We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor: stay elsewhere”
Review of Hotel Manaslu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Manaslu
Ranked #109 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We were booked into the Hotel Manaslu as part of a 10-day mountain bike trip we took part in. We spent the first 4 nights of our tour there, after having stayed in a couple of other hotels in Kathmandu the week prior. When we arrived, we were told that a room with a double bed would be ready for us later that day. A few hours later, both us and another couple were told that our rooms had been given away. We were put into a room with 2 singles and a bathroom that smelled like a sewer. Throughout the experience, the staff gave you the dirtiest looks if you aske for anything at all, or dared to complain that you couldn't breathe in your bathroom, or mentioned you saw a rat in the kitchen (true story). The location of this hotel is also terrible, as you have to walk 10 minutes along a poorly lit, busy road to get anywhere with signs of life. And they charge for Internet, which no other hotel we have stayed in in Nepal has done. It felt like a shabby hotel trying to dress itself up as upscale by charging more and putting their staff in matchig uniforms. Do yourself a favor: stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Landylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Manaslu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 261 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a few times as we got booked in through our tour operator and got to see all sorts of sides to the hotel... It has some beautiful rooms, which we got when we paid ourselves, and some aweful ones, which we got put into through the group booking. To give credit - at least they moved us when we complained. The whole place is also getting a major upgrade, which meant construction noise 24/7!! No night breaks!!
For the next few months I'd go elsewhere. Afterwards, providing they don't put the prices up, it'll be a decent option. Don't pay more than 80USD - that's already a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berty2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for Writing Review of Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

this hotel is just 1km/15 min walk from Thamel, wery quiet place, nice garden and small swimming pool, friendly staff.they just finishet renovation and all area around.this 3 * is good, i like it.next time i will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marek n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for Writing Review of Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for the first two days of nepal trip. water in the shower smells funny. Shower room is locared in a weirdcorner of tge room and water pressure is very low. Sent clothes for laundry and we asked for express service but din get our clothes until next sday when we arr.checking out. Had to call receptionist to check on the laundry and their attitude is less than desirable. The receptionists are borderline rude and argue that our laundry is express,.just not sent to us amd hence we have to pay the 50%surcharge. We refused to pay and after argument, they gave in. Breakfast supose to be fr 630 and we had to wait till 7 to have only few things like boiled egga and cereal to eat. We were suppose to be staying for the last two nights of our trip but decided to change hotel because the hotel is just very disappointing.
Location wise its 15 minutes walk to thamel street. Note the road in kathmandhu is not vwry pleasant for walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PohYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for Writing Review of Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This Hotel is situated at Lazimpet and next to Famous Hotel Radission Kathmandu .Hotel rooms are neat decorated in traditional Nepali art .It has got a swimming pool and USP of hotel is the location which in very centrally located and all happening places are at walking distance.Food is great with excellent room service Over all great value for money

Room Tip: Casino at hotel radisson is next door..
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vipul6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for writing review of our Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed here for as long as 15 days in continuity and i have enjoyed every bit of it.
The rooms here have a touch of both traditional and modern looks. Staff are very cordial. Services are prompt except ocassionaly when there is a huge rush which shouldbe perfectly understandable.
All efforts have been put to ensure that the stay was pleasant & I would definitely recommend to future travellers.

Piyush Kothari

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiyushKothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for writing review of our Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed three nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. We stayed on two different occasions and had two different rooms. One was a bit cozier than the other but we were comfortable and had no complaints. The rooms were quaint, clean and we slept well. Our air conditioner worked and wasn't really noisy, we were able to sleep. We enjoyed the food and would definitely stay at the Hotel Manaslu again. There were also some very convenient shopping that could be done by some very nice and accommodating shopkeepers. If you wanted some variety in food, the Radisson was quite close by so you could have a change of pace.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hewayzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Owner at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear sir/madam

Thank you so very much for writing review of our Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor

Best Regard
Hotel Manaslu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#41 of 207 in Kathmandu
463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#116 of 207 in Kathmandu
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#73 of 207 in Kathmandu
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marcopolo Business Hotel
Marcopolo Business Hotel
#154 of 207 in Kathmandu
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manaslu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manaslu

Address: 230 Hotel Marg | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $67 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Manaslu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1972, Hotel Manaslu has kept the proud heritage of Nepal alive throughout its operating years of inimitable service and warm hospitality. Taking pride in the renowned craftsmanship of Nepali artisans, splendid examples of their craft, including many ancient pieces that have been carefully restored, have been incorporated in its architecture. For an intimate experience of Nepal's art and culture, welcome to Hotel Manaslu, a heritage hotel in the truest sense of the word. We could not be more conveniently located-near the old royal palace, close to many important embassies, and at the center of commercial activities, just 10 minute walking distance from the the popular tourist district of Thamel. Although located at such a busy hub, you will find peace and serenity amidst the harmonious surroundings of Hotel Manaslu, your best accommodation in Kathmandu. "At Manaslu, we combine splendor with Nepalese Hospitality. A model of elegance and services with all the comforts of home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manaslu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaslu Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing