We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in the Heart of Kdu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #39 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Heart of Kdu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We checked into Hotel Tibet on the 25th of October, 2012 and immediately were greeted by a friendly staff. All smiles and willing to help with everything, the staff makes you feel like you're a VIP guest. The hotel itself is fantastically decorated with intricate detail in regards to woodwork and interior design. You can tell the owners of Hotel Tibet truly care about their property and the guests' experience. The restaurant at the property does a great breakfast, lunch and dinner...good variety, good prices. The outdoor patio to eat and drink and spend time with friends and family is very nice. I highly, highly recommend the hotel for anyone who needs to stay in Kdu for a few nights, or even a week or more. We'll be back next October!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear James B,

Namaste and Tashi delek!

Yes, we do truly care about our property and especially the experience our guests have had during their stay with us. It gives us immense joy to know that you enjoyed all our facilities and services.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we really look forward to giving you the VIP treatment next October!

Best regards,
Roji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    147
    56
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
93
80
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Tibet is my favourite hotel in Katmandu always such a warm welcome and it has the new Yeti Bar on the delightful roof terrace. We had a fabulous last evening with friends on comfortable sofas and the white drapes were pulled as dusk fell making such a lovely ambience with attentive, friendly bar staff. The food is stil yummy, especially the typical Tibetan Momo's! They have opened a spa next door offering fantastic massage, great after a long journey and trekking. The Terrace and Potala garden are still a great place to relax after the hussel and bustle of Thamel. I'll definately be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Alice G,

Namaste and Tashi delek!

Thank you so much for choosing us as your favorite hotel! It seems that you have tried out all our outlets and services - Potala Garden, Yeti Bar and Terrace, Shambala SPA etc

We really look forward to your next visit :-)

Best regards,
Roji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel Tibet is centrally-located, in a quiet location off a side street (near the Rasmusson). Mid-priced, it also offers attractive group rates which made our stay (totaling 4 nights) extremely good value. All the staff are friendly and efficient, creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble. Bedrooms are large, clean and comfortable, with individual air conditioners (that work!). The restaurant offers quality food, catering for all tastes (the Nepalese and Indian dishes are particularly to be recommended), while the roof-top bar is an added bonus. After the 'rigours' of travelling up-country, it was a pleasure to return to the comforts of this homely hotel and to be greeted by a genuine 'welcome back'.
Warwick Franklin

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Warwick F,

Namaste and Tashi Delek!

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay especially the newly opened yeti bar!

Our staff looks forward to giving you a genuine 'welcome back' again in the near future!

Best Regards
Roji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A group of us spent 3 days at this hotel. It is very well run with very good service and unlike some others, it has trustworthy wiring and plumbing. Food is good to and prices very reasonable. Interestingly, they charge per person whether you have a single or double room. At present, the nearby main road is being widened so is a mess but a quick taxi ride gets you anywhere (should be no more than 500 R to Durbar Sq). Nearby shops are few and higher priced than elsewhere. I can't understand why this hotel is not higher rated among those in Kathmandu.
Hotel seems to be largely favoured by trekkers rather than locals.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the front will be quieter. I had dogs barking and some kind of generator much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quicksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Quicksy,

Namaste and Tashi Delek!

Thank you so much for your review. Yes, we do have trust worthy wiring and plumbing as it is most necessary. As you have mentioned food served in our various outlets are good and very reasonably priced. Our property being 15 years old, we have become a favorite for trekkers and other individual travelers for our good service and friendly staff.

We hope to see you again!

Best Regards
Roji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Tibet in Kathmandu for 3 nights. It is a smaller "homey" hotel with all of the conveniences of any hotel. It is owned by a family from Tibet, and was built in the 50's. the finish and decorating are magnificent! The staff were all very helpful - and the food and service were great. We stayed before after a trek to the Annapurna Base Camp - and felt as if we were returning home on our return. The hotel is in a vert quiet neighborhood, yet convenient to walk to area attractions. There is no doubt where we would stay if we return to Kathmandu!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front, higher level preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Mr.Jim,

Namaste and Tashi Delek!

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are very pleased to know that you liked our hotel and our services. It was really nice talking to you and your colleague.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Thank you,
Roji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharamsala, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a super hotel, with a beautiful view and very helpful, well-trained staff. The atmosphere was warm and homey and we felt welcome and cared for. The entire hotel, and our very spacious room with its own terrace are very tastefully decorated in the TIbetan style, and the room had all the amenities one can expect. The restaurant serves wonderful meals and there is also a pleasant open terrace for tea or drinks (or even full meals). A visit to the Spa is just heaven. Thank you!

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room, but it was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Tashi Delek!
Roji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Tucked away from all the noise and the hustle and bustle of mainstream Kathmandu, this little hotel is a Gem! Clean rooms, good food and friendly service is all that you need and that is exactly what you will get. Close to the main shopping area (Thamel) and with it's only backyard of local fare, the hotel is perfect for a quick stopover, to your travels in Nepal . Would defiitely receommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parvathi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Namaste!

Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#62 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#20 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing