We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis that makes you feel at home”
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #41 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Tibet in Kathmandu for 3 nights. It is a smaller "homey" hotel with all of the conveniences of any hotel. It is owned by a family from Tibet, and was built in the 50's. the finish and decorating are magnificent! The staff were all very helpful - and the food and service were great. We stayed before after a trek to the Annapurna Base Camp - and felt as if we were returning home on our return. The hotel is in a vert quiet neighborhood, yet convenient to walk to area attractions. There is no doubt where we would stay if we return to Kathmandu!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front, higher level preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Mr.Jim,

Namaste and Tashi Delek!

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are very pleased to know that you liked our hotel and our services. It was really nice talking to you and your colleague.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Thank you,
Roji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 476 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a super hotel, with a beautiful view and very helpful, well-trained staff. The atmosphere was warm and homey and we felt welcome and cared for. The entire hotel, and our very spacious room with its own terrace are very tastefully decorated in the TIbetan style, and the room had all the amenities one can expect. The restaurant serves wonderful meals and there is also a pleasant open terrace for tea or drinks (or even full meals). A visit to the Spa is just heaven. Thank you!

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room, but it was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Tashi Delek!
Roji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Tucked away from all the noise and the hustle and bustle of mainstream Kathmandu, this little hotel is a Gem! Clean rooms, good food and friendly service is all that you need and that is exactly what you will get. Close to the main shopping area (Thamel) and with it's only backyard of local fare, the hotel is perfect for a quick stopover, to your travels in Nepal . Would defiitely receommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parvathi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Namaste!

Roji
GRE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have been lodging for 6 das in october at Tibet Hotel.I have appreciate every moment. The hotel is well located rar enough from the noise and the dust of Katmandhu but near enough Thamel(15 minutes walk). The room are clean and confortable The food is good but most of it the staff is very kind. Also the service of the travel desk is very effective. They booked all my plane;porters and visit with rapid services and good prices.It is an excellent choice of hotel You will not regret it

Room Tip: Room 503 was fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 149ALebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Should we be of any assistance in your future travel plans to Nepal, we will be more than happy to offer excellent service as per your expectation.
Thank you and Namaste!
Roji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Tibet, on my way to and from Mount Kailash in Tibet.

I like this hotel a lot. I used to stay here more than 10 years ago. They still have the same friendly and warm staff, which had left a deepmimpression on me in the earlier visit. The hotel has recently bee renovatd and is really very attrative. They hava an Illy Coffee bar, and the food is good.

Hard to say why exactly, probably a matter of many factors, but this is my favorite hotel in Kathmandu. I just veel really comfortable there. I can safely reccomed this place

Room Tip: Back side away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for appreciating our renovation and our new outlets i.e. ILLY coffee bar, Yeti bar and terrace (5thfloor), Shambala SPA, Meditation room and others…..
It is an honor to have you back as our guest after 10 years and hope to be of service in the near future. Most of the staff still remain the same as we are one big family.
Thank you for your precious time in sharing your experience about the hotel!
Namaste!
Roji
GRE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is upmarket for Kathmandu. The people are very friendly. Excellent food. Noise is at a minimum. Security excellent. The people at reception were most oblidging. Could not fault the services of Manira and Roji. Definitely recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swr99063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay along with your children.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Tashi Delek!
Manira and Roji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Rooms average (although I liked the Tibetan feel), tidy but not very 'clean' with the air smelling of dust, breakfast average (could add a few more options), hot chocolates in the lobby are, however, great! I found the day people on reception are lovely, in particular. I have stayed in several different hotels in Kathmandu and they don't need to smell of dust.

The new arrangements for internet use (which commenced in September 2012) are incredibly irritating (short use and having to pay and every time the power cuts and generator kicks in you are kicked out of the internet and have to log in... often, as the power cuts occur often).

Many rooms are noisy from a machine outside the window, and one side of the building is incredibly close to another so needing to keep curtins closed for any privacy.

Airconditioning is on a timer so rooms can get hot until the aircon kicks in, and in my case the aircon was so loud and clunky that I couldn't have it on during the night as it kept me awake.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel are good - not much traffic on the lane although Hotel Manaslu n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobkate12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. As per your comments we have added more options to our breakfast buffet and serviced the air conditioner for less noise. Pardon us for the interruption in internet when the power goes off but we do have a back up generator. We have conveyed your kind words to our day receptionist.

Thank you very much for your valuable time.

Namaste!
Roji
GRE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#111 of 210 in Kathmandu
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $56 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing