experience about the hotel! We believe in satisfaction of guest and making them happy by giving all the possible services from our side.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future to provide you even better service!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#60 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#48 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#57 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing