We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff,”
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #41 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a stop over at Hotel tibet,on our way to Pokhara, wish we could have stayed longer. clean and comfortable rooms, with very friendly staff. Had dinner there which was tasty and reasonably priced. Had to have a take away breakfast which was wholesome. (egg, jam sandwich, apple and a juice). Read previous reviews, and most were positive, which we agree totally.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janee149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tibet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 463 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

After a trek in the mountains, this place would probably seem like a slice of heaven with its hot showers and pretty terrace. However, everything here costs, and for a mid- price hotel it can be quite expensive. In particular, avoid the Internet, both the virus-ridden computers in the lobby, and the ridiculously expensive and excruciatingly slow and unreliable wifi; head around the corner onto the main road to one of the many cyber cafes for fast and cheap connection.
The rooms here are also highly variable, with the ones at the front being much bigger and in better repair. I stayed here twice, both pre and post trek, and was unlucky enough to get a back room, facing a wall, which was small and pokey. Bathroom also old and dirty (though with the aforementioned hot showers).
Staff in the restaurant very friendly, and this can be a lovely place to wile away a few hours, but the included breakfast was quite disappointing. Reception staff also outwardly friendly, but were not very good at damage control or meeting special requests.
Overall, you can do better for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Not more than 10 minutes from the "travelers shopping bazar" The Thamel , few minutes from the "dream gardens" and surrounded by few good restaurant , stood this hotel . You shall not be able to hear the noise of the street, nor the motorcycles using their widely use horn.
You may ask the taxi to bring you to the Radisson, but do not go into this expensive hotel, just turn right and see the sign on the 5th floor. HOTEL TIBET (Notice - another hotel by the same management is called Tibet International " but has a different location, some 30 minutes away - and much more expensive ).
Staff friendly (upon arrival you get a glass of juice and at departure a surprise!).
Clean, quiet, friendly Ideal for us that have to spend 7 days and after morning walk have to work , use e mail and air condition and a good hot shower !)
.

Room Tip: As there are many electricl break so there is no elevator ( still a generator supply other facil...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tayarhmazoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hotel Tibet was an excellent introduction to Nepal. Its a little away from the busy area of Thamel (about a 10 to 15 minute walk) but not too far from the main road and a supermarket. The staff were very helpful and nothing was much trouble for them.

I felt they could market there Tibetan cuisine a lot better as their menu seemed to have a lot of other stuff though that may be what people want. However, the place is not too far from lots of lovely restaurants so you will not starve.

If I go to Kathmandu, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buccaneer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel Tibet is a very special find. Have stayed at this hotel two years in a row, for a week each time. Couldn't ask for more. Quiet, spotlessly clean, comfortable; professional, friendly, dependable staff go the extra mile to meet individual needs of their guests. Aware of my mobility problems, their driver picked our party up at the airport with a wheel chair and the hotel provided me with assistance on shopping and sightseeing trips - even in going up and down their elevator to my room - ensuring that even this disabled senior citizen could have a wonderful time experiencing Kathmandu. Great breakfast buffet, room service and restaurant meals. Excellent, prompt e-mail communication. Heartily recommend Hotel Tibet!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been visiting Nepal fairly regularly since 1980, and watching Kathmandu grow so much. Hotel Tibet is a great base for getting work done, having meetings, visiting friends and colleagues, and shopping. The staff is helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, and the restaurant has something delicious for herbivore and carnivore alike. Don't forget to visit the rooftop retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlah545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us and to know that you had a most enjoyable stay!

We look forward to your visit in the future.

Thank you,
Roji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Namaste! The hotel is tucked away behind a street and down an alley. There is security all the time. It is right in front of the Radisson which is easy to tell taxis. There are lots of taxis outside the Radisson, which is down the alley. They tend to be more expensive. Go down the street and get a cheaper taxi. It's about 15-20 minute walk from Thamel. The place has good air con units which is important for the summer. There are extra blankets in the room. The room had 2 twin beds. The beds were a little hard. The people were very nice and helpful. The security guards always salute you. It's near a market (which opens at 10am). Don't do laundry at the hotel. They charge per piece. You can go to a laundry service and pay per kilo. I stayed here with GAP adventure. I think I would have preferred something closer to Thamel where there is more action. Breakfast isn't included. The hotel was a little more expensive for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel04marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#18 of 207 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#109 of 207 in Kathmandu
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#73 of 207 in Kathmandu
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $52 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing