We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality cannot be beaten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Manaslu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Manaslu
Ranked #98 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hospitality cannot be beaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

As a single female traveller the friendliness of the staff is quite important in terms of me feeling comfortable. Surendra and the team at the hotel made me feel welcome and relaxed. The hotel is spaced out enough not to feel that all guests are on top of each other which was great as i visited in busy season and the hotel was almost at capacity, but i didnt want for a table at breakfast, outside or help when required from the staff. Kathmandu has powercuts, it happens, but the hotel generator never left us in the dark for more than 3 mins. The curry was good, the breakfast plentiful, dont expect European but its varied and a good cup of tea at any time of the day. I was pleased in terms of the location as its a fairly straight walk into the main lively district where i have to be honest after spending an evening there (and having a good time) i was pleased i wasn’t staying there. Hotel Manaslu was quiet and peaceful. I would advise taking your own hairdryer if you need one frequently as its a shared system at the hotel.

Room Tip: my room overlooked the garden on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDtravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanaslu, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Respected madam and kindly thank you so much for giving time to write review and share many and many experience of hotel manaslu kathmandu,Nepal.i lke your fabulous experience and encouraging ,appreciating behavour.As you said our staff is so nice, helpful and as a single female you feel so comfortable to talk to staff.our hotel family is so happy to listen this encouraging review..i am confident that next time you would visit hotel manaslu with your hausband as well as your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    100
    68
    14
    22
See reviews for
30
37
32
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Manaslu came highly recommended by our travel agent, but we were rather disappointed. The first room we were offered was a dank and smelly whole over the pool, which we were able to escape after talking to the manager. The room we actually stayed in was on the top floor with a view over the nearby city. the beds were comfortable, and the room had a good size. The Air condition was loud and only worked intermittently. The Bathroom was not inviting in design or smell. Worse of all was the quality of water, but that is not the hotels fault that is just Kathmandu. We can not recommend the food in the hotel either, it was expensive and not worth the money. For coffee go next door to the Hotel Tibet, they have a lovely garden and good Italian coffee.

Room Tip: We had room 403, and at least we had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anvigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for Writing Review of Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

As I said in the title. Very clean hotel with friendly staff. Only problem was pool was too cold to swim in and what looked like a hot tub attached to the pool was only a smaller cold pool. Great for watching little kids. But not for a relaxing swim. The garden was beautiful and relaxing and the food was fabulous

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Kindly respected our valuable guest and thank you for giving time to write review and share experience about hotel manaslu kathmandu,Nepal.Through your review ,we know that you like so best service provided by our hotel.you enjoy in swimming pool playing with little kids.you like our relax garden and fabulous food .I like your superb experience and welcome to our hotel for your whole family .Next time we will provide excellent services and make no comments environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I got chance to visit hotel manaslu laste feb 2013 it was peaceful environment, the foods was really delicious but i like continental food, the nice things was when i was roaming around the garden i feel peaceful , the rooms was very clean and tidy, staff r kind and helpful.....it was so appreciate monument in Nepal....:))

Room Tip: I refer Near to the swimming pool room the corner one.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooldude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Respected our honourable guests and thank you so much for writing review in Tripadvisor and sharing experience of Hotel Manaslu Lazimpat,Kathmandu,Nepal.Firstly,we are feeling so glad by hearing that you like continental food and excellent cleanliness room.we are so proud to serve our valuable guests and hope you and yours family will visit hotel manaslu again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

last march 14/3/2013 i went nepal and stay hotel manaslu.i stay there one week.i like the food of that hotel.the facilities in that hotel i like the best like different things such as swimming pool,garden as well the culture like newari culture rights and rituals are the best.thankyou

Room Tip: i like the corner place of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strange F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Respected our Valuable guests and thank you so much for sharing the experience in Tripadvisor about Hotel Manaslu Kathmandu,Nepal.I like your excellent experience of enjoying in swimming pool ,garden view and also good taste of food.i think your one week staying in Hotel manaslu was so happiest and comfortable.we are so appreciated to do more works and feel so kind when our valuable guests like our facilities and excellent services given by Hotel Manaslu.Hope you and yours whole family will visit comming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Its seems to be a hotel for those who love Nepalese heritage. A bit old building with few renovation made this hotel quite liveable. Rooms are ok but need to renovate/change the furniture. Breakfast menu is better compare to other same rated hotels. Location is good and you will find transportation easily. Room service & House-keeping is close after 10:30pm so you need to think a bit before you check in this hotel. Overall, staying is average.

Room Tip: Try to get the room from 1st floor and in the middle ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faisal021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for Writing Review of Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

In the heart of the Kathmandu, Hotel Manaslu is situated, staffs of the Hotel from Managing Director to Guard, all gives a warm welcome, any moment you will not feel that you are away from home.The rooms are very spacious, with comfortable mattresses.. The food is excellent as per your requirement. As I was staying in Room number 312, with a the pool facing... excellent view.

Room Tip: Recommend Room number 312, excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirenBose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Humbly and Kindly Respected BirenBose sir and thank you for writing review and sharing your excellent experience about Hotel Manaslu Kathmandu,Nepal.I like your experience of warm welcome from managing director to guard.our hotel is the traditional hotel with Nepalese Hospitality and you find the traditional nepalese hospitality by visiting the hotel manaslu.I like your excellent experience that you feel hotel manaslu as a home.Next time you will visit hotel manaslu with your happy family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#50 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#55 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manaslu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manaslu

Property: Hotel Manaslu
Address: 230 Hotel Marg | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Manaslu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1972, Hotel Manaslu has kept the proud heritage of Nepal alive throughout its operating years of inimitable service and warm hospitality. Taking pride in the renowned craftsmanship of Nepali artisans, splendid examples of their craft, including many ancient pieces that have been carefully restored, have been incorporated in its architecture. For an intimate experience of Nepal's art and culture, welcome to Hotel Manaslu, a heritage hotel in the truest sense of the word. We could not be more conveniently located-near the old royal palace, close to many important embassies, and at the center of commercial activities, just 10 minute walking distance from the the popular tourist district of Thamel. Although located at such a busy hub, you will find peace and serenity amidst the harmonious surroundings of Hotel Manaslu, your best accommodation in Kathmandu. "At Manaslu, we combine splendor with Nepalese Hospitality. A model of elegance and services with all the comforts of home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Manaslu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaslu Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing