We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manaslu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Manaslu
Ranked #105 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
UK
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice hotel
Shame about the ants in the bed - but nice rooms otherwise
Bit out of town - but only 200 - 300 ruppes taxi ride
Main road to Thamel - under major reconstruction and very very dusty and no footpaths as such
Shame they charge for internet - you cannot log off and use the rest of the hr at a later stage - you buy it - it lasts for just 1 hr form that time
Great Breakfast - in fact - best in 4 weeks in Nepal

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear customer,
Thanks for making your time available to write a review about your stay in Hotel Manaslu. We are very pleased to have such a review from you.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. You are satisfied with various aspects of our hotel, it will act as a boost to encourage us to provide more standard and satisfying service to the customers like you. And i like to say you that we are taking a immediate response for the inconvenience you have felt during the stay. Now our main motto is to go through the drawbacks our customers have felt and guests shouldn't feel the inconvenience they have felt this time in the future stay.
Once again thanking you we are looking for your next arrival and looking forward to welcome you again.
Hoping for your kind support in the near future.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    100
    70
    15
    22
See reviews for
31
39
32
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winthrop, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have stayed at $10/nite hotels in Katmandu and at $170/nite ones. Hotel Manaslu is about what I thought I'd get for $65/nite. But, you have to ask to see a couple of rooms; the first one I was sent to had a tiny window out to the dark courtyard, so I asked for a bigger window and I got a balcony. Now, granted, it was not one over-looking the lovely pool (and there are some) but looked out on a sort of alley, but it was fine and sunny and ...fresh air. I don't like AC, so I never tried it. The water pressure was fine. Sheets & towels were fine. I liked the lobby, and the garden and pool and open-terrace area were great. When I needed an electric adapter, I got it quickly. Yes, the restaurant is sorta dark and breakfast wasn't so great; so go elsewhere. I thought the people at the front desk were quite helpful. I liked this place and I think it is just about what I'd expect for $65/nite outside noisy Thamel.

Room Tip: Higher floor; big window or (better) balcony; facing pool/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhancock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are very pleased to have a words about your stay in Hotel Manaslu. Thanks for making your your time available from your busy schedule to write a review in TripAdvisor about our Hotel Manaslu.

It is pleasure for all the manaslu team to know that you are satisfied with our services as well as rooms. Our all the staffs are so much happy to know that you have appreciated their service. Our main motto is to serve the guests in the satisfied manner which comes into result by your review.
And we assure you that we will be providing the best service to our customers in more managed way in the near future.

Looking forward for your support and the chance for welcoming you again.

With Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Bugs in the room, carpet more than 20 years, water flood from bathroom, breakfast horrible. Nothing here worst it. The AC system is so old, stincky and very noisy. They want to look like but it's just horrible. So if you are ready to spend 70 dollars, go elsewhere

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Spielben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear customer,
We are very pleased to have your review in the tripadvisor. It is very disappointing that you said that its the worst place to stay in Kathmandu. The experience you have mentioned does not match with our hotel services.
I like to remind you that our hotel is pioneer in providing quality service and room with traditional features and you can go through other reviews to know about our hotel.

Thanking you i beg you not to spread the rumors about our hotel so that it will affect our business.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Pontevedra, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

+ very good food and beverages
+ professional and well-dressed staff
+ spacious lounge
+ the water didn’t smell bad as in Hotel Tibet
+ nicer and more spacious rooms
+ very professional and friendly restaurant staff


- no elevator
- not good hot water supply ; water pressure not that strong
- worse or similar breakfast than at Hotel Tibet
- understaffed or just busy– at breakfast, no one was there ready to assist us and the other guests
- breakfast – everything had no label (coffee? Cold milk? Hot milk? Tea?)
- no kitchen exhaust system - all smoke from the kitchen went to the dining area/ restaurant (but there’s a place next to the lounge where you can be safe from the smoke)
- the staff didn’t help my husband bring the luggage to our room. Well, we checked in first and then right after, my husband got our luggage from Hotel Tibet. When he arrived at Hotel Manaslu, he said that nobody seemed to care as all the staff were so busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xhai Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thanks for your valuable review you have made about Hotel Manaslu.
We felt very pleasure to hear that you are satisfied with the services provided. We are glad for succeeding to make your stay in hotel manaslu a memorable stay. And we are sorry for the inconvenience you have felt during your arrival.

We will be very happy to have you in the hotel manaslu for the next time and getting the chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed by this hotel. Despite its reputation and price range the hotel had very small dirty rooms. The staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful and the lobby and stairs were dirty and looked like they had not been cleaned for some time. The restaurant was gloomy and the waiters were unfriendly and had rather bad manners. The only upsides were the pool and the music in the lobby. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dc1794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thanks for making your time available to write some words about our Hotel Manaslu in TripAdvisor.
I am feeling very sorry for the inconvenience you have felt during your stay. It makes us disappointing as well as it act as a catalyst to make our service better. And i want to assure you that it will not happen to you again.

Thanking for your review again and waiting for your next arrival in Hotel Manaslu.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Front Desk - Friendly and helpful with good English Skills
Reception area - Clean and spacious. Lots of seating.
Room - Clean - Good bed - Hot shower - CATV with English Channels - Plenty of room - Good A/C.
Restaurant - Only ate breakfast there but it was good and plentiful. They have outdoor seating which is covered. For other meals the prices seemed reasonable. They also have a full service bar in the restaurant.
Pool - It looks nice but we didn't use it.
Location - Secluded and quiet. There is shopping in the nearby alley. This includes a "Big Mart which has everything you need. It's very close to the French Embassy.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the bigger, newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowriverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for making a time to write such a detailed and valuable review about your stay in Hotel Manaslu. Our whole management team is feeling so much happy to know we are able to make your stay worthy and memorable during your stay in Nepal.

Looking forward for the chance to serve you in your next arrival.
Thanking you.

Best regards
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice. I am writing my review for the first visit. The very first impression of this hotel is not good as it is located in street inside a street. That street is so narrow that sometimes 2 cars can't come at same time. Reception is also not very grand, just OK. However, people at reception are nice and they try to understand your concerns. I am sure you will get 2 different views from people about this hotel. Because they have one section of rooms which are old, have window AC which are very noisy and rooms are extremely small. For the same charges, you have other section of rooms having LCD, split AC, big window panes and bigger rooms. I was given the smaller room earlier but then I requested and they happily moved me to bigger room. Now talking about bigger rooms where I spent most of my time, these rooms are clean, decent mattress, though extremely small bathrooms but I suppose it is OK if everything else is fine.
They have a not so big, not small swimming pool where people can be seen on Saturdays.
One thing that I hated most about this hotel is that there were cats in the hotel and also in the restaurant where we had our food. It was really irritating and unhygienic.
One thing that I liked about their hotel was their staff which was though not of a 5 star hotel level, but were friendly and were always ready to talk and address your concerns. Overall, I would say it was a decent hotel if you ask for a good room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are garden facing. These are bigger rooms and has better view. Or else, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrqTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thanks for making your time available to write the review about your stay in the Hotel Manaslu twicely. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with our staffs as well as you liked the food.
You have mentioned some of the things that make you disappointing,for which we are feeling very sorry. For your kind information we have gone through the problems and done with our much effort in the way to solve them.

Thanking you again for the review and looking for your next arrival in the near future.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#46 of 193 in Kathmandu
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,044 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#69 of 193 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manaslu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manaslu

Property: Hotel Manaslu
Address: 230 Hotel Marg | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Manaslu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1972, Hotel Manaslu has kept the proud heritage of Nepal alive throughout its operating years of inimitable service and warm hospitality. Taking pride in the renowned craftsmanship of Nepali artisans, splendid examples of their craft, including many ancient pieces that have been carefully restored, have been incorporated in its architecture. For an intimate experience of Nepal's art and culture, welcome to Hotel Manaslu, a heritage hotel in the truest sense of the word. We could not be more conveniently located-near the old royal palace, close to many important embassies, and at the center of commercial activities, just 10 minute walking distance from the the popular tourist district of Thamel. Although located at such a busy hub, you will find peace and serenity amidst the harmonious surroundings of Hotel Manaslu, your best accommodation in Kathmandu. "At Manaslu, we combine splendor with Nepalese Hospitality. A model of elegance and services with all the comforts of home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manaslu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaslu Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing