We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a work of art”
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #41 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife and I recently visited this beautiful hotel that has recently opened in Kathmandu. It combines sleek comfortable modern furnishings with authentic Tibet architecture and design. The richness of the craftsmanship—carvings, painting, textiles, etc. and attention to fine detail created a wonderful environment. A wonderful memory of our time in Nepal.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank CA108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 476 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stay at the recently opened Hotel Tibet near the Boudhanath stupa in Kathmandu. Pricing was very reasonable and the rooms were well appointed. Just a short walk from the stupa which I was able to visit nightly. Very easy to grab a taxi just outside the hotel, the staff was also very helpful in arranging a car if needed. What made my stay most enjoyable was the staff. They were were friendly, personable and willing to help me with what ever I needed taken care of. They spa was also fantastic and I could usually just walk right in for a massage. I would highly recommend this the Hotel Tibet!

Room Tip: The third floor and above have a good view. I stayed on the side away from the street to be away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenm415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff, loved the doorman. I enjoyed the location, just a 15 minute walk from Thamel's craziness and away from traffic noise. The lobby is amazing; the rooms, especially the bathroom, are rather tired but comfortable and relatively clean-ish by Nepalese standards. Hot water always worked fine. Breakfast is simple, muesli, toast and eggs. The restaurant serves decent dishes in a lovely garden. I'd come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Looks great from the lobby but sadly the rooms and the service do not match the initial impression given. My bed cover was stained with "human bodily fluids" (which is putting it politely) and I had to ask three times for this to be changed. When the staff finally got around to doing it, they sent up a very surly young man who told me that they had no clean bedding as the hotel was fully booked up. When I said that they must have a linen cupboard with spare bedding, he just looked at me blankly. After the intervention of our tour leader, they miraculously managed to find some clean bedding - all the while insisting that the staining was just from beer.....

Other members of my group suffered similar experiences - one of whom had blood stained sheets and no hot water, others complained of grubby towels in the bathrooms and floors that had not been cleaned thoroughly. At breakfast, both the cold milk and the butter were off, and the lid to the hot milk jug had not been secured properly meaning that it emptied all over the floor (and my legs) when used.

The fact that my room had a decent shower, fortunately with hot water, is the only redeeming feature. Might have been a nice hotel once but has sadly let standards slip very far.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Enjoyed our short stay here in this delightful hotel well placed with a 15min walk to The Thamel.
Nice ensuite rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Just ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFW15061955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Forget the Radisson Hotel. Forget the Mallon Hotel. Head for the diminutive Hotel Tibet. Why? Well, I have tried the lot over the past 15 years. For me the Hotel Tibet is perfect. Reasonable price ($60 per room/per night). Great ethnic ambience.Centrality. Intimate. Friendly. Personal. These are qualities this hotel has in abundance.It's not every day you can walk up to one of the directors and give them a big hug. I do this on a regular basis and Tsering Dolkar Lama returns me a huge smile and a 'Thank you Stephen'. I bet no -one will EVER remember your face, let alone your name, in the bigger, expensive Western hotels.

Room Tip: To avoid sound from the ghastly night club at the Radisson (opposite) select a room at th rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shackleton1654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here waiting for our house to be decorated for two weeks. It is a no frills hotel, but comfortable, quiet rooms. A/c that worked, hot water. Menu is fine for a short stay. Location is quiet. What makes it such a great place to stay is the friendly staff who do their best to make you feel less like a visitor and more like a guest. The smart salute from the doorman made the start of everyday a pleasure. The lobby is a real work of Tibetan art, dark carved wood. It's not a western hotel in the sense the nearby Radisson is, but is none the worse for that. As an introduction to Nepal it could hardly have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#111 of 210 in Kathmandu
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $56 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing